CompBrief BY VELARION

Companies Luminar Technologies, Inc.

Luminar Technologies (LAZR): executive pay, fiscal 2024

Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.

Velarion Intel: free for 3 days, no card →

Email me Luminar Technologies, Inc.’s executive pay brief as a PDF

You get it on this page the moment you ask, and a copy by email. Every figure is cited to its filing.

After the PDF, up to three short notes on the deeper reports for this company. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

Also free: The Pay Desk, the weekly executive pay briefing.
CEO total pay$497,253Former CEO Austin Russell · source
Say-on-pay support6.44%Latest vote · source
CEO vs. named peers1st pct.Against its disclosed peer group

CEO pay, last three years

  • $734,499FY2023
  • $497,253FY2024

CEO total pay was $497,253 in fiscal 2024, down from $734,499 in fiscal 2023.

FY2024: salary $0 · bonus $0 · stock awards $0 · option awards $0

Executives and directors

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at Luminar Technologies, Inc. in fiscal 2024?
As disclosed, Thomas Fennimore (Chief Financial Officer) was the highest-paid executive at Luminar Technologies, Inc. in fiscal 2024, with total compensation of $4,925,096.
How does Luminar Technologies, Inc.'s chief executive pay compare to its disclosed peer group?
As disclosed, Austin Russell's total compensation ranked at the 1st percentile of Luminar Technologies, Inc.'s disclosed peer group.
How did shareholders vote on Luminar Technologies, Inc.'s executive compensation?
As disclosed, 6.44% of shareholders supported Luminar Technologies, Inc.'s executive compensation in the latest say-on-pay vote.
How much does Luminar Technologies, Inc. spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2024?
As disclosed, Luminar Technologies, Inc. reported total board compensation of $2,324,851 for fiscal 2024.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

Full detail

Every table from the filing. Open any section.

Summary compensation table
Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
Thomas Fennimore$300,000$3,125,100$1,499,996$0$0$0$0$4,925,096
Chief Financial Officer
Alan Prescott300,0001,850,0001,754,09800003,904,098
Former Chief Legal Officer and Secretary
Austin Russell000000497,253497,253
Former President and Chief Executive Officer

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2024 totalFY2023 totalFY2022 totalΔ FY2023→2024
Thomas Fennimore$4,925,096$2,843,142—↑ +2,081,954
Alan Prescott3,904,0982,131,097—↑ +1,773,001
Austin Russell497,253734,499—↓ −237,246

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

The company's compensation program is designed to attract and retain highly qualified executives, with a strong focus on pay-for-performance. Compensation is structured to align executive interests with long-term stockholder value through equity awards and to reward the achievement of specific operational and financial goals.

CEO STI target (% of salary)—
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultantnot disclosed
Clawback policytrue
Anti-hedgingtrue
Anti-pledgingtrue
Equity grants and outstanding awards

Grants of plan-based awards — fiscal year 2024

ExecutiveAwardGrant dateThresholdTargetGrantedMaximumGrant-date fair value
Thomas FennimoreRSU2024-12-05——183,598—$1,499,996
Alan PrescottRSU2024-12-05——183,598—1,500,000
Alan PrescottPRSU2024-12-12—55,000——254,102

Vehicle mix — grant-date fair value by award type

Named executive officerTime-vested (RSU)Performance-vested (PSU)Options / SARs% performance-vested
Thomas Fennimore$1,499,996$0$00.0%
Alan Prescott1,500,000000.0%

% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.

Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2024

ExecutiveAwardShares unvestedExercise priceMarket value unvested
Thomas FennimoreRSU15,180—$81,668
Thomas FennimoreRSU33,333—179,332
Alan PrescottRSU55,000—295,900
Austin RussellRSU720,000—3,873,600
Director compensation
DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
Dominick SchianoIndependent · Audit · Partial-year service$12,500$486,887$0$0$0$499,387
Matthew J. SimonciniIndependent · Lead Independent Director · Audit · Compensation & Human Capital Management87,785192,245000280,030
Katharine A. MartinIndependent · Compensation & Human Capital Management (Chair) · Nominating & ESG76,393192,245000268,638
Jun Hong HengIndependent · Departed during FY72,500192,245000264,745
Mary Lou JepsenIndependent · Compensation & Human Capital Management · Nominating & ESG (Chair)71,393192,245000263,638
Daniel D. TempestaIndependent · Audit (Chair)65,285192,245000257,530
Shaun MaguireIndependent · Nominating & ESG55,000192,245000247,245
Alec E. GoresIndependent · ESG51,393192,245000243,638
Paul RicciEmployee director · ESG · Partial-year service000000
Austin RussellEmployee director · ESG · Departed during FY000000

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer$50,000
Annual equity retainer$200,000
Per board meeting fee—
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)25,000 / 20,000 / 10,000
Stock ownership guideline—

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2024
Cash retainers and fees$492,249
Equity awards (grant-date value)$1,832,602
All other compensation$0
Total cost of the board$2,324,851

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

Peer group, and who names Luminar Technologies as a peer

Companies that benchmark against LAZR

4 companies name LAZR as a compensation peer

Each company listed discloses LAZR in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named LAZR in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1Luminar Technologies, Inc.2024Austin Russell$0$0$0$0$497,253

Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
Meeting yearMeeting dateForAgainstAbstainSupportOutcome
20252025-07-033,544,01851,497,754135,7676.44%Failed
20232023-06-07997,218,44130,002,221484,35297.03%Passed
20222022-06-071,010,271,6953,152,237343,08799.69%Passed

Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year’s compensation.

