Companies Evelo Biosciences, Inc.
Evelo Biosciences (EVLO): executive pay, fiscal 2022
Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.
Evelo Biosciences, Inc. no longer files a proxy statement; its last pay data is FY2022.
CEO pay, last three years
- $4,217,252FY2021
- $1,721,635FY2022
CEO total pay was $1,721,635 in fiscal 2022, down from $4,217,252 in fiscal 2021.
FY2022: salary $585,000 · bonus $0 · stock awards $0 · option awards $1,136,250
Frequently asked questions
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Full detail
Every table from the filing. Open any section.
Summary compensation table
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Balkrishan Gill | $585,000 | $0 | $0 | $1,136,250 | $0 | $0 | $385 | $1,721,635 |
| Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Jonathan Zung | 432,000 | 0 | 0 | 627,348 | 0 | 0 | 48,215 | 1,107,563 |
| Former Chief Development Officer | ||||||||
| Marella Thorell | 132,462 | 100,000 | 0 | 763,576 | 0 | 0 | 33,059 | 1,029,097 |
| Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive
| Named executive officer | FY2022 total | FY2021 total | FY2020 total | Δ FY2021→2022 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Balkrishan Gill | $1,721,635 | $4,217,252 | — | ↓ −2,495,617 |
| Jonathan Zung | 1,107,563 | 4,559,337 | — | ↓ −3,451,774 |
| Marella Thorell | 1,029,097 | — | — | — |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis
The company provides base salaries to reflect skill set, experience, role, and responsibilities, and offers annual performance bonuses to compensate for attaining short-term company goals. Long-term incentives are provided through stock options and restricted stock units to align executive interests with stockholders.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Pay Governance LLC |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | false |
Equity grants and outstanding awards
No plan-based awards are on file for this fiscal year.
Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2022
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jonathan Zung | RSU | 10,000 | — | $16,100 |
| Balkrishan Gill | Option | 13,750 | 13.71 | — |
| Balkrishan Gill | Option | 67,709 | 7.06 | — |
| Balkrishan Gill | Option | 72,322 | 10.48 | — |
| Jonathan Zung | Option | 88,652 | 5.05 | — |
| Jonathan Zung | Option | 115,000 | 2.24 | — |
| Balkrishan Gill | Option | 143,233 | 16.65 | — |
| Jonathan Zung | Option | 156,250 | 16.65 | — |
| Balkrishan Gill | Option | 231,250 | 5.05 | — |
| Balkrishan Gill | RSU | 245,854 | — | 0 |
| Marella Thorell | Option | 440,000 | 2.29 | — |
Director compensation
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lord Ara DarziIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance | $67,046 | — | $82,684 | — | — | $149,730 |
| Tonya WilliamsIndependent · Audit Committee · Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee | 37,187 | — | 99,276 | — | — | 136,463 |
| Jose-Carlos Gutiérrez-Ramos, Ph.DIndependent · Science and Technology | 33,000 | — | 99,276 | — | — | 132,276 |
| Theodose Melas-KyriaziIndependent · Audit Committee (Chair) · Compensation Committee | 60,000 | — | 38,146 | — | — | 98,146 |
| Julie H. McHughIndependent · Audit Committee · Compensation Committee (Chair) | 56,617 | — | 38,146 | — | — | 94,763 |
| John A. Hohneker, M.DIndependent · Compensation · Science and Technology | 49,000 | — | 38,146 | — | — | 87,146 |
| Juan AndresIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee · Science and Technology Committee | 48,000 | — | 38,146 | — | — | 86,146 |
| Iain B. McInnes, M.B.Ch.B., Ph.DIndependent · Science and Technology (Chair) | 48,000 | — | 38,146 | — | — | 86,146 |
| David R. EpsteinNot independent · Board Chair | 22,000 | — | 29,692 | — | — | 51,692 |
| David P. PerryIndependent · Not standing for re-election | 23,850 | — | 0 | — | — | 23,850 |
| Balkrishan (Simba) Gill, Ph.DEmployee director | — | — | — | — | — | 0 |
| Robert L. RosielloIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee (Chair) · Newly elected | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Board fee structure and ownership guideline
| Annual cash retainer | $40,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | — |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 7,500 / 10,000 / 8,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | — |
Total cost of the board
| Component | FY2022 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $444,700 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $0 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $444,700 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
Peer group, and who names Evelo Biosciences as a peer
Companies that benchmark against EVLO
No companies currently name EVLO as a compensation peer in their most recent disclosure.
This is the complete answer, not a partial one — the list is never padded.
Chief executive pay against the peer group
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Evelo Biosciences, Inc. | 2022 | Balkrishan Gill | $585,000 | $0 | $1,136,250 | $0 | $1,721,635 |
Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 2024-01-26 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2023 | 2023-06-08 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2022 | 2022-06-09 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2021 | 2021-06-08 | — | — | — | — | — |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year’s compensation.
Say-on-pay — history, company’s computation
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company’s computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 2024-01-26 | —a |
| 2023 | 2023-06-08 | —b |
| 2022 | 2022-06-09 | —c |
a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
Approval percentages are the company’s own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
Insider trades since the proxy
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
Sources (21 citations)
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
- Section 01, Balkrishan Gill. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “2022 Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 1,721,635. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Jonathan Zung. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “2022 Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 1,107,563. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Marella Thorell. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “2022 Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 1,029,097. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Lord Ara Darzi. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 149,730. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Tonya Williams. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 136,463. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Jose-Carlos Gutiérrez-Ramos, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 132,276. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Theodose Melas-Kyriazi. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 98,146. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Julie H. McHugh. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 94,763. View filing ↗
- Section 08, John A. Hohneker, M.D. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 87,146. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Juan Andres. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 86,146. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Iain B. McInnes, M.B.Ch.B., Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 86,146. View filing ↗
- Section 08, David R. Epstein. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 51,692. View filing ↗
- Section 08, David P. Perry. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 23,850. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Balkrishan (Simba) Gill, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Robert L. Rosiello. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: —. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2024 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2024-01-26. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2023 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2023-06-08. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2022 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2022-06-09. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. View filing ↗
- Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed). Computed. Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.
- Section 09b board cost (computed). Computed. Cash 444,700 + equity 0 + all other 0 = 444,700, summed across the director compensation table rows.
- Evelo Biosciences, Inc. (subject), Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2023-04-28. CEO total compensation as printed in Evelo Biosciences, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 1,721,635. View filing ↗