CompBrief BY VELARION

Companies American Battery Technology Co

American Battery Technology (ABAT): executive pay, fiscal 2026

Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.

Velarion Intel: free for 3 days, no card →

Email me American Battery Technology Co’s executive pay brief as a PDF

You get it on this page the moment you ask, and a copy by email. Every figure is cited to its filing.

After the PDF, up to three short notes on the deeper reports for this company. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

Also free: The Pay Desk, the weekly executive pay briefing.
CEO total pay$21,546,331CEO Ryan Melsert · source
Say-on-pay support71.3%Latest vote · source

CEO pay, last three years

  • $3,562,483FY2024
  • $1,598,997FY2025
  • $21,546,331FY2026

CEO total pay was $21,546,331 in fiscal 2026, up from $1,598,997 in fiscal 2025.

FY2026: salary $425,000 · bonus $646,875 · stock awards $5,213,916 · option awards $15,260,540

Executives and directors

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at American Battery Technology Co in fiscal 2026?
As disclosed, Ryan Melsert (Chief Executive Officer) was the highest-paid executive at American Battery Technology Co in fiscal 2026, with total compensation of $21,546,331.
How did shareholders vote on American Battery Technology Co's executive compensation?
As disclosed, 71.3% of shareholders supported American Battery Technology Co's executive compensation in the latest say-on-pay vote.
How much does American Battery Technology Co spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2026?
As disclosed, American Battery Technology Co reported total board compensation of $761,548 for fiscal 2026.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

Full detail

Every table from the filing. Open any section.

Summary compensation table
Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
Ryan Melsert$425,000$646,875$5,213,916$15,260,540———$21,546,331
Chief Executive Officer
Steven Wu300,000347,6253,330,4506,887,869———10,865,944
Chief Operating Officer
Scott Jolcover240,000143,100246,729442,152———1,071,981
Chief Resource Officer
Alejandro Flores Arteaga107,69210,50021,58555,591———195,368
Chief Financial Officer

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2026 totalFY2025 totalFY2024 totalΔ FY2025→2026
Ryan Melsert$21,546,331$1,598,997$3,562,483↑ +19,947,334
Steven Wu10,865,944942,485—↑ +9,923,459
Scott Jolcover1,071,981511,0081,189,034↑ +560,973
Alejandro Flores Arteaga195,368———

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

We seek to ensure that the total compensation paid to our executive officers is reasonable and competitive. Compensation of our executives is structured around the achievement of individual performance and near-term corporate targets as well as long-term business objectives.

CEO STI target (% of salary)75%
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultant—
Clawback policyTrue
Anti-hedgingTrue
Anti-pledgingfalse
Equity grants and outstanding awards

Grants of plan-based awards — fiscal year 2026

ExecutiveAwardGrant dateThresholdTargetGrantedMaximumGrant-date fair value
Scott JolcoverRSU—————$300,000

Vehicle mix — grant-date fair value by award type

Named executive officerTime-vested (RSU)Performance-vested (PSU)Options / SARs% performance-vested
Scott Jolcover$300,000$0$00.0%

% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.

Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2026

ExecutiveAwardShares unvestedExercise priceMarket value unvested
Scott JolcoverPSU881—$1,656
Scott JolcoverPSU1,303—15,636
Scott JolcoverPSU1,319—2,730
Ryan MelsertPSU4,404—9,116
Scott JolcoverPSU8,334—62,922
Scott JolcoverRSU10,850—22,457
Ryan MelsertPSU20,834—157,297
Scott JolcoverPSU25,521—126,954
Ryan MelsertPSU28,972—28,103
Ryan MelsertPSU44,353—224,560
Steven WuOption44,3931.07—
Scott JolcoverRSU51,423—106,433
Ryan MelsertRSU87,901—181,949
Ryan MelsertRSU102,582—163,170
Scott JolcoverPSU103,009—269,834
Ryan MelsertPSU161,696—388,070
Scott JolcoverRSU176,663—365,648
Ryan MelsertPSU849,779—3,049,102
Steven WuPSU923,436—2,081,602
Ryan MelsertRSU1,171,990—2,425,945
Ryan MelsertOption1,420,5910.99—
Director compensation
DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
Rick FezellIndependent · Board Chair · Lead Independent Director · Audit Committee (Chair)$0$265,298$0$0$0$265,298
Elizabeth LoweryIndependent · Corporate Governance and Nominating Committee (Chair)43,750128,368000172,118
Susan Yun LeeIndependent · Compensation Committee (Chair)43,750128,368000172,118
Lavanya BalakrishnanIndependent · Audit · Compensation · Nominating19,71278,93000098,642
Sherif MarakbyNot independent · Not standing for re-election · Departed during FY11,53841,83400053,372
Ryan MelsertEmployee director—————0

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer$25,000
Annual equity retainer$150,000
Per board meeting fee—
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)15,000 / 10,000 / 10,000
Stock ownership guideline—

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2026
Cash retainers and fees$118,750
Equity awards (grant-date value)$642,798
All other compensation$0
Total cost of the board$761,548

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

Peer group, and who names American Battery Technology as a peer

Companies that benchmark against ABAT

1 company names ABAT as a compensation peer

Each company listed discloses ABAT in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named ABAT in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1American Battery Technology Co2026Ryan Melsert$425,000$5,213,916$15,260,540—$21,546,331

Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
Meeting yearMeeting dateForAgainstAbstainSupportOutcome
20242024-11-1313,056,5085,256,022267,85371.3%Passed

Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year’s compensation.

Say-on-pay — history, company’s computation

Meeting yearMeeting dateApproval — company’s computation
20242024-11-1371.3%a

a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

Approval percentages are the company’s own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.

CEO pay ratio

Ratio (CEO : median employee)—
CEO total compensation—
Median employee compensation—
Insider trades since the proxy

No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.

Sources (17 citations)

Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

  • Section 01, Ryan Melsert. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 20. As printed: 21,546,331. View filing ↗
  • Section 01, Steven Wu. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 20. As printed: 10,865,944. View filing ↗
  • Section 01, Scott Jolcover. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 20. As printed: 1,071,981. View filing ↗
  • Section 01, Alejandro Flores Arteaga. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 20. As printed: 195,368. View filing ↗
  • Section 03, Scott Jolcover RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
  • Section 07, pay ratio. 10-K, filed 2025-09-18. Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: —. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Rick Fezell. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 265,298. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Elizabeth Lowery. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 172,118. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Susan Yun Lee. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 172,118. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Lavanya Balakrishnan. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 98,642. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Sherif Marakby. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 53,372. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Ryan Melsert. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
  • Section 06, 2024 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2024-11-14. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 71.3% (votes for as printed: 13,056,508). View filing ↗
  • Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed). Computed. Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.
  • Section 03b vehicle mix (computed). Computed. RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).
  • Section 09b board cost (computed). Computed. Cash 118,750 + equity 642,798 + all other 0 = 761,548, summed across the director compensation table rows.
  • American Battery Technology Co (subject), Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-22. CEO total compensation as printed in American Battery Technology Co's own proxy. As printed: 21,546,331. View filing ↗
Get the full report — $500