Velarion · Company Intelligence
Compensation Brief
Fiscal year 2025 · Filings through 2026-06-24

Candel Therapeutics (CADL)

CEO Paul Peter Tak was paid $5,344,561 in fiscal year 2025 (SEC filing 0001193125-26-191506 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.

$5,344,561
Paul Peter Tak total, FY2025
—
CEO pay percentile vs peers
—
CEO-to-median pay ratio
—
Say-on-pay support, latest vote

Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist

Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year

A confirmation now and one email when Pro opens, and nothing else. Privacy

Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.

Sample answer — “What is the CEO’s total compensation?”
- Paul Peter Tak (Chief Executive Officer, President and Director), FY2025 total compensation $5,344,561 (base salary $743,592) [exec_comp, SEC accession 0001193125-26-191506, filed 2026-04-29]

Answered within 24 hours, every figure cited to its SEC filing. If our database cannot answer your question, you are refunded automatically.

CADL's next annual pay disclosure, estimated April 29, 2027.est. Filing ↗

01

Summary Compensation Table — fiscal year 2025

Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
Paul Peter Tak$743,592$0$0$3,916,028$396,653$0$288,289$5,344,561
Chief Executive Officer, President and Director
Francesca Barone483,31200857,797206,427014,0001,561,536
Chief Scientific Officer
Charles Schoch398,50000826,465232,320013,5321,470,817
Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer and Secretary

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2025 totalFY2024 totalFY2023 totalΔ FY2024→2025
Paul Peter Tak$5,344,561———
Francesca Barone1,561,536726,222706,876↑ +835,314
Charles Schoch1,470,817———

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

You have just read Candel Therapeutics's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper CADL reports.

We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

How we handle your data → Privacy

Companies that benchmark against CADL
1 company names CADL as a compensation peer

Each company listed discloses CADL in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named CADL in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.

01c

Board of directors

One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.

DirectorRoleFY2025 total
Christopher MartellIndependent Director$114,546
Edward J. Benz Jr., M.DIndependent Director$103,546
Gary J. Nabel, M.D., Ph.DIndependent Director$99,546
Joseph C. Papa, R.Ph., M.B.AIndependent Director$101,810
Maha Radhakrishnan, M.DIndependent Director$158,346
Nicoletta Loggia, Ph.D., R.PhIndependent Director$107,019
Paul B. ManningIndependent Director$130,546
Paul Peter Tak, M.D., Ph.D., FMedSciDirector—
Renee GaetaIndependent Director$103,046
02

Equity transactions since the proxy statement was filed

No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.

04

Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2025

ExecutiveAwardShares unvestedExercise priceMarket value unvested
Paul Peter TakOption6,8754.12—
Paul Peter TakOption20,0001.29—
Paul Peter TakOption415,6258.55—
Francesca BaroneOption1,6674.06—
Francesca BaroneOption2,2924.12—
Francesca BaroneOption30,0001.29—
Francesca BaroneOption91,0428.55—
Charles SchochOption13,1661.29—
Charles SchochOption65,7098.55—
Charles SchochOption50,0004.75—
05

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

The executive compensation program is based on a pay-for-performance philosophy. Compensation is composed primarily of base salary, bonus, and equity incentives (stock options and RSUs) to align interests with stockholders and promote retention.

CEO STI target (% of salary)NaN%
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultantRadford, an Aon company
Clawback policyThe company maintains a compensation recovery policy (clawback policy) in accordance with SEC and Nasdaq listing rules, requiring the recovery of incentive-based compensation in the event of a financial restatement due to material noncompliance.
Anti-hedgingThe insider trading policy expressly prohibits short sales, derivative transactions, and hedging transactions with respect to the Company's securities by executive officers, directors, and employees.
Anti-pledging—
06

Say-on-pay — recent advisory votes

Meeting yearMeeting dateForAgainstAbstainSupportOutcome
20262026-06-23—————
20252025-06-17—————
20242024-06-26—————
20232023-06-28—————
20222022-10-13—————

Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.