Say-on-pay — history, company’s computation

Meeting yearMeeting dateApproval — company’s computation
20252025-07-036.44%a
20232023-06-0797.03%b
20222022-06-0799.69%c

a. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions have no effect on Proposals One, Two, Three, Four or Five.”.

b. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions have no effect on Proposal One, Two or Three.”.

c. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions have no effect on Proposal One, Two, Three, Four or Five.”.

Approval percentages are the company’s own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.

Insider trades since the proxy

Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2024 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.

InsiderRoleTransaction dateCodeSharesPriceValueSecuritySource
Mary Lou JepsenDirector2025-07-03A61,576$0$0CommonForm 4 ↗
Daniel D. TempestaDirector2025-07-03A61,57600CommonForm 4 ↗
Dominick SchianoDirector2025-07-03A61,57600CommonForm 4 ↗
Katharine A. MartinDirector2025-07-03A61,57600CommonForm 4 ↗
Shaun MaguireDirector2025-07-03A61,57600CommonForm 4 ↗
Austin RussellDirector2025-07-03A61,57600CommonForm 4 ↗
Matthew J. SimonciniDirector2025-07-03A61,57600CommonForm 4 ↗
AEG Holdings, LLCDirector2025-07-03A61,57600CommonForm 4 ↗
Paul RicciDirector2025-07-28D239,1933794,121CommonForm 4 ↗
Paul RicciDirector2025-07-28A2,109,54600CommonForm 4 ↗
Paul RicciDirector2025-12-05D69,431164,543CommonForm 4 ↗
Dominick SchianoDirector2026-03-10D266015CommonForm 4 ↗

Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.

Sources (35 citations)

Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

  • Section 01, Thomas Fennimore. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 4,925,096. View filing ↗
  • Section 01, Alan Prescott. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 3,904,098. View filing ↗
  • Section 01, Austin Russell. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Executive Compensation” · page 34. As printed: 497,253. View filing ↗
  • Section 03, Thomas Fennimore RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
  • Section 03, Alan Prescott RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
  • Section 03, Alan Prescott PRSU. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Dominick Schiano. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 499,387. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Matthew J. Simoncini. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 280,030. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Katharine A. Martin. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 268,638. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Jun Hong Heng. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 264,745. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Mary Lou Jepsen. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 263,638. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Daniel D. Tempesta. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 257,530. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Shaun Maguire. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 247,245. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Alec E. Gores. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 243,638. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Paul Ricci. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
  • Section 08, Austin Russell. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Mary Lou Jepsen 2025-07-03. Form 4, filed 2025-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Daniel D. Tempesta 2025-07-03. Form 4, filed 2025-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Dominick Schiano 2025-07-03. Form 4, filed 2025-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Katharine A. Martin 2025-07-03. Form 4, filed 2025-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Shaun Maguire 2025-07-03. Form 4, filed 2025-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Austin Russell 2025-07-03. Form 4, filed 2025-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Matthew J. Simoncini 2025-07-03. Form 4, filed 2025-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, AEG Holdings, LLC 2025-07-03. Form 4, filed 2025-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Paul Ricci 2025-07-28. Form 4, filed 2025-07-29. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Paul Ricci 2025-07-28. Form 4, filed 2025-07-29. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Paul Ricci 2025-12-05. Form 4, filed 2025-12-09. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 02, Dominick Schiano 2026-03-10. Form 4, filed 2026-03-13. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
  • Section 06, 2025 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2025-07-08. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 6.44% (votes for as printed: 3,544,018). View filing ↗
  • Section 06, 2023 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2023-06-09. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 97.03% (votes for as printed: 997,218,441). View filing ↗
  • Section 06, 2022 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2022-06-08. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 99.69%. View filing ↗
  • Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed). Computed. Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.
  • Section 03b vehicle mix (computed). Computed. RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).
  • Section 09b board cost (computed). Computed. Cash 492,249 + equity 1,832,602 + all other 0 = 2,324,851, summed across the director compensation table rows.
  • Luminar Technologies, Inc. (subject), Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-06. CEO total compensation as printed in Luminar Technologies, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 497,253. View filing ↗
Get the full report — $500