Velarion · Company Intelligence
Compensation Brief
Fiscal year 2026 · Filings through 2026-10-01

CORVEL CORP (CRVL)

CEO Michael Combs was paid $1,285,043 in fiscal year 2026, ↑ up 7.8% from fiscal year 2025 (SEC filing 0001193125-26-285509 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.

$1,285,043 ↑
Michael Combs total, FY2026
—
CEO pay percentile vs peers
19:1
CEO-to-median pay ratio
96.51%
Say-on-pay support, latest vote

Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist

Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year

A confirmation now and one email when Pro opens, and nothing else. Privacy

Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.

Sample answer — “What is the CEO’s total compensation?”
- Michael Combs (CEO), FY2026 total compensation $1,285,043 (base salary $679,327) [exec_comp, SEC accession 0001193125-26-285509, filed 2026-06-26]

Answered within 24 hours, every figure cited to its SEC filing. If our database cannot answer your question, you are refunded automatically.

CRVL's next annual pay disclosure, estimated June 28, 2027.est. Filing ↗

01

Summary Compensation Table — fiscal year 2026

Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
Michael Combs$679,327$0$0$101,716$498,809$0$5,192$1,285,043
Brian Nichols246,01058,8380186,164001,443492,455
Chief Financial Officer

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2026 totalFY2025 totalFY2024 totalΔ FY2025→2026
Michael Combs$1,285,043$1,191,679$966,969↑ +93,364
Brian Nichols492,455———

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

You have just read CORVEL CORP's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper CRVL reports.

We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

Get the CORVEL CORP Peer Teardown Report

$1,285,043 Michael Combs total, FY2026

$199

The free page is the headline. The teardown reads every company in the disclosed peer group on its own numbers.

Data as of October 1, 2026 · Source: 0001193125-26-285509 · Velarion Executive Compensation Database, deposited on Zenodo (doi:10.5281/zenodo.22283855).

Reports for CRVL

Every report below is generated from the same filings as the free brief above, at the moment of purchase. What each one adds:

Executive Compensation ReportThe free page is the headline figures. The report is every award, peer and vote combined into one document you can hand to a committee.$1,500 →Reverse Peer AnalysisThe free page is the one line. The analysis reads every company that names this one in its own peer group.$299 →Peer Teardown ReportThe free page is the headline. The teardown reads every company in the disclosed peer group on its own numbers.$199 →
CRVLon Velarion Intel, free → The platform reading of this company, beside the same data as a subscription.

Order CRVL

Pick the report, add the email the receipt and the PDF go to, and pay by card on Stripe.

Receipt, invoice, and report delivery. Guest checkout, no account required, secure payment by Stripe.

How we handle your data → Privacy

Companies that benchmark against CRVL
7 companies name CRVL as a compensation peer

Each company listed discloses CRVL in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named CRVL in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.

Get the CORVEL CORP Executive Compensation Report

$1,500

Buy the report - $1,500Both reports - $2,400
01c

Board of directors

One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.

DirectorRoleFY2026 total
Alan R. HoopsIndependent Director$165,963
Jeffrey J. MichaelIndependent Director$162,963
Joanna C. BurkeyIndependent Director$164,963
R. Judd JessupIndependent Director$172,963
Steven J. HamerslagIndependent Director$164,963
02

Equity transactions since the proxy statement was filed

Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2026 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.

