Velarion · Company Intelligence
Compensation Brief
Fiscal year 2025 · Filings through 2026-04-29

John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. (JMBL)

CEO Christopher Bergstrom was paid $1,593,287 in fiscal year 2025, up 14.9% from fiscal year 2024 (SEC filing 0001104659-26-050977 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.

$1,593,287
Christopher Bergstrom total, FY2025
—
CEO pay percentile vs peers
—
CEO-to-median pay ratio
—
Say-on-pay support, latest vote

The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.

You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.

Get John Marshall Bancorp, Inc.'s free Compensation Brief as a PDF, emailed to you now — plus a few short notes on the deeper JMBL reports.

We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

How we handle your data → Privacy

Companies that benchmark against JMBL
1 company names JMBL as a compensation peer

Each company listed discloses JMBL in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named JMBL in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.

01

Summary Compensation Table — fiscal year 2025

Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
Christopher Bergstrom$800,000$550,000$200,017$0$0$0$43,270$1,593,287
President & Chief Executive Officer
Kent Carstater380,000235,00065,00200020,155700,157
Senior Executive Vice President – Chief Financial Officer
Andrew Peden375,000235,00050,01500036,381696,396
Senior Executive Vice President – Chief Banking Officer

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2025 totalFY2024 totalFY2023 totalΔ FY2024→2025
Christopher Bergstrom$1,593,287$1,386,701—+206,586
Kent Carstater700,157608,520—+91,637
Andrew Peden696,396589,698—+106,698

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

02

Equity transactions since the proxy statement was filed

No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.

04

Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2025

ExecutiveAwardShares unvestedExercise priceMarket value unvested
Andrew PedenRSU272—$5,437
Kent CarstaterRSU3,088—61,729
Kent CarstaterRSU2,760—55,172
Andrew PedenRSU2,376—47,496
Christopher BergstromRSU2,300—45,977
Kent CarstaterRSU1,269—25,367
Andrew PedenRSU1,015—20,290
Kent CarstaterRSU726—14,513
Kent CarstaterRSU678—13,553
Andrew PedenRSU582—11,634
Kent CarstaterRSU511—10,215
Andrew PedenRSU205—4,098
Andrew PedenRSU2,576—51,494
Christopher BergstromRSU7,127—142,469
05

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

The Company believes that total compensation for executive officers should vary based on the Company’s performance and return to shareholders, and should be generally consistent relative to performance against the Company’s peers. Base salaries are set based on experience, individual performance, and financial results, while equity awards are used to align management interests with shareholders by focusing on long-term profitability and shareholder value.

CEO STI target (% of salary)—
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultantPearl Meyer & Partners, LLC
Clawback policytrue
Anti-hedgingtrue
Anti-pledgingfalse
08

Director compensation — fiscal year 2025

DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
Philip R. ChaseIndependent · Audit$58,500$40,016$0—$98,516$98,516
O. Leland MahanIndependent · Compensation · Governance and Nominating56,40040,0160—96,41696,416
Michael A. GarciaIndependent · Compensation55,70040,0160—95,71695,716
Subhash K. GargIndependent · Audit (Chair) · Governance and Nominating43,60040,0160—83,61683,616
Philip W. AllinIndependent · Audit · Governance and Nominating (Chair)43,40040,0160—83,41683,416
Michael T. FosterIndependent · Compensation (Chair) · Governance and Nominating41,60040,0160—81,61681,616
Lim P. NguonlyIndependent · Departed during FY10,60000—10,60010,600
Christopher W. BergstromEmployee director—————0
Jonathan C. KinneyIndependent · Board Chair · Compensation——0—0—
09

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer$0
Annual equity retainer—
Per board meeting fee$3,300
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)300 / 300 / 300
Stock ownership guideline—
09b

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2025
Cash retainers and fees$309,800
Equity awards (grant-date value)$240,096
All other compensation$549,896
Total cost of the board$1,099,792

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

10

Disclosed peer group — fiscal year 2025

The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.

Number of
10b

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1John Marshall Bancorp, Inc.2025Christopher Bergstrom$800,000$200,017$0$0$1,593,287

Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. in fiscal 2025?
As disclosed, Christopher Bergstrom, President & Chief Executive Officer, was the highest-paid executive at John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. in fiscal 2025 with total compensation of $1,593,287.
How does John Marshall Bancorp, Inc.'s chief executive pay compare to its disclosed peer group?
The filing shows that the CEO pay percentile of disclosed peers is not disclosed.
What is John Marshall Bancorp, Inc.'s CEO-to-median employee pay ratio?
The filing shows that the CEO-to-median employee pay ratio is not disclosed.
How did shareholders vote on John Marshall Bancorp, Inc.'s executive compensation?
The filing shows that the latest say-on-pay support vote is not disclosed.
How much does John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2025?
As disclosed, total board compensation for fiscal 2025 was $1,099,792.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

11

Source register

Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

#SupportsDocumentFiledAccessionLocation in document
1Section 01, Christopher BergstromDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,593,287. Filing ↗
2Section 01, Kent CarstaterDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 700,157. Filing ↗
3Section 01, Andrew PedenDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 696,396. Filing ↗
4Section 08, Philip R. ChaseDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 98,516. Filing ↗machine: span 313463–313712
5Section 08, O. Leland MahanDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 96,416. Filing ↗machine: span 330709–330958
6Section 08, Michael A. GarciaDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 95,716. Filing ↗machine: span 322088–322337
7Section 08, Subhash K. GargDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 83,616. Filing ↗machine: span 326522–326771
8Section 08, Philip W. AllinDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 83,416. Filing ↗machine: span 309276–309525
9Section 08, Michael T. FosterDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 81,616. Filing ↗machine: span 317899–318148
10Section 08, Lim P. NguonlyDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 10,600. Filing ↗machine: span 331852–332101
11Section 08, Christopher W. BergstromDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗
12Section 08, Jonathan C. KinneyDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: —. Filing ↗
13Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed)Computed——Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1)
14Section 09b board cost (computed)Computed——Cash 309,800 + equity 240,096 + all other 549,896 = 1,099,792, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 1,099,792
15John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. (subject), Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-290001104659-26-050977CEO total compensation as printed in John Marshall Bancorp, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 1,593,287. Filing ↗

Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist

Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat

A confirmation now and one email when Pro opens, and nothing else. Privacy