Fiscal year 2025 executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.
Each company listed discloses VSTM in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named VSTM in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daniel Paterson | $674,000 | — | $1,161,661 | — | $489,324 | — | $24,990 | $2,349,975 |
| President and Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Matthew Ros | 455,154 | — | 585,330 | — | 196,425 | — | 388,254 | 1,625,163 |
| Former Chief Operating Officer | ||||||||
| Daniel Calkins | 350,000 | — | 450,721 | — | 151,200 | — | 24,950 | 976,871 |
| Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Michael Kauffman | 30,000 | — | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | — | 105,000 | 272,993 |
| President of Development | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daniel Paterson | $2,349,975 | $2,536,767 | — | −186,792 |
| Matthew Ros | 1,625,163 | — | — | — |
| Daniel Calkins | 976,871 | 741,010 | — | +235,861 |
| Michael Kauffman | 272,993 | — | — | — |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
| Executive | Award | Grant date | Threshold | Target | Granted | Maximum | Grant-date fair value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daniel Calkins | RSU | 2025-01-10 | — | — | 38,880 | — | — |
| Daniel Calkins | PSU | 2025-01-10 | — | — | 25,866 | — | — |
| Daniel Paterson | RSU | 2025-01-10 | — | — | 100,000 | — | — |
| Daniel Paterson | PSU | 2025-01-10 | — | — | 66,666 | — | — |
| Matthew Ros | PSU | 2025-04-01 | — | — | 33,333 | — | — |
| Matthew Ros | RSU | 2025-04-01 | — | — | 50,000 | — | — |
Grant-level vehicle detail not disclosed.
% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daniel Calkins | RSU | 38,800 | — | $299,536 |
| Daniel Calkins | Option | 663 | 11.44 | — |
| Daniel Paterson | RSU | 100,000 | — | 772,000 |
| Daniel Paterson | PSU | 66,666 | — | 514,662 |
| Daniel Calkins | RSU | 25,900 | — | 199,948 |
| Daniel Calkins | PSU | 25,866 | — | 199,686 |
| Daniel Paterson | RSU | 21,875 | — | 168,875 |
| Michael Kauffman | RSU | 3,473 | — | 26,812 |
| Daniel Calkins | RSU | 546 | — | 4,215 |
| Daniel Paterson | Option | 58,420 | 7.97 | — |
| Daniel Paterson | Option | 43,750 | 10.44 | — |
| Daniel Paterson | Option | 13,413 | 11.44 | — |
| Daniel Paterson | Option | 72,071 | 11.44 | — |
| Daniel Calkins | Option | 12,500 | 6.89 | — |
| Daniel Calkins | Option | 4,295 | 7.97 | — |
| Daniel Calkins | Option | 820 | 10.5 | — |
| Daniel Calkins | Option | 2,709 | 11.44 | — |
| Michael Kauffman | Option | 5,209 | 7.48 | — |
| Michael Kauffman | Option | 8,043 | 11.44 | — |
The Company's compensation philosophy is designed to attract, retain, and reward talented executives by aligning their interests with stockholders through a mix of base salary, annual cash bonuses tied to short-term objectives, and long-term equity awards that incentivize the creation of long-term stockholder value.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Pearl Meyer |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | true |
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-05-21 | 51,696,318 | 2,536,847 | 955,013 | 95.32% | Passed |
| 2025 | 2025-05-22 | 25,736,181 | 5,317,283 | 156,229 | 82.88% | Passed |
| 2024 | 2024-05-23 | 12,866,522 | 2,133,122 | 1,759,575 | 85.78% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-05-15 | 61,337,960 | 24,528,314 | 726,121 | 71.43% | Passed |
| 2022 | 2022-05-12 | 89,933,554 | 5,125,119 | 376,282 | 94.61% | Passed |
| 2021 | 2021-05-18 | 76,777,939 | 4,322,711 | 451,688 | 94.67% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company's computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-05-21 | 95.32%a |
| 2025 | 2025-05-22 | 82.88%b |
| 2024 | 2024-05-23 | 85.78%c |
a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Kauffman, M.D., Ph.DEmployee director · Research & Development | $105,000 | $62,331 | $75,662 | — | $0 | $242,993 |
| Eric Rowinsky, M.DIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance · Research and Development (Chair) | 70,000 | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | 7,000 | 214,993 |
| Anil KapurIndependent · Audit · Compensation · Commercialization | 72,000 | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | 0 | 209,993 |
| Brian StuglikNot independent · Audit · Commercialization | 65,000 | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | 0 | 202,993 |
| Michelle RobertsonIndependent · Audit (Chair) · Compensation | 65,000 | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | 0 | 202,993 |
| John JohnsonIndependent · Lead Independent Director · Compensation (Chair) · Nominating and Corporate Governance (Chair) | 62,000 | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | 0 | 199,993 |
| Karin TollefsonIndependent · Audit · Nominating and Corporate Governance · Commercialization | 60,000 | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | 0 | 197,993 |
| Paul Bunn, M.DIndependent · Research & Development | 55,000 | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | 0 | 192,993 |
| Robert GagnonIndependent · Not standing for re-election · Departed during FY | 45,000 | 62,331 | 75,662 | — | 0 | 182,993 |
| Daniel PatersonEmployee director | — | — | — | — | — | 0 |
| Michael P. BaileyIndependent · Newly elected | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Annual cash retainer | $45,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | — |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 10,000 / 8,000 / 5,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | — |
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $599,000 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $560,979 |
| All other compensation | $7,000 |
| Total cost of the board | $1,166,979 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.