InsiderRoleTransaction dateCodeSharesPriceValueSecuritySource
Sarah A. ScottCEO and President2026-07-01A25,000$0$0Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-07-29A7505339,485CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-07-29D33622,054CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-07-29D6346239,467CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-07-29D7506246,688Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Alan R. HoopsDirector2026-07-31D9,00000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Alan R. HoopsDirector2026-07-31A9,00014129,960CommonForm 4 ↗
Dividend-equivalent accruals2026-08-04—51—~3,0141 insider, 1 accrual row
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-08-04D15959CommonForm 4 ↗
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-08-04A51532,685CommonForm 4 ↗
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-08-04D45592,660CommonForm 4 ↗
Dividend-equivalent accruals2026-08-06—9,000——6 insiders, 6 accrual rows
Jennifer YossVice President of Accounting2026-08-20A2,10066138,012CommonForm 4 ↗
Jennifer YossVice President of Accounting2026-08-20D2,10000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Jennifer YossVice President of Accounting2026-08-20D2,10071148,922CommonForm 4 ↗
R. Judd JessupDirector2026-08-26D1,56271110,449CommonForm 4 ↗
R. Judd JessupDirector2026-08-27D1,2627189,148CommonForm 4 ↗
R. Judd JessupDirector2026-09-01D4,02370281,892CommonForm 4 ↗
CORSTAR HOLDINGS INCGreater-than-10% holder2026-09-03D51,713693,563,605CommonForm 4 ↗
CORSTAR HOLDINGS INCGreater-than-10% holder2026-09-04D14,53869999,573CommonForm 4 ↗
CORSTAR HOLDINGS INCGreater-than-10% holder2026-09-11D30,925692,135,303CommonForm 4 ↗
CORSTAR HOLDINGS INCGreater-than-10% holder2026-09-14D127,824708,968,055CommonForm 4 ↗
Jennifer YossVice President of Accounting2026-09-30A36712,550CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael CombsCEO & President2026-09-30A45713,187CommonForm 4 ↗
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-09-30A55713,895CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-09-30A971637CommonForm 4 ↗

Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.

View all 31 transactions
InsiderRoleTransaction dateCodeSharesPriceValueSecuritySource
Sarah A. ScottCEO and President2026-07-01A25,000$0$0Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-07-29A7505339,485CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-07-29D33622,054CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-07-29D6346239,467CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-07-29D7506246,688Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Alan R. HoopsDirector2026-07-31D9,00000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Alan R. HoopsDirector2026-07-31A9,00014129,960CommonForm 4 ↗
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-08-04D51593,014Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-08-04D15959CommonForm 4 ↗
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-08-04A51532,685CommonForm 4 ↗
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-08-04D45592,660CommonForm 4 ↗
Joanna C. BurkeyDirector2026-08-06A1,50000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Steven J. HamerslagDirector2026-08-06A1,50000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Alan R. HoopsDirector2026-08-06A1,50000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Jeffrey J. MichaelDirector2026-08-06A1,50000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
R. Judd JessupDirector2026-08-06A1,50000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael CombsCEO & President2026-08-06A1,50000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Jennifer YossVice President of Accounting2026-08-20A2,10066138,012CommonForm 4 ↗
Jennifer YossVice President of Accounting2026-08-20D2,10000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Jennifer YossVice President of Accounting2026-08-20D2,10071148,922CommonForm 4 ↗
R. Judd JessupDirector2026-08-26D1,56271110,449CommonForm 4 ↗
R. Judd JessupDirector2026-08-27D1,2627189,148CommonForm 4 ↗
R. Judd JessupDirector2026-09-01D4,02370281,892CommonForm 4 ↗
CORSTAR HOLDINGS INCGreater-than-10% holder2026-09-03D51,713693,563,605CommonForm 4 ↗
CORSTAR HOLDINGS INCGreater-than-10% holder2026-09-04D14,53869999,573CommonForm 4 ↗
CORSTAR HOLDINGS INCGreater-than-10% holder2026-09-11D30,925692,135,303CommonForm 4 ↗
CORSTAR HOLDINGS INCGreater-than-10% holder2026-09-14D127,824708,968,055CommonForm 4 ↗
Jennifer YossVice President of Accounting2026-09-30A36712,550CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael CombsCEO & President2026-09-30A45713,187CommonForm 4 ↗
Brian NicholsChief Financial Officer2026-09-30A55713,895CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. BertelsEVP - Risk Management Services2026-09-30A971637CommonForm 4 ↗
05

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

The compensation program is designed to align with business and strategic objectives and drive sustainable value creation by linking pay outcomes with financial performance, individual contributions, and stock value. It targets a mix of fixed and variable compensation to motivate performance, encourage retention, and reflect market competitiveness, while limiting compensation-related risks.

