Velarion · Company Intelligence
Compensation Brief
Fiscal year 2023 · Filings through 2025-07-24

ESSA Bancorp (ESSA)

CEO Gary Olson was paid $1,120,499 in fiscal year 2023, ↓ down 10.2% from fiscal year 2022 (SEC filing 0001193125-24-015377 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.

$1,120,499 ↓
Gary Olson total, FY2023
—
CEO pay percentile vs peers
—
CEO-to-median pay ratio
85.75%
Say-on-pay support, latest vote

Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist

Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year

A confirmation now and one email when Pro opens, and nothing else. Privacy

Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.

Sample answer — “What is the CEO’s total compensation?”
- Gary Olson (President and Chief Executive Officer), FY2023 total compensation $1,120,499 (base salary $560,827) [exec_comp, SEC accession 0001193125-24-015377, filed 2024-01-25]

Answered within 24 hours, every figure cited to its SEC filing. If our database cannot answer your question, you are refunded automatically.

01

Summary Compensation Table — fiscal year 2023

Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
Gary Olson$560,827$0$100,000$0$387,552$0$72,120$1,120,499
President and Chief Executive Officer
Peter Gray325,650050,0000199,918050,547626,115
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Charles Hangen279,724050,0000179,904054,403564,031
Executive Vice President, Chief Risk Officer

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2023 totalFY2022 totalFY2021 totalΔ FY2022→2023
Gary Olson$1,120,499$1,247,179—↓ −126,680
Peter Gray626,115692,192—↓ −66,077
Charles Hangen564,031628,247—↓ −64,216

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

You have just read ESSA Bancorp's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper ESSA reports.

We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

How we handle your data → Privacy

Companies that benchmark against ESSA
5 companies name ESSA as a compensation peer

The list of companies that name ESSA as a peer is temporarily unavailable — recheck shortly.

01c

Board of directors

One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.

DirectorRoleFY2023 total
Carolyn P. StennettIndependent Director$62,203
Christine D. GordonIndependent Director$65,203
Daniel J. HenningIndependent Director$66,062
Elizabeth B. WeekesIndependent Director$65,264
Joseph S. DurkinIndependent Director$68,703
Philip H. Hosbach IVIndependent Director$62,703
Robert C. Selig JrChair of the Board$103,360
Tina Q. RichardsonIndependent Director$61,203
02

Equity transactions since the proxy statement was filed

Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2023 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.

InsiderRoleTransaction dateCodeSharesPriceValueSecuritySource
Charles HangenEVP and Chief Risk Officer2025-07-15D2,093$20$42,530CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert L. SelittoSenior Vice President2025-07-15D8842017,963CommonForm 4 ↗
Peter GraySEVP and COO2025-07-15D2,0612041,880CommonForm 4 ↗
Allan A. MutoEVP and CFO2025-07-15D2,0612041,880CommonForm 4 ↗
Gary S. OlsonDirector2025-07-15D4,1572084,470CommonForm 4 ↗
Thomas J. GrayuskiSenior Vice President2025-07-15D1,0302020,930CommonForm 4 ↗
Allan A. MutoEVP and CFO2025-07-23D18,671——CommonForm 4 ↗
Charles HangenEVP and Chief Risk Officer2025-07-23D9,791——CommonForm 4 ↗
Charles HangenEVP and Chief Risk Officer2025-07-23D9,856——CommonForm 4 ↗
Charles HangenEVP and Chief Risk Officer2025-07-23D25,121——CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert L. SelittoSenior Vice President2025-07-23D11,800——CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert L. SelittoSenior Vice President2025-07-23D9,691——CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert L. SelittoSenior Vice President2025-07-23D100——CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert L. SelittoSenior Vice President2025-07-23D5,579——CommonForm 4 ↗
Peter GraySEVP and COO2025-07-23D5,037——CommonForm 4 ↗
Peter GraySEVP and COO2025-07-23D3,560——CommonForm 4 ↗
Peter GraySEVP and COO2025-07-23D31,629——CommonForm 4 ↗
Thomas J. GrayuskiSenior Vice President2025-07-23D66,885——CommonForm 4 ↗
Thomas J. GrayuskiSenior Vice President2025-07-23D16,024——CommonForm 4 ↗
Allan A. MutoEVP and CFO2025-07-23D12,690——CommonForm 4 ↗
Allan A. MutoEVP and CFO2025-07-23D101,764——CommonForm 4 ↗
Joseph S. DurkinDirector2025-07-23D10,305——CommonForm 4 ↗
Carolyn P. StennettDirector2025-07-23D5,585——CommonForm 4 ↗
Tina Q. RichardsonDirector2025-07-23D5,585——CommonForm 4 ↗
Philip H. Hosbach IVDirector2025-07-23D10,367——CommonForm 4 ↗
Christine D. GordonDirector2025-07-23D10,105——CommonForm 4 ↗
Elizabeth B. WeekesDirector2025-07-23D36,955——CommonForm 4 ↗
Gary S. OlsonDirector2025-07-23D136——CommonForm 4 ↗
Gary S. OlsonDirector2025-07-23D130——CommonForm 4 ↗
Gary S. OlsonDirector2025-07-23D74,079——CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert C. Selig JrDirector2025-07-23D106,239——CommonForm 4 ↗
Daniel J. HenningDirector2025-07-23D64,795——CommonForm 4 ↗
Gary S. OlsonDirector2025-07-23D15,120——CommonForm 4 ↗
Thomas J. GrayuskiSenior Vice President2025-07-23D57,975——CommonForm 4 ↗
Charles HangenEVP and Chief Risk Officer2025-07-23D5,087——CommonForm 4 ↗
Peter GraySEVP and COO2025-07-23D2,030——CommonForm 4 ↗
Gary S. OlsonDirector2025-07-23D43,305——CommonForm 4 ↗

Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.

03

Grants of plan-based awards — fiscal year 2023

ExecutiveAwardGrant dateThresholdTargetGrantedMaximumGrant-date fair value
Gary OlsonPRSU—————$387,552
Peter GrayPRSU—————199,918
Charles HangenPRSU—————179,904
03b

Vehicle mix — grant-date fair value by award type

Grant-level vehicle detail not disclosed.

% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.

04

Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2023

ExecutiveAwardShares unvestedExercise priceMarket value unvested
Charles HangenRSU1,503—$22,553
Gary OlsonRSU1,020—15,318
Charles HangenRSU1,020—15,318
Gary OlsonRSU3,868—58,055
Gary OlsonRSU3,005—45,105
Gary OlsonRSU2,041—30,635
Gary OlsonRSU1,934—29,033
Charles HangenRSU1,934—29,033
Gary OlsonRSU1,503—22,553
05

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

The primary objectives of the Company’s executive compensation program are to institute pay programs that align executive interests with stockholder value creation, align compensation with the external market, link pay and performance, balance risk and reward, and be appropriate from both an internal and external perspective.

CEO STI target (% of salary)50%
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultantHerbein | Mosteller HR Solutions
Clawback policytrue
Anti-hedgingtrue
Anti-pledgingtrue
06

Say-on-pay — recent advisory votes

Meeting yearMeeting dateForAgainstAbstainSupportOutcome
20242024-03-076,402,6841,064,307144,89185.75%Passed
20232023-03-096,643,937531,87177,54092.59%Passed
20222022-03-036,347,256800,43772,70088.8%Passed
20212021-03-046,825,729509,360151,31693.06%Passed
20202020-02-277,577,894542,43198,51493.32%Passed
20192019-02-287,487,3741,091,32593,95187.28%Passed

Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.

Say-on-pay — history, company's computation

Meeting yearMeeting dateApproval — company's computation
20242024-03-0785.75%a
20232023-03-0992.59%b
20222022-03-0388.8%c

a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.

08

Director compensation — fiscal year 2023

DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
Robert C. Selig JrNot independent · Board Chair$78,000$25,000$0—$360$103,360
Joseph S. DurkinIndependent · Audit (Chair) · Nominating and Corporate Governance43,50025,0000—20368,703
Daniel J. HenningIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance (Chair)40,75025,0000—31266,062
Elizabeth B. WeekesIndependent · Compensation (Chair) · Nominating and Corporate Governance40,00025,0000—26465,264
Christine D. GordonIndependent · Audit40,00025,0000—20365,203
Philip H. Hosbach IVIndependent · Compensation · Nominating and Corporate Governance37,50025,0000—20362,703
Carolyn P. StennettIndependent · Compensation37,00025,0000—20362,203
Tina Q. RichardsonIndependent · Audit36,00025,0000—20361,203
Gary S. OlsonEmployee director—————0
09

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer$24,000
Annual equity retainer—
Per board meeting fee$1,000
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)4,000 / 2,000 / 2,000
Stock ownership guideline$36,000
09b

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2023
Cash retainers and fees$352,750
Equity awards (grant-date value)$200,000
All other compensation$1,951
Total cost of the board$554,701

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

10

Disclosed peer group — fiscal year 2023

The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.

