Companies Calavo Growers
Calavo Growers (CVGW): executive pay, fiscal 2024
Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.
Velarion Intel: free for 3 days, no card →Email me Calavo Growers’s executive pay brief as a PDF
You get it on this page the moment you ask, and a copy by email. Every figure is cited to its filing.
After the PDF, up to three short notes on the deeper reports for this company. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
CEO pay, last three years
- $1,891,334FY2023
- $77,760FY2024
CEO total pay was $77,760 in fiscal 2024, down from $1,891,334 in fiscal 2023.
FY2024: salary $66,160 · bonus $0 · stock awards $0 · option awards $0
Frequently asked questions
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Full detail
Every table from the filing. Open any section.
Summary compensation table
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ronald Araiza | $430,000 | $50,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $43,473 | $523,473 |
| Executive Vice President Fresh Foods | ||||||||
| Michael Browne | 430,000 | 50,000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 35,857 | 515,857 |
| Executive Vice President Sales and Operations | ||||||||
| Shawn Munsell | 430,000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 40,002 | 470,002 |
| Former Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Paul Harrison | 383,105 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 47,273 | 430,378 |
| Former Executive Vice President RFG Prepared | ||||||||
| Lecil Cole | 66,160 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11,600 | 77,760 |
| Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive
| Named executive officer | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | FY2022 total | Δ FY2023→2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ronald Araiza | $523,473 | $209,557 | $681,293 | ↑ +313,916 |
| Michael Browne | 515,857 | 172,755 | — | ↑ +343,102 |
| Shawn Munsell | 470,002 | 714,089 | 543,192 | ↓ −244,087 |
| Paul Harrison | 430,378 | 420,201 | — | ↑ +10,177 |
| Lecil Cole | 77,760 | 1,891,334 | — | ↓ −1,813,574 |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis
The Compensation Committee aims to attract, motivate, and retain talented executive officers by aligning compensation with performance through measurable corporate and individual objectives. The program emphasizes variable 'at-risk' compensation and supports business strategies that enhance long-term shareholder value, while maintaining competitive benchmarking against similarly sized public companies.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Pay Governance LLC |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | true |
Equity grants and outstanding awards
No plan-based awards are on file for this fiscal year.
Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2024
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shawn Munsell | RSU | 5,405 | — | $143,665 |
Director compensation
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kathleen M. HolmgrenIndependent · Compensation (Chair) · Executive | $124,000 | $120,021 | $0 | — | — | $244,021 |
| Steven HollisterIndependent · Compensation | 114,000 | 120,021 | 0 | — | — | 234,021 |
| James HelinNot independent · Compensation · Not standing for re-election | 101,500 | 120,021 | 0 | — | — | 221,521 |
| Michael A. DiGregorioIndependent · Audit (Chair) · Executive | 89,000 | 120,021 | 0 | — | — | 209,021 |
| Adriana MendizabalIndependent · Nom/ESG (Chair) · Audit | 87,500 | 120,021 | 0 | — | — | 207,521 |
| Marc L. BrownIndependent · Audit · Nom/ESG | 82,500 | 120,021 | 0 | — | — | 202,521 |
| Farha AslamIndependent · Executive (Chair) | 81,000 | 120,021 | 0 | — | — | 201,021 |
| J. Link LeavensNot independent · Executive | 74,000 | 120,021 | 0 | — | — | 194,021 |
| B. John LindemanIndependent · Audit · Newly elected | 32,292 | 53,075 | 99,400 | — | — | 184,767 |
Board fee structure and ownership guideline
| Annual cash retainer | $70,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | $120,000 |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 15,000 / 12,000 / 10,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | $320,000 |
Total cost of the board
| Component | FY2024 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $785,792 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $1,013,243 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $1,799,035 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
Peer group, and who names Calavo Growers as a peer
Companies that benchmark against CVGW
7 companies name CVGW as a compensation peer
- BELLRING BRANDS, INC.BRBRFY2025
- BEYOND MEAT, INC.BYNDFY2025
- Limoneira COLMNRFY2025
- Prestige Consumer Healthcare Inc.PBHFY2026
- SANFILIPPO JOHN B & SON INCJBSSFY2026
- Utz Brands, Inc.UTZFY2025
Each company listed discloses CVGW in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named CVGW in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
Disclosed peer group — fiscal year 2024
The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.