Of the companies Verastem names as compensation peers, which name it back in their own disclosed peer groups. A peer set the market reciprocates reads differently from one selected in a single direction.
Reciprocity shown where the peer's own current proxy has been read — each mark is cited in the register to that peer's filing. A dash means the peer's current proxy was read and names no reciprocal group including Verastem.
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Scholar Rock Holding Corporation | 2025 | David Hallal | $637,500 | $22,518,500 | $7,624,988 | $452,293 | $33,300,927 |
| 2 | Cogent Biosciences, Inc. | 2025 | Andrew Robbins | 724,554 | 12,993,250 | 13,447,680 | 561,600 | 27,762,684 |
| 3 | Celcuity Inc. | 2025 | Brian Sullivan | 577,096 | 0 | 15,428,650 | 368,122 | 16,373,868 |
| 4 | Terns Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 2024 | Amy Burroughs | 563,701 | 807,750 | 6,476,968 | 375,000 | 8,240,502 |
| 5 | iTeos Therapeutics, Inc. | 2024 | Michel Detheux | 628,684 | 0 | 4,965,264 | 421,014 | 6,085,657 |
| 6 | Cullinan Oncology, Inc. | 2025 | Nadim Ahmed | 698,476 | 1,697,400 | 2,234,340 | 419,086 | 5,100,006 |
| 7 | Compass Therapeutics, Inc. | 2025 | Thomas Schuetz | 630,000 | 0 | 4,065,000 | 0 | 5,097,150 |
| 8 | Kura Oncology, Inc. | 2025 | Troy Wilson | 700,000 | 0 | 3,297,250 | 630,000 | 4,735,016 |
| 9 | Aura Biosciences, Inc. | 2025 | Elisabet de los Pinos | 645,483 | 1,492,378 | 1,513,293 | 284,013 | 3,956,167 |
| 10 | Olema Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 2025 | Sean Bohen | 699,920 | 0 | 2,002,000 | 461,900 | 3,178,990 |
| 11 | Cardiff Oncology, Inc. | 2025 | Mark Erlander | 635,000 | 0 | 2,266,106 | 122,238 | 3,023,344 |
| 12 | Acrivon Therapeutics, Inc. | 2025 | Peter Blume-Jensen | 709,893 | 0 | 1,592,245 | 410,400 | 2,718,538 |
| 13 | Verastem | 2025 | Daniel Paterson | 674,000 | 1,161,661 | — | 489,324 | 2,349,975 |
| — | MEI Pharma, Inc. | — | — | — | — | — | — | not in coverage universe |
| — | Actinium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | — | — | — | — | — | — | not in coverage universe |
Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
| Company | Annual incentive payout | Long-term vehicle mix | PSU measures include TSR | Compensation consultant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verastem | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Pearl Meyer |
| Acrivon Therapeutics, Inc. | not disclosed | Options 100 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| Actinium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| Aura Biosciences, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Pay Governance |
| Cardiff Oncology, Inc. | 35% | Options 100 | not disclosed | Aon |
| Celcuity Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| Cogent Biosciences, Inc. | 135% | not disclosed | No | Compensia |
| Compass Therapeutics, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Alpine Rewards |
| Cullinan Oncology, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Compensia (through June 2025); Pay Governance (since June 2025) |
| iTeos Therapeutics, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Radford |
| Kura Oncology, Inc. | 150% | not disclosed | No | Alpine Rewards |
| MEI Pharma, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| Olema Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 110% | Options 100 | not disclosed | Aon |
| Scholar Rock Holding Corporation | not disclosed | not disclosed | No | Pay Governance |
| Terns Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 120% | not disclosed | No | Alpine Rewards |
Read from each company's Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company's filing does not state the item.
Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
| # | Supports | Document | Filed | Accession | Location in document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Section 01, Daniel Paterson | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 2,349,975. Filing ↗ |
| 2 | Section 01, Matthew Ros | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,625,163. Filing ↗ |
| 3 | Section 01, Daniel Calkins | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 976,871. Filing ↗ |
| 4 | Section 01, Michael Kauffman | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 272,993. Filing ↗ |
| 5 | Section 03, Daniel Calkins RSU | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗ |
| 6 | Section 03, Daniel Calkins PSU | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗ |
| 7 | Section 03, Daniel Paterson RSU | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗ |
| 8 | Section 03, Daniel Paterson PSU | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗ |
| 9 | Section 03, Matthew Ros PSU | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗ |
| 10 | Section 03, Matthew Ros RSU | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗ |
| 11 | Section 08, Michael Kauffman, M.D., Ph.D | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 242,993. Filing ↗ |
| 12 | Section 08, Eric Rowinsky, M.D | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 214,993. Filing ↗ |
| 13 | Section 08, Anil Kapur | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 209,993. Filing ↗ |
| 14 | Section 08, Brian Stuglik | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 202,993. Filing ↗ |
| 15 | Section 08, Michelle Robertson | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 202,993. Filing ↗ |
| 16 | Section 08, John Johnson | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 199,993. Filing ↗ |
| 17 | Section 08, Karin Tollefson | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 197,993. Filing ↗ |
| 18 | Section 08, Paul Bunn, M.D | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 192,993. Filing ↗ |
| 19 | Section 08, Robert Gagnon | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 182,993. Filing ↗ |
| 20 | Section 08, Daniel Paterson | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗ |
| 21 | Section 08, Michael P. Bailey | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: —. Filing ↗ |
| 22 | Section 06, 2026 vote | Form 8-K | 2026-05-26 | 0001104659-26-066026 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 95.32% (votes for as printed: 51,696,318). Filing ↗ |
| 23 | Section 06, 2025 vote | Form 8-K | 2025-05-23 | 0001104659-25-052220 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 82.88% (votes for as printed: 25,736,181). Filing ↗ |
| 24 | Section 06, 2024 vote | Form 8-K | 2024-05-23 | 0001104659-24-064781 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 85.78% (votes for as printed: 12,866,522). Filing ↗ |
| 25 | Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed) | Computed | — | computed | Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1) |
| 26 | Section 09b board cost (computed) | Computed | — | computed | Cash 599,000 + equity 560,979 + all other 7,000 = 1,166,979, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 1,166,979 |
| 27 | Scholar Rock Holding Corporation, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001104659-26-046917 | CEO total compensation as printed in Scholar Rock Holding Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 33,300,927. Filing ↗machine: r1 · c47 · span 363867–363877 |
| 28 | Cogent Biosciences, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-23 | 0001193125-26-173834 | CEO total compensation as printed in Cogent Biosciences, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 27,762,684. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c39 · span 369353–369363 |
| 29 | Celcuity Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-02 | 0001493152-26-014937 | CEO total compensation as printed in Celcuity Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 16,373,868. Filing ↗machine: span 393145–393155 |
| 30 | Terns Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-04-29 | 0000950170-25-060138 | CEO total compensation as printed in Terns Pharmaceuticals, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 8,240,502. Filing ↗machine: t5 · r3 · c26 · span 385759–385768 |
| 31 | iTeos Therapeutics, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-04-24 | 0000950170-25-057666 | CEO total compensation as printed in iTeos Therapeutics, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 6,085,657. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c27 · span 499272–499281 |
| 32 | Cullinan Oncology, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-28 | 0001193125-26-183465 | CEO total compensation as printed in Cullinan Oncology, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 5,100,006. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c24 · span 475245–475254 |
| 33 | Compass Therapeutics, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-29 | 0001140361-26-017649 | CEO total compensation as printed in Compass Therapeutics, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 5,097,150. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c21 · span 303582–303591 |
| 34 | Kura Oncology, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0001193125-26-151335 | CEO total compensation as printed in Kura Oncology, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 4,735,016. Filing ↗machine: t27 · r2 · c14 · span 1018180–1018189 |
| 35 | Aura Biosciences, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-20 | 0001193125-26-163933 | CEO total compensation as printed in Aura Biosciences, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 3,956,167. Filing ↗machine: t10 · r2 · c29 · span 480151–480160 |
| 36 | Olema Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-29 | 0001193125-26-191956 | CEO total compensation as printed in Olema Pharmaceuticals, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 3,178,990. Filing ↗machine: t29 · r5 · c16 · span 612371–612380 |
| 37 | Cardiff Oncology, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-23 | 0001213037-26-000006 | CEO total compensation as printed in Cardiff Oncology, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 3,023,344. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c16 · span 873925–873934 |
| 38 | Acrivon Therapeutics, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-30 | 0001193125-26-194206 | CEO total compensation as printed in Acrivon Therapeutics, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 2,718,538. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c24 · span 492621–492630 |
| 39 | Verastem (subject), Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0001104659-26-041506 | CEO total compensation as printed in Verastem's own proxy. As printed: 2,349,975. Filing ↗ |
| 40 | Section 10a, Olema Pharmaceuticals, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-26-191956 | Olema Pharmaceuticals, Inc. names Verastem in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 41 | Section 10a, Scholar Rock Holding Corporation reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-26-046917 | Scholar Rock Holding Corporation's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Verastem. Filing ↗ |
| 42 | Section 10a, Cogent Biosciences, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-26-173834 | Cogent Biosciences, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Verastem. Filing ↗ |
| 43 | Section 10a, Kura Oncology, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-26-151335 | Kura Oncology, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Verastem. Filing ↗ |
| 44 | Section 10a, Cardiff Oncology, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001213037-26-000006 | Cardiff Oncology, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Verastem. Filing ↗ |