Say-on-pay — history, company's computation

Meeting yearMeeting dateApproval — company's computation
20262026-06-23—a
20252025-06-17—b
20242024-06-26—c

a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.

08

Director compensation — fiscal year 2025

DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
Maha Radhakrishnan, M.DIndependent · Audit$20,096$0$138,250—$0$158,346
Paul B. ManningIndependent · Compensation70,000060,546—0130,546
Christopher MartellIndependent · Nominating/Governance54,000060,546—0114,546
Nicoletta Loggia, Ph.D., R.PhIndependent · Compensation (Chair) · Nominating/Governance · Audit46,473060,546—0107,019
Edward J. Benz Jr., M.DIndependent · Nominating/Governance (Chair)43,000060,546—0103,546
Renee GaetaIndependent · Audit (Chair)42,500060,546—0103,046
Joseph C. Papa, R.Ph., M.B.AIndependent · Compensation41,264060,546—0101,810
Gary J. Nabel, M.D., Ph.DIndependent · Nominating/Governance39,000060,546—099,546
Paul Peter Tak, M.D., Ph.D., FMedSciEmployee director—————0
09

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer$35,000
Annual equity retainer—
Per board meeting fee—
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)15,000 / 10,000 / 10,000
Stock ownership guideline—
09b

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2025
Cash retainers and fees$356,333
Equity awards (grant-date value)$0
All other compensation$0
Total cost of the board$356,333

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

10b

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1Candel Therapeutics2025Paul Peter Tak$743,592$0$3,916,028$396,653$5,344,561

Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

10d

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at Candel Therapeutics in fiscal 2025?
As disclosed, Paul Peter Tak (Chief Executive Officer, President and Director) was the highest-paid executive at Candel Therapeutics in fiscal 2025, with total compensation of $5,344,561.
How much does Candel Therapeutics spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2025?
As disclosed, Candel Therapeutics reported total board compensation of $356,333 for fiscal 2025.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

11

Source register

Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

#SupportsDocumentFiledAccessionLocation in document
1Section 01, Paul Peter TakDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 5,344,561. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c33 · span 520483–520492
2Section 01, Francesca BaroneDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,561,536. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c33 · span 544904–544913
3Section 01, Charles SchochDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,470,817. Filing ↗machine: r6 · c33 · span 569302–569311
4Section 08, Maha Radhakrishnan, M.DDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 158,346. Filing ↗machine: span 383063–383272
5Section 08, Paul B. ManningDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 130,546. Filing ↗machine: span 335178–335387
6Section 08, Christopher MartellDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 114,546. Filing ↗machine: span 359111–359320
7Section 08, Nicoletta Loggia, Ph.D., R.PhDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 107,019. Filing ↗machine: span 353130–353339
8Section 08, Edward J. Benz Jr., M.DDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 103,546. Filing ↗machine: span 341165–341374
9Section 08, Renee GaetaDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 103,046. Filing ↗machine: span 347138–347347
10Section 08, Joseph C. Papa, R.Ph., M.B.ADEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 101,810. Filing ↗machine: span 377076–377285
11Section 08, Gary J. Nabel, M.D., Ph.DDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 99,546. Filing ↗machine: span 365099–365307
12Section 08, Paul Peter Tak, M.D., Ph.D., FMedSciDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗
13Section 06, 2026 voteForm 8-K2026-06-240001841387-26-000009Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. Filing ↗
14Section 06, 2025 voteForm 8-K2025-06-180000950170-25-087696Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. Filing ↗
15Section 06, 2024 voteForm 8-K2024-06-280000950170-24-078795Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. Filing ↗
16Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed)Computed——Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1)
17Section 09b board cost (computed)Computed——Cash 356,333 + equity 0 + all other 0 = 356,333, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 356,333
18Candel Therapeutics (subject), Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191506CEO total compensation as printed in Candel Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 5,344,561. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c33 · span 520483–520492

The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.

We'll email you a link to confirm.