Companies BioXcel Therapeutics
BioXcel Therapeutics (BTAI): executive pay, fiscal 2024
Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.
Velarion Intel: free for 3 days, no card →Email me BioXcel Therapeutics’s executive pay brief as a PDF
You get it on this page the moment you ask, and a copy by email. Every figure is cited to its filing.
After the PDF, up to three short notes on the deeper reports for this company. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
CEO pay, last three years
- $1,119,245FY2024
CEO total pay was $1,119,245 in fiscal 2024; the brief holds no earlier figure for this CEO.
FY2024: salary $1,001,570 · bonus $0 · stock awards $0 · option awards $101,250
Frequently asked questions
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Full detail
Every table from the filing. Open any section.
Summary compensation table
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vimal Mehta | $1,001,570 | $0 | $0 | $101,250 | $0 | $0 | $16,425 | $1,119,245 |
| Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Javier Rodriguez | 423,833 | 0 | 181,755 | 398,530 | 0 | 0 | 8,625 | 1,012,552 |
| Senior VP and Chief Legal Officer | ||||||||
| Richard Steinhart | 409,872 | 0 | 181,755 | 398,339 | 0 | 0 | 4,128 | 998,216 |
| SVP and Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive
| Named executive officer | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | FY2022 total | Δ FY2023→2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vimal Mehta | $1,119,245 | — | — | — |
| Javier Rodriguez | 1,012,552 | — | — | — |
| Richard Steinhart | 998,216 | — | — | — |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis
The company provides a fixed base salary reflecting the executive's skill set and responsibilities, and offers discretionary annual cash bonuses based on company and individual performance goals. Long-term incentives are provided through stock options, time-based restricted stock units, and performance-based restricted stock units to align executive interests with strategic clinical and operational objectives.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Radford, a part of Aon plc |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | false |
Equity grants and outstanding awards
No plan-based awards are on file for this fiscal year.
Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2024
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richard Steinhart | Option | 79 | 658.72 | — |
| Javier Rodriguez | Option | 84 | 878.4 | — |
| Javier Rodriguez | Option | 103 | 381.44 | — |
| Javier Rodriguez | RSU | 163 | — | 975 |
| Richard Steinhart | RSU | 163 | — | 975 |
| Javier Rodriguez | RSU | 317 | — | 1,896 |
| Richard Steinhart | RSU | 317 | — | 1,896 |
| Javier Rodriguez | RSU | 625 | — | 3,739 |
| Richard Steinhart | RSU | 625 | — | 3,739 |
| Richard Steinhart | Option | 655 | 244.96 | — |
| Javier Rodriguez | Option | 659 | 244.96 | — |
| Vimal Mehta | RSU | 816 | — | 4,882 |
| Vimal Mehta | Option | 978 | 658.72 | — |
| Javier Rodriguez | Option | 1,132 | 313.6 | — |
| Richard Steinhart | Option | 1,132 | 313.6 | — |
| Javier Rodriguez | Option | 1,875 | 19.2 | — |
| Richard Steinhart | Option | 1,875 | 19.6 | — |
| Vimal Mehta | RSU | 1,969 | — | 11,779 |
| Vimal Mehta | Option | 3,268 | 244.96 | — |
| Javier Rodriguez | PSU | 4,375 | — | 26,173 |
| Richard Steinhart | PSU | 4,375 | — | 26,173 |
| Vimal Mehta | Option | 5,913 | 313.6 | — |
| Vimal Mehta | Option | 6,250 | 19.2 | — |
| Vimal Mehta | PSU | 15,625 | — | 93,475 |
Director compensation
No director compensation table is on file for fiscal year 2024.
Board fee structure and ownership guideline
| Annual cash retainer | $60,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | — |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 20,000 / 15,000 / 10,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | — |
Peer group, and who names BioXcel Therapeutics as a peer
Companies that benchmark against BTAI
No companies currently name BTAI as a compensation peer in their most recent disclosure.
This is the complete answer, not a partial one — the list is never padded.
Chief executive pay against the peer group
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BioXcel Therapeutics | 2024 | Vimal Mehta | $1,001,570 | $0 | $101,250 | $0 | $1,119,245 |
Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 2025-12-12 | 1,616,305 | 394,890 | 46,717 | 80.37% | Passed |
| 2024 | 2024-06-10 | 14,391,943 | 4,123,997 | 41,170 | 77.73% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year’s compensation.
Say-on-pay — history, company’s computation
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company’s computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 2025-12-12 | 80.37%a |
| 2024 | 2024-06-10 | 77.73%b |
a. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Proposal No. 3 : Approval of Say-on-Pay -- The affirmative vote of the holders of a majority in voting power of the votes cast affirmatively or negatively on this proposal at the Annual Meeting by the holders entitled to vote thereon.”.
b. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “The affirmative vote of the holders of a majority in voting power of the votes cast affirmatively or negatively at the Annual Meeting by the holders entitled to vote thereon.”.
Approval percentages are the company’s own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
Insider trades since the proxy
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
Sources (6 citations)
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
- Section 01, Vimal Mehta. DEF 14A, filed 2025-11-12. Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 31. As printed: 1,119,245. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Javier Rodriguez. DEF 14A, filed 2025-11-12. Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 31. As printed: 1,012,552. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Richard Steinhart. DEF 14A, filed 2025-11-12. Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 31. As printed: 998,216. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2025 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2025-12-15. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 80.37% (votes for as printed: 1,616,305). View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2024 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2024-06-12. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 77.73% (votes for as printed: 14,391,943). View filing ↗
- BioXcel Therapeutics (subject), Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2025-11-12. CEO total compensation as printed in BioXcel Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 1,119,245. View filing ↗