CEO STI target (% of salary)NaN%
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultant—
Clawback policy—
Anti-hedging—
Anti-pledging—
06

Say-on-pay — recent advisory votes

Meeting yearMeeting dateForAgainstAbstainSupportOutcome
20262026-08-0642,909,8301,551,0172,809,45596.51%Passed
20232023-08-1014,023,323537,2026,62996.31%Passed
20232023-08-1014,023,323537,2026,62996.27%Passed
20202020-07-3115,517,746117,1059,12899.25%Passed

Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.

Say-on-pay — history, company's computation

Meeting yearMeeting dateApproval — company's computation
20262026-08-0696.51%a
20232023-08-1096.27%b
20232023-08-1096.31%c

a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

b. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions will have the same effect as a vote “ AGAINST ” this proposal.”.

c. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions will not have the effect of a vote " AGAINST " this proposal, and thus will have no effect on the outcome of the vote on this proposal.”.

Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.

07

CEO pay ratio

Ratio (CEO : median employee)19 : 1
CEO total compensation$1,191,679
Median employee compensation$61,863
08

Director compensation — fiscal year 2026

DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
R. Judd JessupIndependent$108,000—$64,963—$0$172,963
Alan R. HoopsIndependent101,000—64,963—0165,963
Steven J. HamerslagIndependent100,000—64,963—0164,963
Joanna C. BurkeyIndependent100,000—64,963—0164,963
Jeffrey J. MichaelIndependent98,000—64,963—0162,963
09

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer—
Annual equity retainer—
Per board meeting fee$3,000
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)4,000
Stock ownership guideline—
09b

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2026
Cash retainers and fees$507,000
Equity awards (grant-date value)$0
All other compensation$0
Total cost of the board$507,000

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

10b

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1CORVEL CORP2026Michael Combs$679,327$0$101,716$498,809$1,285,043

Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

10d

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at CORVEL CORP in fiscal 2026?
As disclosed, Michael Combs (CEO) was the highest-paid executive at CORVEL CORP in fiscal 2026, with total compensation of $1,285,043.
What is CORVEL CORP's CEO-to-median employee pay ratio?
As disclosed, CORVEL CORP's CEO-to-median employee pay ratio was 19:1.
How did shareholders vote on CORVEL CORP's executive compensation?
As disclosed, 96.51% of shareholders supported CORVEL CORP's executive compensation in the latest say-on-pay vote.
How much does CORVEL CORP spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2026?
As disclosed, CORVEL CORP reported total board compensation of $507,000 for fiscal 2026.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

