Companies Aura Biosciences, Inc.
Aura Biosciences (AURA): executive pay, fiscal 2025
Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.
Velarion Intel: free for 3 days, no card →Email me Aura Biosciences, Inc.’s executive pay brief as a PDF
You get it on this page the moment you ask, and a copy by email. Every figure is cited to its filing.
After the PDF, up to three short notes on the deeper reports for this company. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
CEO pay, last three years
- $4,044,598FY2023
- $3,604,339FY2024
- $3,956,167FY2025
CEO total pay was $3,956,167 in fiscal 2025, up from $3,604,339 in fiscal 2024.
FY2025: salary $645,483 · bonus $0 · stock awards $1,492,378 · option awards $1,513,293
Executives and directors
Frequently asked questions
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Full detail
Every table from the filing. Open any section.
Summary compensation table
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elisabet de los Pinos | $645,483 | $0 | $1,492,378 | $1,513,293 | $284,013 | $0 | $21,000 | $3,956,167 |
| President, Chief Executive Officer and Director | ||||||||
| Anthony Gibney | 345,909 | 0 | 1,006,915 | 1,209,402 | 189,000 | 0 | 0 | 2,751,226 |
| Chief Financial and Business Officer | ||||||||
| J. Jill Hopkins | 551,250 | 0 | 926,477 | 469,738 | 220,500 | 0 | 21,000 | 2,188,965 |
| Chief Medical Officer and President of Research and Development | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elisabet de los Pinos | $3,956,167 | $3,604,339 | $4,044,598 | ↑ +351,828 |
| Anthony Gibney | 2,751,226 | — | — | — |
| J. Jill Hopkins | 2,188,965 | 1,226,076 | 2,935,681 | ↑ +962,889 |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis
We target a general competitive position, based on independent third-party benchmark analytics to inform the mix of compensation of base salary, bonus or long-term incentives.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | 55% |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Pay Governance |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | true |
Equity grants and outstanding awards
Grants of plan-based awards — fiscal year 2025
| Executive | Award | Grant date | Threshold | Target | Granted | Maximum | Grant-date fair value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anthony Gibney | OPTION | — | — | — | — | — | $1,209,402 |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | RSU | — | — | — | — | — | 1,492,378 |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | OPTION | — | — | — | — | — | 1,513,293 |
| Anthony Gibney | RSU | — | — | — | — | — | 1,006,915 |
| J. Jill Hopkins | RSU | — | — | — | — | — | 926,477 |
| J. Jill Hopkins | OPTION | — | — | — | — | — | 469,738 |
Vehicle mix — grant-date fair value by award type
| Named executive officer | Time-vested (RSU) | Performance-vested (PSU) | Options / SARs | % performance-vested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anthony Gibney | $1,006,915 | $0 | $1,209,402 | 0.0% |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | 1,492,378 | 0 | 1,513,293 | 0.0% |
| J. Jill Hopkins | 926,477 | 0 | 469,738 | 0.0% |
% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.
Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2025
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| J. Jill Hopkins | RSU | 21,386 | — | $116,554 |
| J. Jill Hopkins | Option | 22,471 | 7.77 | — |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | Option | 50,782 | 10.18 | — |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | RSU | 60,937 | — | 332,107 |
| J. Jill Hopkins | RSU | 67,500 | — | 367,875 |
| J. Jill Hopkins | Option | 79,365 | 7.68 | — |
| J. Jill Hopkins | Option | 91,667 | 8.97 | — |
| J. Jill Hopkins | RSU | 120,635 | — | 657,461 |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | RSU | 122,201 | — | 665,995 |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | Option | 128,410 | 7.77 | — |
| Anthony Gibney | RSU | 150,000 | — | 817,500 |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | RSU | 194,320 | — | 1,059,044 |
| Anthony Gibney | Option | 250,000 | 6.16 | — |
| Elisabet de los Pinos | Option | 255,680 | 7.68 | — |
Director compensation
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teresa Marie BitettiIndependent · Compensation · Newly elected | $34,436 | $123,060 | $126,066 | $0 | $0 | $283,562 |
| David JohnsonIndependent · Board Chair · Nominating/Governance | 77,060 | 80,340 | 77,931 | 0 | 0 | 235,331 |
| Antony MattessichIndependent · Audit · Nominating/Governance (Chair) | 56,620 | 80,340 | 77,931 | 0 | 0 | 214,891 |
| Sapna Srivastava, Ph.DIndependent · Audit (Chair) | 55,000 | 80,340 | 77,931 | 0 | 0 | 213,271 |
| Elisabet de los Pinos, Ph.DEmployee director | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
| Giovanni Mariggi, Ph.DIndependent · Audit · Compensation (Chair) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Karan TakharIndependent · Compensation · Nominating/Governance · Not standing for re-election | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Board fee structure and ownership guideline
| Annual cash retainer | $40,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | — |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 15,000 / 12,000 / 10,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | — |
Total cost of the board
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $223,116 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $364,080 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $587,196 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
Peer group, and who names Aura Biosciences as a peer
Companies that benchmark against AURA
11 companies name AURA as a compensation peer
- Amylyx Pharmaceuticals, Inc.AMLXFY2025
- Dianthus Therapeutics, Inc. /DE/DNTHFY2025
- OCULAR THERAPEUTIX, INCOCULFY2025
- Olema Pharmaceuticals, Inc.OLMAFY2025
- Opus Genetics, Inc.IRDFY2025
- Perspective Therapeutics, Inc.CATXFY2025
- PRECIGEN, INC.PGENFY2025
- Repare Therapeutics Inc.RPTXFY2024
- Seres Therapeutics, Inc.MCRBFY2025
- UroGen Pharma Ltd.URGNFY2025
- Verastem, Inc.VSTMFY2025
Each company listed discloses AURA in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named AURA in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
Chief executive pay against the peer group
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Aura Biosciences, Inc. | 2025 | Elisabet de los Pinos | $645,483 | $1,492,378 | $1,513,293 | $284,013 | $3,956,167 |
Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-08-05 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2025 | 2025-06-17 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2024 | 2024-06-20 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2023 | 2023-06-07 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2022 | 2022-06-15 | — | — | — | — | — |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year’s compensation.
Say-on-pay — history, company’s computation
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company’s computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-08-05 | —a |
| 2025 | 2025-06-17 | —b |
| 2024 | 2024-06-20 | —c |
a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
Approval percentages are the company’s own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
CEO pay ratio
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | — |
| Median employee compensation | — |
Insider trades since the proxy
Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2025 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.
| Insider | Role | Transaction date | Code | Shares | Price | Value | Security | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Matrix Capital Management Company, LP | Greater-than-10% holder | 2026-05-07 | D | 6,922,870 | $6 | $39,044,987 | Common, indirect | Form 4 ↗ |
| Natalie C. Holles | Director | 2026-05-19 | A | 553,844 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Natalie C. Holles | Director | 2026-05-19 | A | 600,118 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Natalie C. Holles | Director | 2026-05-19 | A | 2,169,103 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Sapna Srivastava | Director | 2026-06-11 | A | 30,000 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Sapna Srivastava | Director | 2026-06-11 | A | 15,000 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| David Johnson | Director | 2026-06-11 | A | 30,000 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Antony Mattessich | Director | 2026-06-11 | A | 30,000 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Teresa Marie Bitetti | Director | 2026-06-11 | A | 30,000 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Teresa Marie Bitetti | Director | 2026-06-11 | A | 15,000 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Antony Mattessich | Director | 2026-06-11 | A | 15,000 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| David Johnson | Director | 2026-06-11 | A | 15,000 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Anthony Gibney | See Remarks | 2026-06-16 | D | 12,824 | 6 | 82,330 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Conor Kilroy | See Remarks | 2026-07-01 | A | 14,858 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Jeremy Bender | Director | 2026-07-07 | A | 60,000 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Jeremy Bender | Director | 2026-07-07 | A | 30,000 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Susan Abu-Absi | Chief Operating Officer | 2026-09-01 | A | 134,513 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Susan Abu-Absi | Chief Operating Officer | 2026-09-01 | A | 265,487 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Amy Elazzouzi | SVP, Finance & PAO | 2026-09-01 | A | 46,460 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Amy Elazzouzi | SVP, Finance & PAO | 2026-09-01 | A | 23,540 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| J. Jill Hopkins | Chief Medical Officer | 2026-09-01 | A | 116,150 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| J. Jill Hopkins | Chief Medical Officer | 2026-09-01 | A | 58,850 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Erica Kratz | Chief Reg. & Quality Officer | 2026-09-01 | A | 199,115 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Julie Person | Chief People Officer | 2026-09-01 | A | 107,611 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Erica Kratz | Chief Reg. & Quality Officer | 2026-09-01 | A | 100,885 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Julie Person | Chief People Officer | 2026-09-01 | A | 212,389 | 0 | 0 | Derivative, Class A Common | Form 4 ↗ |
Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.