Peer reciprocity
The companies Calavo Growers names as compensation peers that name it back in their own disclosed peer groups.
Chief executive pay against the peer group
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BRC Inc. | 2025 | Bryant Riley | $639,292 | $0 | — | $15,298,388 | $16,123,180 |
| 2 | Tootsie Roll Industries, Inc. | 2025 | Ellen Gordon | 999,000 | — | — | — | 7,150,512 |
| 3 | John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc. | 2026 | Jeffrey Sanfilippo | 985,470 | 1,687,431 | 0 | 1,841,863 | 5,326,942 |
| 4 | MGP Ingredients, Inc. | 2025 | Julie Francis | 398,077 | 2,300,008 | 1,655,571 | 384,164 | 4,980,533 |
| 5 | The Vita Coco Company, Inc. | 2025 | Martin Roper | 625,000 | 1,879,998 | 920,002 | 1,114,375 | 4,549,875 |
| 6 | Utz Brands, Inc. | 2025 | Howard Friedman | 968,289 | 2,699,044 | 0 | 609,936 | 4,391,269 |
| 7 | Westrock Coffee Company | 2025 | Scott Ford | 1,200,000 | 1,164,978 | 0 | 1,327,027 | 3,705,413 |
| 8 | Vital Farms, Inc. | 2025 | Russell Diez-Canseco | 749,808 | 2,149,975 | — | 697,500 | 3,616,512 |
| 9 | Mission Produce, Inc. | 2025 | Stephen Barnard | 825,850 | 1,157,891 | 0 | 1,010,880 | 3,050,746 |
| 10 | Limoneira Company | 2025 | Harold Edwards | 719,250 | 499,997 | 0 | 0 | 1,277,951 |
| 11 | Calavo Growers | 2024 | Lecil Cole | 66,160 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 77,760 |
| — | The Duckhorn Portfolio, Inc. | — | — | — | — | — | — | not in coverage universe |
| — | SunOpta Inc. | — | — | — | — | — | — | not in coverage universe |
| — | Bridgford Foods Corporation | — | — | — | — | — | — | not in coverage universe |
Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Incentive design against the same peers
| Company | Annual incentive payout | Long-term vehicle mix | PSU measures include TSR | Compensation consultant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calavo Growers | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Pay Governance LLC |
| BRC Inc. | not disclosed | RSU 100 | not disclosed | Mercer |
| Bridgford Foods Corporation | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc. | 158.1% | RSU 80 · PSU 20 | No | Pearl Meyer & Partners, LLC |
| Limoneira Company | not disclosed | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | No | Pearl Meyer |
| MGP Ingredients, Inc. | 95%% | PSUs 75 · RSUs 25 | No | FW Cook |
| Mission Produce, Inc. | not disclosed | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | not disclosed | Pearl Meyer |
| SunOpta Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| The Duckhorn Portfolio, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| The Vita Coco Company, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Pearl Meyer |
| Tootsie Roll Industries, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Compensation Strategies, Inc. |
| Utz Brands, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | F.W. Cook |
| Vital Farms, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | FW Cook |
| Westrock Coffee Company | not disclosed | PBRSU 100 | not disclosed | KPMG LLP |
Read from each company’s Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company’s filing does not state the item.
Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 2025-04-23 | 11,187,620 | 145,713 | 29,434 | 98.71% | Passed |
| 2024 | 2024-04-24 | 11,825,514 | 410,353 | 514,817 | 96.65% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-04-26 | 13,148,203 | 640,960 | 18,537 | 95.35% | Passed |
| 2022 | 2022-04-27 | 12,273,269 | 502,618 | 51,286 | 96.07% | Passed |
| 2021 | 2021-04-21 | 12,585,828 | 824,855 | 32,879 | 93.85% | Passed |
| 2020 | 2020-04-22 | 12,430,112 | 410,014 | 62,900 | 96.81% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year’s compensation.