Base Salaries. Executive
10b

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1ESSA Bancorp2023Gary Olson$560,827$100,000$0$387,552$1,120,499

Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

10d

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at ESSA Bancorp in fiscal 2023?
As disclosed, Gary Olson (President and Chief Executive Officer) was the highest-paid executive at ESSA Bancorp in fiscal 2023, with total compensation of $1,120,499.
How did shareholders vote on ESSA Bancorp's executive compensation?
As disclosed, 85.75% of shareholders supported ESSA Bancorp's executive compensation in the latest say-on-pay vote.
How much does ESSA Bancorp spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2023?
As disclosed, ESSA Bancorp reported total board compensation of $554,701 for fiscal 2023.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

11

Source register

Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

#SupportsDocumentFiledAccessionLocation in document
1Section 01, Gary OlsonDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 1,120,499. Filing ↗
2Section 01, Peter GrayDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 626,115. Filing ↗
3Section 01, Charles HangenDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 564,031. Filing ↗
4Section 03, Gary Olson PRSUDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS UNANIMOUSLY RECOMMENDSVOTE &” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t102 · r3 · c19 · span 249731–249738
5Section 03, Peter Gray PRSUDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS UNANIMOUSLY RECOMMENDSVOTE &” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t102 · r4 · c19 · span 254226–254233
6Section 03, Charles Hangen PRSUDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS UNANIMOUSLY RECOMMENDSVOTE &” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t102 · r5 · c19 · span 258724–258731
7Section 08, Robert C. Selig JrDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 103,360. Filing ↗machine: span 309190–309197
8Section 08, Joseph S. DurkinDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 68,703. Filing ↗machine: span 311089–311095
9Section 08, Daniel J. HenningDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 66,062. Filing ↗machine: span 307289–307295
10Section 08, Elizabeth B. WeekesDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 65,264. Filing ↗machine: span 308230–308236
11Section 08, Christine D. GordonDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 65,203. Filing ↗machine: span 312030–312036
12Section 08, Philip H. Hosbach IVDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 62,703. Filing ↗machine: span 310133–310139
13Section 08, Carolyn P. StennettDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 62,203. Filing ↗machine: span 312989–312995
14Section 08, Tina Q. RichardsonDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 61,203. Filing ↗machine: span 313929–313935
15Section 08, Gary S. OlsonDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗
16Section 02, Charles Hangen 2025-07-15Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023353Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
17Section 02, Robert L. Selitto 2025-07-15Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023354Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
18Section 02, Peter Gray 2025-07-15Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023355Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
19Section 02, Allan A. Muto 2025-07-15Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023358Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
20Section 02, Gary S. Olson 2025-07-15Form 42025-07-240001062993-25-013114Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
21Section 02, Thomas J. Grayuski 2025-07-15Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023356Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
22Section 02, Allan A. Muto 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023358Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
23Section 02, Charles Hangen 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023353Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
24Section 02, Charles Hangen 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023353Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
25Section 02, Charles Hangen 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023353Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
26Section 02, Robert L. Selitto 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023354Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
27Section 02, Robert L. Selitto 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023354Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
28Section 02, Robert L. Selitto 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023354Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
29Section 02, Robert L. Selitto 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023354Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
30Section 02, Peter Gray 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023355Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
31Section 02, Peter Gray 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023355Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
32Section 02, Peter Gray 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023355Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
33Section 02, Thomas J. Grayuski 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023356Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
34Section 02, Thomas J. Grayuski 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023356Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
35Section 02, Allan A. Muto 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023358Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
36Section 02, Allan A. Muto 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023358Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
37Section 02, Joseph S. Durkin 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023359Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
38Section 02, Carolyn P. Stennett 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023360Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
39Section 02, Tina Q. Richardson 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023361Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
40Section 02, Philip H. Hosbach IV 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023362Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
41Section 02, Christine D. Gordon 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023363Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
42Section 02, Elizabeth B. Weekes 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023364Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
43Section 02, Gary S. Olson 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001062993-25-013114Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
44Section 02, Gary S. Olson 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001062993-25-013114Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
45Section 02, Gary S. Olson 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001062993-25-013114Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
46Section 02, Robert C. Selig Jr 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001062993-25-013115Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
47Section 02, Daniel J. Henning 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001062993-25-013116Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
48Section 02, Gary S. Olson 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001062993-25-013114Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
49Section 02, Thomas J. Grayuski 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023356Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
50Section 02, Charles Hangen 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023353Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
51Section 02, Peter Gray 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001437749-25-023355Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
52Section 02, Gary S. Olson 2025-07-23Form 42025-07-240001062993-25-013114Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
53Section 06, 2024 voteForm 8-K2024-03-070000943374-24-000098Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 85.75% (votes for as printed: 6,402,684). Filing ↗
54Section 06, 2023 voteForm 8-K2023-03-090000943374-23-000146Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 92.59% (votes for as printed: 6,643,937). Filing ↗
55Section 06, 2022 voteForm 8-K2022-03-040000943374-22-000110Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 88.8% (votes for as printed: 6,347,256). Filing ↗
56Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed)Computed——Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1)
57Section 09b board cost (computed)Computed——Cash 352,750 + equity 200,000 + all other 1,951 = 554,701, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 554,701
58ESSA Bancorp (subject), Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2024-01-250001193125-24-015377CEO total compensation as printed in ESSA Bancorp's own proxy. As printed: 1,120,499. Filing ↗

The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.

You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.