Velarion · Company Intelligence
Compensation Brief
Fiscal year 2026 · Filings through 2026-10-13

Egain (EGAN)

CEO Ashutosh Roy was paid $303,336 in fiscal year 2026, ↓ down 35.7% from fiscal year 2025 (SEC filing 0001104659-26-115474 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.

$408,808
Rao Chandrasekhar total, FY2026
Senior Vice President, Products and Services — highest-paid officer; CEO Ashutosh Roy: $303,336
—
CEO (Ashutosh Roy) pay percentile vs peers
—
CEO-to-median pay ratio
89.31%
Say-on-pay support, latest vote

Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist

Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year

A confirmation now and one email when Pro opens, and nothing else. Privacy

Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.

Sample answer — “What is the CEO’s total compensation?”
- Ashutosh Roy (Chief Executive Officer), FY2026 total compensation $303,336 (base salary $250,000) [exec_comp, SEC accession 0001104659-26-115474, filed 2026-10-13]

Answered within 24 hours, every figure cited to its SEC filing. If our database cannot answer your question, you are refunded automatically.

EGAN's next annual pay disclosure, estimated October 13, 2027.est. Filing ↗

01

Summary Compensation Table — fiscal year 2026

Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
Rao Chandrasekhar$325,000$0$0$52,588$26,250$0$4,970$408,808
Senior Vice President, Products and Services
Eric Smit320,0000017,92448,75009,463396,136
Chief Financial Officer
Ashutosh Roy250,0000015,83637,50000303,336
Chief Executive Officer

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2026 totalFY2025 totalFY2024 totalΔ FY2025→2026
Rao Chandrasekhar$408,808$446,187—↓ −37,379
Eric Smit396,136523,222606,633↓ −127,086
Ashutosh Roy303,336471,835659,320↓ −168,499

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

You have just read Egain's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper EGAN reports.

We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

How we handle your data → Privacy

Companies that benchmark against EGAN
11 companies name EGAN as a compensation peer

Each company listed discloses EGAN in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named EGAN in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.

01b

Executives — the named officers

One page per officer: the same table above, read for one person at a time — his own figure and every fiscal year the register holds.

ExecutiveRoleFY2026 total
Ashutosh RoyCEO$303,336
Eric SmitCFO$396,136
Rao ChandrasekharSVP$408,808
01c

Board of directors

One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.

DirectorRoleFY2026 total
Brett ShockleyIndependent Director—
Christine RussellFormer director (through FY2025)—
Gunjan SinhaIndependent Director—
Phiroz P. DarukhanavalaLead Independent Director—
02

Equity transactions since the proxy statement was filed

No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.

04

Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2026

ExecutiveAwardShares unvestedExercise priceMarket value unvested
Rao ChandrasekharOption19,7915.24—
05

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

The general philosophy of our executive compensation program is to: ● encourage creation of stockholder value and achievement of strategic corporate objectives by providing management with long-term incentives through equity ownership by management; ● provide a competitive total compensation package that enables us to attract and retain, on a long-term basis, high caliber personnel; ● provide a total compensation opportunity that is competitive with companies in our industry, taking into account relative company size, performance and geographic location, as well as individual responsibilities and performance; ● provide fair and internally consistent compensation; and ● address other relevant considerations such as rewarding extraordinary performance.

CEO STI target (% of salary)—
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultant—
Clawback policyTrue
Anti-hedgingTrue
Anti-pledgingfalse
06

Say-on-pay — recent advisory votes

Meeting yearMeeting dateForAgainstAbstainSupportOutcome
20252025-12-0918,121,5712,144,72425,32389.31%Passed
20242024-12-1822,057,4982,613,24924,95489.32%Passed
20232023-12-0522,229,0581,750,039217,89291.87%Passed
20222022-12-0618,182,4346,061,77729,47874.91%Passed
20212021-12-0825,553,30865,5866,08599.72%Passed
20202020-12-0424,635,190469,3308,69698.1%Passed

Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.