Say-on-pay — history, company’s computation
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company’s computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 2025-04-23 | 98.71%a |
| 2024 | 2024-04-24 | 96.65%b |
| 2023 | 2023-04-26 | 95.35%c |
a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
b. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “This is generally referred to as a "broker non-vote." Broker non-votes and abstentions will not affect the outcome of any of the proposals to be voted upon.”.
c. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “This is generally referred to as a "broker non-vote." Broker non-votes and abstentions will not affect the outcome of any of the proposals to be voted upon.”.
Approval percentages are the company’s own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
CEO pay ratio
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | 9 : 1 |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | $77,760 |
| Median employee compensation | $8,729 |
Insider trades since the proxy
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
Sources (34 citations)
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
- Section 01, Ronald Araiza. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 523,473. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Michael Browne. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 515,857. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Shawn Munsell. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 470,002. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Paul Harrison. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 430,378. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Lecil Cole. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Executive Compensation” · page 45. As printed: 77,760. View filing ↗
- Section 07, pay ratio. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 9 : 1. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Kathleen M. Holmgren. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 244,021. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Steven Hollister. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 234,021. View filing ↗
- Section 08, James Helin. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 221,521. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Michael A. DiGregorio. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 209,021. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Adriana Mendizabal. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 207,521. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Marc L. Brown. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 202,521. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Farha Aslam. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 201,021. View filing ↗
- Section 08, J. Link Leavens. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 194,021. View filing ↗
- Section 08, B. John Lindeman. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 184,767. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2025 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2025-04-28. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 98.71% (votes for as printed: 11,187,620). View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2024 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2024-04-26. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 96.65% (votes for as printed: 11,825,514). View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2023 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2023-04-28. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 95.35% (votes for as printed: 13,148,203). View filing ↗
- Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed). Computed. Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.
- Section 09b board cost (computed). Computed. Cash 785,792 + equity 1,013,243 + all other 0 = 1,799,035, summed across the director compensation table rows.
- BRC Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-09. CEO total compensation as printed in BRC Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 16,123,180. View filing ↗
- Tootsie Roll Industries, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-03-27. CEO total compensation as printed in Tootsie Roll Industries, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 7,150,512. View filing ↗
- John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-09-14. CEO total compensation as printed in John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 5,326,942. View filing ↗
- MGP Ingredients, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-09. CEO total compensation as printed in MGP Ingredients, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 4,980,533. View filing ↗
- The Vita Coco Company, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. CEO total compensation as printed in The Vita Coco Company, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 4,549,875. View filing ↗
- Utz Brands, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-03-12. CEO total compensation as printed in Utz Brands, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 4,391,269. View filing ↗
- Westrock Coffee Company, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-23. CEO total compensation as printed in Westrock Coffee Company's own proxy. As printed: 3,705,413. View filing ↗
- Vital Farms, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-27. CEO total compensation as printed in Vital Farms, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 3,616,512. View filing ↗
- Mission Produce, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-02-24. CEO total compensation as printed in Mission Produce, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 3,050,746. View filing ↗
- Limoneira Company, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-02-18. CEO total compensation as printed in Limoneira Company's own proxy. As printed: 1,277,951. View filing ↗
- Calavo Growers (subject), Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2025-02-28. CEO total compensation as printed in Calavo Growers's own proxy. As printed: 77,760. View filing ↗
- Section 10a, Limoneira Company reciprocity. DEF 14A. Limoneira Company names Calavo Growers in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗
- Section 10a, John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc. reciprocity. DEF 14A. John B. Sanfilippo & Son, Inc. names Calavo Growers in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗
- Section 10a, Utz Brands, Inc. reciprocity. DEF 14A. Utz Brands, Inc. names Calavo Growers in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