Sources (50 citations)
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
- Section 01, Elisabet de los Pinos. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “2025 Summary Compensation Table” · page 21. As printed: 3,956,167. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Anthony Gibney. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “2025 Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 2,751,226. View filing ↗
- Section 01, J. Jill Hopkins. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “2025 Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 2,188,965. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Anthony Gibney OPTION. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “EXECUTI VE COMPENSATION” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Elisabet de los Pinos RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “EXECUTI VE COMPENSATION” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Elisabet de los Pinos OPTION. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “EXECUTI VE COMPENSATION” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Anthony Gibney RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “EXECUTI VE COMPENSATION” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, J. Jill Hopkins RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “EXECUTI VE COMPENSATION” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, J. Jill Hopkins OPTION. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “EXECUTI VE COMPENSATION” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 07, pay ratio. 10-K, filed 2026-03-30. Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: —. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Teresa Marie Bitetti. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 283,562. View filing ↗
- Section 08, David Johnson. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 235,331. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Antony Mattessich. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 214,891. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Sapna Srivastava, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 213,271. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Elisabet de los Pinos, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Giovanni Mariggi, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Karan Takhar. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Matrix Capital Management Company, LP 2026-05-07. Form 4, filed 2026-05-11. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Natalie C. Holles 2026-05-19. Form 4, filed 2026-05-19. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Natalie C. Holles 2026-05-19. Form 4, filed 2026-05-19. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Natalie C. Holles 2026-05-19. Form 4, filed 2026-05-19. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Sapna Srivastava 2026-06-11. Form 4, filed 2026-06-15. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Sapna Srivastava 2026-06-11. Form 4, filed 2026-06-15. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, David Johnson 2026-06-11. Form 4, filed 2026-06-15. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Antony Mattessich 2026-06-11. Form 4, filed 2026-06-15. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Teresa Marie Bitetti 2026-06-11. Form 4, filed 2026-06-15. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Teresa Marie Bitetti 2026-06-11. Form 4, filed 2026-06-15. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Antony Mattessich 2026-06-11. Form 4, filed 2026-06-15. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, David Johnson 2026-06-11. Form 4, filed 2026-06-15. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Anthony Gibney 2026-06-16. Form 4, filed 2026-06-16. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Conor Kilroy 2026-07-01. Form 4, filed 2026-07-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Jeremy Bender 2026-07-07. Form 4, filed 2026-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Jeremy Bender 2026-07-07. Form 4, filed 2026-07-08. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Susan Abu-Absi 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Susan Abu-Absi 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Amy Elazzouzi 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Amy Elazzouzi 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, J. Jill Hopkins 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, J. Jill Hopkins 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Erica Kratz 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Julie Person 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Erica Kratz 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 02, Julie Person 2026-09-01. Form 4, filed 2026-09-01. Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2026 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2026-08-05. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2025 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2025-06-18. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2024 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2024-06-21. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: —. View filing ↗
- Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed). Computed. Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.
- Section 03b vehicle mix (computed). Computed. RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).
- Section 09b board cost (computed). Computed. Cash 223,116 + equity 364,080 + all other 0 = 587,196, summed across the director compensation table rows.
- Aura Biosciences, Inc. (subject), Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-20. CEO total compensation as printed in Aura Biosciences, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 3,956,167. View filing ↗