Say-on-pay — history, company's computation

Meeting yearMeeting dateApproval — company's computation
20252025-12-0989.31%a
20242024-12-1889.32%b
20232023-12-0591.87%c

a. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions with respect to any proposal are treated as shares present or represented and entitled to vote on that proposal and thus have the same effect as votes "against." If a broker which is the record holder of shares indicates on a proxy that it does not have discretionary authority to vote on a particular proposal as to such shares, or if shares are not voted in other circumstances in which proxy authority is defective or has been withheld with respect to a particular proposal, these non-voted shares will be counted for quorum purposes and will have the same effect as votes "against," because approval requires an absolute percentage of affirmative votes.”.

b. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions with respect to any proposal are treated as shares present or represented and entitled to vote on that proposal and thus have the same effect as votes "against." If a broker which is the record holder of shares indicates on a proxy that it does not have discretionary authority to vote on a particular proposal as to such shares, or if shares are not voted in other circumstances in which proxy authority is defective or has been withheld with respect to a particular proposal, these non-voted shares will be counted for quorum purposes and will have the same effect as votes "against," because approval requires an absolute percentage of affirmative votes.”.

c. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions with respect to any proposal are treated as shares present or represented and entitled to vote on that proposal and thus have the same effect as votes "against." If a broker which is the record holder of shares indicates on a proxy that it does not have discretionary authority to vote on a particular proposal as to such shares, or if shares are not voted in other circumstances in which proxy authority is defective or has been withheld with respect to a particular proposal, these non-voted shares will be counted for quorum purposes and will have the same effect as votes "against," because approval requires an absolute percentage of affirmative votes.”.

Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.

07

CEO pay ratio

Ratio (CEO : median employee)—
CEO total compensation—
Median employee compensation—
08

Director compensation — fiscal year 2026

DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
Ashutosh RoyEmployee director · Board Chair—————$0
Brett ShockleyIndependent · Audit50,000—————
Gunjan SinhaIndependent · Audit50,000—————
Phiroz P. Darukhanavala, Ph.DIndependent · Lead Independent Director · Audit · Partial-year service60,000—————
09

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer$50,000
Annual equity retainer—
Per board meeting fee—
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)—
Stock ownership guideline—
09b

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2026
Cash retainers and fees$160,000
Equity awards (grant-date value)$0
All other compensation$0
Total cost of the board$160,000

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

10b

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1Egain2026Ashutosh Roy$250,000$0$15,836$37,500$303,336

Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

10d

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at Egain in fiscal 2026?
As disclosed, Rao Chandrasekhar (Senior Vice President, Products and Services) was the highest-paid executive at Egain in fiscal 2026, with total compensation of $408,808.
How did shareholders vote on Egain's executive compensation?
As disclosed, 89.31% of shareholders supported Egain's executive compensation in the latest say-on-pay vote.
How much does Egain spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2026?
As disclosed, Egain reported total board compensation of $160,000 for fiscal 2026.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

11

Source register

Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

#SupportsDocumentFiledAccessionLocation in document
1Section 01, Rao ChandrasekharDEF 14A2026-10-130001104659-26-115474Section “2026 Summary Compensation Table” · page 19. As printed: 408,808. Filing ↗machine: r8 · c14 · span 417387–417394
2Section 01, Eric SmitDEF 14A2026-10-130001104659-26-115474Section “2026 Summary Compensation Table” · page 19. As printed: 396,136. Filing ↗machine: r5 · c14 · span 405839–405846
3Section 01, Ashutosh RoyDEF 14A2026-10-130001104659-26-115474Section “2026 Summary Compensation Table” · page 19. As printed: 303,336. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c14 · span 394621–394628
4Section 07, pay ratio10-K2025-09-120001104659-25-089540Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: —. Filing ↗
5Section 08, Ashutosh RoyDEF 14A2026-10-130001104659-26-115474Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗
6Section 08, Brett ShockleyDEF 14A——Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: —.
7Section 08, Gunjan SinhaDEF 14A——Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: —.
8Section 08, Phiroz P. Darukhanavala, Ph.DDEF 14A——Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: —.
9Section 06, 2025 voteForm 8-K2025-12-110001066194-25-000030Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 89.31% (votes for as printed: 18,121,571). Filing ↗
10Section 06, 2024 voteForm 8-K2024-12-190001558370-24-016389Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 89.32% (votes for as printed: 22,057,498). Filing ↗
11Section 06, 2023 voteForm 8-K2023-12-070001558370-23-019620Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 91.87% (votes for as printed: 22,229,058). Filing ↗
12Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed)Computed——Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1)
13Section 09b board cost (computed)Computed——Cash 160,000 + equity 0 + all other 0 = 160,000, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 160,000
14Egain (subject), Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-10-130001104659-26-115474CEO total compensation as printed in Egain's own proxy. As printed: 303,336. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c14 · span 394621–394628

The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.

You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.