Companies Stoke Therapeutics
Stoke Therapeutics (STOK): executive pay, fiscal 2025
Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.
Velarion Intel: free for 3 days, no card →Email me Stoke Therapeutics’s executive pay brief as a PDF
You get it on this page the moment you ask, and a copy by email. Every figure is cited to its filing.
After the PDF, up to three short notes on the deeper reports for this company. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
CEO pay, last three years
- $27,031,655FY2025
CEO total pay was $27,031,655 in fiscal 2025; the brief holds no earlier figure for this CEO.
FY2025: salary $170,625 · bonus $1,197,125 · stock awards $11,590,000 · option awards $14,035,067
Executives and directors
Frequently asked questions
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Full detail
Every table from the filing. Open any section.
Summary compensation table
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ian Smith | $170,625 | $1,197,125 | $11,590,000 | $14,035,067 | $0 | $0 | $38,838 | $27,031,655 |
| Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Edward Kaye | 148,726 | 0 | 1,199,520 | 1,298,138 | 0 | 0 | 587,658 | 3,234,043 |
| Former Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Jason Hoitt | 494,401 | 0 | 333,200 | 1,121,337 | 306,000 | 0 | 15,017 | 2,269,955 |
| Chief Patient Officer | ||||||||
| Thomas Leggett | 496,375 | 0 | 491,470 | 534,881 | 297,825 | 0 | 9,824 | 1,830,375 |
| Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ian Smith | $27,031,655 | — | — | — |
| Edward Kaye | 3,234,043 | 5,612,120 | 3,533,210 | ↓ −2,378,077 |
| Jason Hoitt | 2,269,955 | — | — | — |
| Thomas Leggett | 1,830,375 | 4,520,386 | — | ↓ −2,690,011 |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis
The company aims to align executive compensation with market practices for similar biotechnology companies, focusing on performance-based incentives and long-term equity awards to drive shareholder value.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Aon |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | true |
Equity grants and outstanding awards
No plan-based awards are on file for this fiscal year.
Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2025
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith | Option | 7,639 | 16.41 | — |
| Edward Kaye | Option | 19,250 | 20.34 | — |
| Smith | Option | 24,085 | 4.76 | — |
| Edward Kaye | RSU | 26,250 | — | 833,175 |
| Edward Kaye | Option | 37,500 | 8.33 | — |
| Jason Hoitt | RSU | 40,000 | — | 1,269,600 |
| Edward Kaye | Option | 41,763 | 7.07 | — |
| Jason Hoitt | Option | 43,334 | 14.25 | — |
| Jason Hoitt | Option | 48,750 | 8.33 | — |
| Thomas Leggett | RSU | 59,000 | — | 1,872,660 |
| Edward Kaye | Option | 66,563 | 9.15 | — |
| Edward Kaye | RSU | 71,000 | — | 2,253,540 |
| Thomas Leggett | Option | 72,313 | 8.33 | — |
| Edward Kaye | RSU | 78,750 | — | 2,499,525 |
| Jason Hoitt | Option | 78,750 | 11.7 | — |
| Edward Kaye | Option | 89,438 | 14.17 | — |
| Jason Hoitt | Option | 154,584 | 12.21 | — |
| Edward Kaye | Option | 197,000 | 20.25 | — |
| Smith | Option | 238,420 | 8.33 | — |
| Thomas Leggett | Option | 239,371 | 14.13 | — |
| Smith | RSU | 380,000 | — | 12,061,200 |
| Edward Kaye | Option | 468,382 | 2.19 | — |
| Edward Kaye | Option | 542,801 | 0.6 | — |
| Smith | Option | 570,000 | 30.5 | — |
Director compensation
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arthur O. Tzianabos, Ph.DIndependent · Audit · Compensation (Chair) | $41,657 | — | $0 | — | $737,120 | $778,778 |
| Jennifer C. Burstein, CPAIndependent · Audit (Chair) | 60,000 | — | 223,338 | — | 0 | 283,338 |
| Julie Anne SmithIndependent · Audit · Compensation · Research and Development | 60,000 | — | 223,338 | — | 0 | 283,338 |
| Arthur A. Levin, Ph.DIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance (Chair) · Research and Development | 57,912 | — | 223,338 | — | 0 | 281,249 |
| Garry E. Menzel, Ph.DIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance · Research and Development (Chair) | 57,500 | — | 223,338 | — | 0 | 280,838 |
| Seth L. Harrison, M.DIndependent · Compensation · Research and Development | 47,500 | — | 223,338 | — | 0 | 270,838 |
| Adrian R. Krainer, Ph.DIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance · Research and Development | 45,000 | — | 223,338 | — | 0 | 268,338 |
| Ian F. SmithEmployee director · Board Chair | — | — | — | — | — | 0 |
| Edward M. Kaye, M.DIndependent · Research and Development · Newly elected | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Board fee structure and ownership guideline
| Annual cash retainer | $40,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | $224,000 |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 20,000 / 15,000 / 10,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | — |
Total cost of the board
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $369,569 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $0 |
| All other compensation | $737,120 |
| Total cost of the board | $1,106,689 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
Peer group, and who names Stoke Therapeutics as a peer
Companies that benchmark against STOK
10 companies name STOK as a compensation peer
The list of companies that name STOK as a peer is temporarily unavailable — recheck shortly.
