Fiscal year 2025 executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.
Each company listed discloses LYEL in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named LYEL in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lynn Seely | $690,173 | $0 | $186,806 | $2,907,551 | $414,000 | $0 | $23,735 | $4,222,265 |
| President, Chief Executive Officer and Director | ||||||||
| Stephen Hill | 529,473 | 0 | 62,269 | 1,183,606 | 291,500 | 0 | 9,591 | 2,076,439 |
| Chief Operating Officer | ||||||||
| Gary Lee | 520,015 | 0 | 62,269 | 1,093,547 | 260,000 | 0 | 6,790 | 1,942,621 |
| Chief Scientific Officer | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lynn Seely | $4,222,265 | $1,495,376 | — | +2,726,889 |
| Stephen Hill | 2,076,439 | 1,342,842 | — | +733,597 |
| Gary Lee | 1,942,621 | — | — | — |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2025 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.
| Insider | Role | Transaction date | Code | Shares | Price | Value | Security | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lynn Seely | Director | 2026-05-11 | D | 388 | $19 | $7,337 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Veronica Sanchez Bulis | VP, Corporate Controller | 2026-05-11 | D | 217 | 19 | 4,103 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Stephen Hill | Chief Operating Officer | 2026-05-11 | D | 89 | 19 | 1,684 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Gary Lee | Chief Scientific Officer | 2026-05-11 | D | 130 | 19 | 2,460 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Richard Klausner | Director | 2026-06-10 | A | 9,250 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| David Shook | Chief Medical Officer | 2026-06-10 | D | 1,977 | 13 | 24,989 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Sumant Ramachandra | Director | 2026-06-10 | A | 9,250 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| William Rieflin | Director | 2026-06-10 | A | 9,250 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Catherine Friedman | Director | 2026-06-10 | A | 9,250 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Otis Brawley | Director | 2026-06-10 | A | 9,250 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Mark Bachleda | Director | 2026-06-10 | A | 9,250 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd | Greater-than-10% holder | 2026-06-15 | D | 66,500 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd | Greater-than-10% holder | 2026-06-29 | D | 76,000 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd | Greater-than-10% holder | 2026-07-16 | D | 10 | 14 | 137 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd | Greater-than-10% holder | 2026-07-17 | D | 10 | 14 | 137 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd | Greater-than-10% holder | 2026-07-27 | D | 38,500 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd | Greater-than-10% holder | 2026-07-27 | D | 44,000 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.
| Executive | Award | Grant date | Threshold | Target | Granted | Maximum | Grant-date fair value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stephen Hill | OTHER | — | — | — | — | — | $62,269 |
| Gary Lee | OTHER | — | — | — | — | — | 62,269 |
| Lynn Seely | OTHER | — | — | — | — | — | 186,806 |
Grant-level vehicle detail not disclosed.
% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gary Lee | Option | 68,000 | 17.23 | — |
| Gary Lee | PSU | 5,000 | — | 153,900 |
| Lynn Seely | PSU | 25,000 | — | 769,500 |
| Stephen Hill | RSU | 4,569 | — | 140,634 |
| Stephen Hill | PSU | 5,000 | — | 153,900 |
| Gary Lee | RSU | 4,000 | — | 123,120 |
| Gary Lee | RSU | 4,569 | — | 140,634 |
| Gary Lee | Option | 10,827 | 36 | — |
| Lynn Seely | Option | 175,000 | 17.23 | — |
| Lynn Seely | Option | 53,432 | 11.07 | — |
| Stephen Hill | Option | 13,119 | 42.6 | — |
| Gary Lee | Option | 8,750 | 42.6 | — |
| Stephen Hill | RSU | 4,000 | — | 123,120 |
| Stephen Hill | Option | 17,809 | 11.07 | — |
| Gary Lee | Option | 17,809 | 11.07 | — |
| Stephen Hill | Option | 10,827 | 36 | — |
| Stephen Hill | Option | 75,000 | 17.23 | — |
| Lynn Seely | RSU | 20,000 | — | 615,600 |
| Lynn Seely | RSU | 13,710 | — | 421,994 |
Our equity-based incentive awards are designed to align the Company's interests and those of our stockholders with those of our employees and consultants, including our named executive officers.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | 60% |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Alpine |
| Clawback policy | True |
| Anti-hedging | True |
| Anti-pledging | True |
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-06-10 | 11,860,218 | 6,613 | 410,709 | 99.94% | Passed |
| 2025 | 2025-05-15 | 160,688,745 | 1,547,344 | 65,697 | 99.05% | Passed |
| 2024 | 2024-06-14 | 108,778,036 | 46,997,736 | 8,235,022 | 69.83% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-06-16 | 131,476,834 | 3,278,721 | 19,180,844 | 97.57% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company's computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-06-10 | 99.94%a |
| 2025 | 2025-05-15 | 99.05%b |
| 2024 | 2024-06-14 | 69.83%c |
a. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions and broker non-votes, if any, will have no effect and will not be counted towards the vote total for any proposal.”.
b. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions and broker non-votes, if any, will have no effect and will not be counted towards the vote total for any proposal.”.
c. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions and broker non-votes, if any, will have no effect and will not be counted towards the vote total for any proposal.”.
Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | — |
| Median employee compensation | — |
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mark BachledaIndependent · Nominating/Governance | $30,606 | $0 | $120,091 | $0 | $0 | $150,697 |
| Catherine FriedmanIndependent · Lead Independent Director · Audit · Compensation (Chair) | 105,000 | 0 | 37,609 | 0 | 0 | 142,609 |
| Richard KlausnerNot independent | 85,000 | 0 | 37,609 | 0 | 0 | 122,609 |
| William RieflinIndependent · Audit (Chair) · Compensation | 77,500 | 0 | 37,609 | 0 | 0 | 115,109 |
| Elizabeth NabelIndependent · Audit · Nominating/Governance | 65,000 | 0 | 37,609 | 0 | 0 | 102,609 |
| Otis BrawleyIndependent · Nominating/Governance (Chair) | 60,000 | 0 | 37,609 | 0 | 0 | 97,609 |
| Sumant RamachandraIndependent · Compensation | 56,307 | 0 | 37,609 | 0 | 0 | 93,916 |
| Robert NelsenIndependent · Not standing for re-election · Departed during FY | 21,464 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 | 21,464 |
| Lynn SeelyEmployee director | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
| Annual cash retainer | $50,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | $300,000 |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 20,000 / 15,000 / 10,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | — |
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $500,877 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $0 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $500,877 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lyell Immunopharma, Inc. | 2025 | Lynn Seely | $690,173 | $186,806 | $2,907,551 | $414,000 | $4,222,265 |
Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
| # | Supports | Document | Filed | Accession | Location in document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Section 01, Lynn Seely | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 29. As printed: 4,222,265. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c24 · span 450163–450172 |
| 2 | Section 01, Stephen Hill | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 29. As printed: 2,076,439. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c24 · span 459053–459062 |
| 3 | Section 01, Gary Lee | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 29. As printed: 1,942,621. Filing ↗machine: r6 · c24 · span 467953–467962 |
| 4 | Section 03, Stephen Hill OTHER | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “TABLE OF CONTENTS INFORMATION REGARDING OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND CORPORATE GOVERNANCE” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t107 · r4 · c12 · span 456745–456751 |
| 5 | Section 03, Gary Lee OTHER | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “TABLE OF CONTENTS INFORMATION REGARDING OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND CORPORATE GOVERNANCE” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t107 · r6 · c12 · span 465970–465976 |
| 6 | Section 03, Lynn Seely OTHER | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “TABLE OF CONTENTS INFORMATION REGARDING OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND CORPORATE GOVERNANCE” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t107 · r2 · c12 · span 448215–448222 |
| 7 | Section 07, pay ratio | 10-K | 2026-03-12 | 0001628280-26-017253 | Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: —. Filing ↗ |
| 8 | Section 08, Mark Bachleda | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 150,697. Filing ↗machine: t67 · r2 · c9 · span 281143–281150 |
| 9 | Section 08, Catherine Friedman | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 142,609. Filing ↗machine: t67 · r4 · c9 · span 285025–285032 |
| 10 | Section 08, Richard Klausner | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 122,609. Filing ↗machine: t67 · r5 · c9 · span 286835–286842 |
| 11 | Section 08, William Rieflin | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 115,109. Filing ↗machine: t67 · r9 · c9 · span 294643–294650 |