11

Source register

Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

#SupportsDocumentFiledAccessionLocation in document
1Section 01, Michael CombsDEF 14A2026-06-260001193125-26-285509Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 33. As printed: 1,285,043. Filing ↗machine: span 348386–348395
2Section 01, Brian NicholsDEF 14A2026-06-260001193125-26-285509Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 33. As printed: 492,455. Filing ↗machine: span 357182–357189
3Section 07, pay ratioDEF 14A2025-06-240001193125-25-145760Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 19 : 1. Filing ↗
4Section 08, R. Judd JessupDEF 14A2026-06-260001193125-26-285509Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 172,963. Filing ↗machine: t101 · r5 · c15 · span 706522–706529
5Section 08, Alan R. HoopsDEF 14A2026-06-260001193125-26-285509Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 165,963. Filing ↗machine: t101 · r4 · c15 · span 705179–705186
6Section 08, Steven J. HamerslagDEF 14A2026-06-260001193125-26-285509Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 164,963. Filing ↗machine: t101 · r3 · c15 · span 703812–703819
7Section 08, Joanna C. BurkeyDEF 14A2026-06-260001193125-26-285509Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 164,963. Filing ↗machine: t101 · r2 · c15 · span 702464–702471
8Section 08, Jeffrey J. MichaelDEF 14A2026-06-260001193125-26-285509Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 162,963. Filing ↗machine: t101 · r6 · c15 · span 707893–707900
9Section 02, Sarah A. Scott 2026-07-01Form 42026-07-240002141901-26-000005Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
10Section 02, Mark E. Bertels 2026-07-29Form 42026-07-300001921051-26-000012Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
11Section 02, Mark E. Bertels 2026-07-29Form 42026-07-300001921051-26-000012Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
12Section 02, Mark E. Bertels 2026-07-29Form 42026-07-300001921051-26-000012Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
13Section 02, Mark E. Bertels 2026-07-29Form 42026-07-300001921051-26-000012Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
14Section 02, Alan R. Hoops 2026-07-31Form 42026-08-030001230877-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
15Section 02, Alan R. Hoops 2026-07-31Form 42026-08-030001230877-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
16Section 02, Brian Nichols 2026-08-04Form 42026-08-050002100449-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
17Section 02, Brian Nichols 2026-08-04Form 42026-08-050002100449-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
18Section 02, Brian Nichols 2026-08-04Form 42026-08-050002100449-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
19Section 02, Brian Nichols 2026-08-04Form 42026-08-050002100449-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
20Section 02, Joanna C. Burkey 2026-08-06Form 42026-08-100002032322-26-000006Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
21Section 02, Steven J. Hamerslag 2026-08-06Form 42026-08-100001056168-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
22Section 02, Alan R. Hoops 2026-08-06Form 42026-08-100001230877-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
23Section 02, Jeffrey J. Michael 2026-08-06Form 42026-08-100001031318-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
24Section 02, R. Judd Jessup 2026-08-06Form 42026-08-100001204612-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
25Section 02, Michael Combs 2026-08-06Form 42026-08-100001641248-26-000016Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
26Section 02, Jennifer Yoss 2026-08-20Form 42026-08-240001754632-26-000009Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
27Section 02, Jennifer Yoss 2026-08-20Form 42026-08-240001754632-26-000009Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
28Section 02, Jennifer Yoss 2026-08-20Form 42026-08-240001754632-26-000009Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
29Section 02, R. Judd Jessup 2026-08-26Form 42026-08-280001204612-26-000006Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
30Section 02, R. Judd Jessup 2026-08-27Form 42026-08-280001204612-26-000006Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
31Section 02, R. Judd Jessup 2026-09-01Form 42026-09-030001204612-26-000008Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
32Section 02, CORSTAR HOLDINGS INC 2026-09-03Form 42026-09-080001256520-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
33Section 02, CORSTAR HOLDINGS INC 2026-09-04Form 42026-09-080001256520-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
34Section 02, CORSTAR HOLDINGS INC 2026-09-11Form 42026-09-150001256520-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
35Section 02, CORSTAR HOLDINGS INC 2026-09-14Form 42026-09-150001256520-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
36Section 02, Jennifer Yoss 2026-09-30Form 42026-10-010001754632-26-000011Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
37Section 02, Michael Combs 2026-09-30Form 42026-10-010001641248-26-000018Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
38Section 02, Brian Nichols 2026-09-30Form 42026-10-010002100449-26-000006Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
39Section 02, Mark E. Bertels 2026-09-30Form 42026-10-010001921051-26-000014Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
40Section 06, 2026 voteForm 8-K2026-08-110001193125-26-345046Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 96.51% (votes for as printed: 42,909,830). Filing ↗
41Section 06, 2023 voteForm 8-K2023-08-150001193125-23-213461Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 96.27%. Filing ↗
42Section 06, 2023 voteForm 8-K2023-08-150001193125-23-213461Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 96.31%. Filing ↗
43Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed)Computed——Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1)
44Section 09b board cost (computed)Computed——Cash 507,000 + equity 0 + all other 0 = 507,000, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 507,000
45CORVEL CORP (subject), Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-06-260001193125-26-285509CEO total compensation as printed in CORVEL CORP's own proxy. As printed: 1,285,043. Filing ↗machine: span 348386–348395

The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.

You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.

Get the CORVEL CORP Executive Compensation Report

$1,500

Buy the report - $1,500Both reports - $2,400
CRVL Peer Teardown Report