Disclosed peer group — fiscal year 2025
The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.
Chief executive pay against the peer group
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Stoke Therapeutics | 2025 | Ian Smith | $170,625 | $11,590,000 | $14,035,067 | $0 | $27,031,655 |
| 2 | Allogene Therapeutics | 2025 | David Chang | 724,000 | 2,409,537 | 2,588,329 | 400,010 | 6,136,093 |
| 3 | Beam Therapeutics | 2025 | John Evans | 755,000 | 1,513,575 | 2,876,754 | 662,513 | 5,818,525 |
| 4 | Cullinan Therapeutics | 2025 | Nadim Ahmed | 698,476 | 1,697,400 | 2,234,340 | 419,086 | 5,100,006 |
| 5 | Poseida Therapeutics | 2023 | Mark Gergen | 611,667 | 1,442,285 | 1,413,936 | 336,420 | 3,818,018 |
| 6 | Annexon | 2025 | Douglas Love | 670,833 | 0 | 2,522,260 | 371,250 | 3,579,202 |
| 7 | Rocket Pharmaceuticals | 2025 | Gaurav Shah | 671,076 | 806,751 | 1,613,377 | 403,048 | 3,510,241 |
| 8 | Nkarta | 2025 | Paul Hastings | 674,384 | 236,250 | 1,711,957 | 344,947 | 2,978,038 |
| 9 | Fate Therapeutics | 2025 | Bahram Valamehr | 600,000 | 0 | 1,283,868 | 360,000 | 2,248,568 |
| 10 | Lineage Cell Therapeutics | 2025 | Brian Culley | 691,800 | 0 | 882,970 | 518,900 | 2,111,170 |
| 11 | 4D Molecular Therapeutics | 2025 | David Kirn | 667,252 | 0 | 822,750 | 560,597 | 2,051,343 |
| 12 | Alector | 2025 | Arnon Rosenthal | 678,100 | 422,876 | 558,216 | 325,488 | 1,995,018 |
| 13 | Caribou Biosciences | 2025 | Rachel Haurwitz | 667,534 | 192,818 | 654,541 | 0 | 1,840,965 |
| 14 | Arcturus Therapeutics | 2025 | Joseph Payne | 750,000 | 0 | 941,000 | 0 | 1,691,000 |
Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Incentive design against the same peers
| Company | Annual incentive payout | Long-term vehicle mix | PSU measures include TSR | Compensation consultant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stoke Therapeutics | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Aon |
| 4D Molecular Therapeutics | 140% | Options 100 | not disclosed | Radford (part of the Rewards Solutions practice at Aon plc) |
| Alector | 80% | not disclosed | not disclosed | Pearl Meyer & Partners, LLC |
| Allogene Therapeutics | not disclosed | Option 55 · RSU 25 · PSU 20 | not disclosed | Compensia |
| Annexon | 100% of target% | not disclosed | not disclosed | Alpine Rewards |
| Arcturus Therapeutics | not disclosed | Options 100 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| Beam Therapeutics | 135% | Options 66 · RSU 34 | not disclosed | Pay Governance LLC |
| Caribou Biosciences | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Alpine Rewards, LLC |
| Cullinan Therapeutics | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Compensia (through June 2025); Pay Governance (since June 2025) |
| Fate Therapeutics | 100% | Options 100 | No | Aon's Human Capital Solutions practice (Radford) |
| Lineage Cell Therapeutics | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Anderson |
| Nkarta | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Aon Consulting, Inc. |
| Poseida Therapeutics | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Aon Consulting, Inc. |
| Rocket Pharmaceuticals | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Semler Brossy |
Read from each company’s Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company’s filing does not state the item.
Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-06-03 | 36,436,275 | 13,565,293 | 29,415 | 72.87% | Passed |
| 2025 | 2025-06-03 | 30,543,514 | 2,882,907 | 18,715 | 91.38% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-10-24 | 23,393,135 | 8,352,191 | 26,577 | 73.69% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year’s compensation.
Say-on-pay — history, company’s computation
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company’s computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-06-03 | 72.87%a |
| 2025 | 2025-06-03 | 91.38%b |
| 2023 | 2023-10-24 | 73.69%c |
a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
Approval percentages are the company’s own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
CEO pay ratio
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | 6 : 1 |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | — |
| Median employee compensation | — |
Insider trades since the proxy
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
Sources (33 citations)
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
- Section 01, Ian Smith. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Executive Compensation” · page 31. As printed: 27,031,655. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Edward Kaye. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 3,234,043. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Jason Hoitt. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 2,269,955. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Thomas Leggett. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,830,375. View filing ↗
- Section 07, pay ratio. DEF 14A, filed 2023-09-28. Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 6 : 1. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Arthur O. Tzianabos, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 778,778. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Jennifer C. Burstein, CPA. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 283,338. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Julie Anne Smith. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 283,338. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Arthur A. Levin, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 281,249. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Garry E. Menzel, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 280,838. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Seth L. Harrison, M.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 270,838. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Adrian R. Krainer, Ph.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 268,338. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Ian F. Smith. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Edward M. Kaye, M.D. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: —. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2026 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2026-06-04. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 72.87% (votes for as printed: 36,436,275). View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2025 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2025-06-04. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 91.38% (votes for as printed: 30,543,514). View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2023 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2023-10-26. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 73.69% (votes for as printed: 23,393,135). View filing ↗
- Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed). Computed. Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.
- Section 09b board cost (computed). Computed. Cash 369,569 + equity 0 + all other 737,120 = 1,106,689, summed across the director compensation table rows.
- Stoke Therapeutics (subject), Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-22. CEO total compensation as printed in Stoke Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 27,031,655. View filing ↗
- Allogene Therapeutics, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-30. CEO total compensation as printed in Allogene Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 6,136,093. View filing ↗
- Beam Therapeutics, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-17. CEO total compensation as printed in Beam Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 5,818,525. View filing ↗
- Cullinan Therapeutics, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-28. CEO total compensation as printed in Cullinan Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 5,100,006. View filing ↗
- Poseida Therapeutics, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2024-04-25. CEO total compensation as printed in Poseida Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 3,818,018. View filing ↗
- Annexon, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-27. CEO total compensation as printed in Annexon's own proxy. As printed: 3,579,202. View filing ↗
- Rocket Pharmaceuticals, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-06. CEO total compensation as printed in Rocket Pharmaceuticals's own proxy. As printed: 3,510,241. View filing ↗
- Nkarta, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-23. CEO total compensation as printed in Nkarta's own proxy. As printed: 2,978,038. View filing ↗
- Fate Therapeutics, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-24. CEO total compensation as printed in Fate Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 2,248,568. View filing ↗
- Lineage Cell Therapeutics, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. CEO total compensation as printed in Lineage Cell Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 2,111,170. View filing ↗
- 4D Molecular Therapeutics, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-28. CEO total compensation as printed in 4D Molecular Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 2,051,343. View filing ↗
- Alector, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-28. CEO total compensation as printed in Alector's own proxy. As printed: 1,995,018. View filing ↗
- Caribou Biosciences, Section 10b CEO total. DEFR 14A, filed 2026-05-01. CEO total compensation as printed in Caribou Biosciences's own proxy. As printed: 1,840,965. View filing ↗
- Arcturus Therapeutics, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-24. CEO total compensation as printed in Arcturus Therapeutics's own proxy. As printed: 1,691,000. View filing ↗