| 12 | Section 08, Elizabeth Nabel | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 102,609. Filing ↗machine: t67 · r6 · c9 · span 288914–288921 |
| 13 | Section 08, Otis Brawley | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 97,609. Filing ↗machine: t67 · r3 · c9 · span 282982–282988 |
| 14 | Section 08, Sumant Ramachandra | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 93,916. Filing ↗machine: t67 · r8 · c9 · span 292894–292900 |
| 15 | Section 08, Robert Nelsen | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 21,464. Filing ↗machine: t67 · r7 · c3 · span 289745–289751 |
| 16 | Section 08, Lynn Seely | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗ |
| 17 | Section 02, Lynn Seely 2026-05-11 | Form 4 | 2026-06-15 | 0001327111-26-000003 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 18 | Section 02, Veronica Sanchez Bulis 2026-05-11 | Form 4 | 2026-06-15 | 0002095702-26-000004 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 19 | Section 02, Stephen Hill 2026-05-11 | Form 4 | 2026-06-15 | 0001866154-26-000003 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 20 | Section 02, Gary Lee 2026-05-11 | Form 4 | 2026-06-15 | 0001907345-26-000003 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 21 | Section 02, Richard Klausner 2026-06-10 | Form 4 | 2026-06-12 | 0001591178-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 22 | Section 02, David Shook 2026-06-10 | Form 4 | 2026-06-11 | 0001959742-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 23 | Section 02, Sumant Ramachandra 2026-06-10 | Form 4 | 2026-06-12 | 0001439368-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 24 | Section 02, William Rieflin 2026-06-10 | Form 4 | 2026-06-12 | 0001182471-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 25 | Section 02, Catherine Friedman 2026-06-10 | Form 4 | 2026-06-12 | 0001411874-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 26 | Section 02, Otis Brawley 2026-06-10 | Form 4 | 2026-06-12 | 0001213029-26-000007 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 27 | Section 02, Mark Bachleda 2026-06-10 | Form 4 | 2026-06-12 | 0001887762-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 28 | Section 02, Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd 2026-06-15 | Form 4 | 2026-06-18 | 0001140361-26-025796 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 29 | Section 02, Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd 2026-06-29 | Form 4 | 2026-07-01 | 0001140361-26-027140 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 30 | Section 02, Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd 2026-07-16 | Form 4 | 2026-07-17 | 0001140361-26-028846 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 31 | Section 02, Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd 2026-07-17 | Form 4 | 2026-07-20 | 0001140361-26-028955 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 32 | Section 02, Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd 2026-07-27 | Form 4 | 2026-07-27 | 0001140361-26-029791 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 33 | Section 02, Innovative Cellular Therapeutics Holdings Ltd 2026-07-27 | Form 4 | 2026-07-27 | 0001140361-26-029817 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 34 | Section 06, 2026 vote | Form 8-K | 2026-06-15 | 0001193125-26-271071 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 99.94% (votes for as printed: 11,860,218). Filing ↗ |
| 35 | Section 06, 2025 vote | Form 8-K | 2025-05-21 | 0001193125-25-123970 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 99.05% (votes for as printed: 160,688,745). Filing ↗ |
| 36 | Section 06, 2024 vote | Form 8-K | 2024-06-14 | 0001193125-24-161601 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 69.83% (votes for as printed: 108,778,036). Filing ↗ |
| 37 | Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed) | Computed | — | computed | Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1) |
| 38 | Section 09b board cost (computed) | Computed | — | computed | Cash 500,877 + equity 0 + all other 0 = 500,877, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 500,877 |
| 39 | Lyell Immunopharma, Inc. (subject), Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-24 | 0001140361-26-016686 | CEO total compensation as printed in Lyell Immunopharma, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 4,222,265. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c24 · span 450163–450172 |