Companies Forward Air
Forward Air (FWRD): executive pay, fiscal 2025
Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.
Velarion Intel: free for 3 days, no card →Email me Forward Air’s executive pay brief as a PDF
You get it on this page the moment you ask, and a copy by email. Every figure is cited to its filing.
After the PDF, up to three short notes on the deeper reports for this company. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
CEO pay, last three years
- $4,564,259FY2024
- $5,561,309FY2025
CEO total pay was $5,561,309 in fiscal 2025, up from $4,564,259 in fiscal 2024.
FY2025: salary $900,000 · bonus $0 · stock awards $4,037,990 · option awards $0
Executives and directors
Frequently asked questions
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Full detail
Every table from the filing. Open any section.
Summary compensation table
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shawn Stewart | $900,000 | $0 | $4,037,990 | $0 | $617,400 | $0 | $5,919 | $5,561,309 |
| Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Jamie Pierson | 625,000 | 0 | 2,187,990 | 0 | 321,563 | 0 | 5,413 | 3,139,966 |
| Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Jerome Lorrain | 234,176 | 0 | 1,184,250 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 48,336 | 1,466,762 |
| Executive Chairman | ||||||||
| Michael Hance | 500,000 | 0 | 600,000 | 0 | 257,250 | 0 | 6,269 | 1,363,519 |
| Chief Legal Officer and Secretary | ||||||||
| Eric Brandt | 525,000 | 0 | 500,000 | 0 | 261,226 | 0 | 0 | 1,286,226 |
| Chief Commercial Officer | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shawn Stewart | $5,561,309 | $4,564,259 | — | ↑ +997,050 |
| Jamie Pierson | 3,139,966 | 1,708,716 | — | ↑ +1,431,250 |
| Jerome Lorrain | 1,466,762 | — | — | — |
| Michael Hance | 1,363,519 | 1,995,886 | 1,044,012 | ↓ −632,367 |
| Eric Brandt | 1,286,226 | — | — | — |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis
The Compensation Committee has designed our executive compensation program to attract, develop, reward and retain key talent to facilitate achievement of our annual, long-term and strategic goals. One of the Committee's objectives is to align executives' interests with stockholders' interests by creating a pay-for-performance culture at the executive level, with the ultimate goal of increasing stockholder value.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | 100% |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Meridian Compensation Partners, LLC |
| Clawback policy | True |
| Anti-hedging | True |
| Anti-pledging | True |
Equity grants and outstanding awards
Grants of plan-based awards — fiscal year 2025
| Executive | Award | Grant date | Threshold | Target | Granted | Maximum | Grant-date fair value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Hance | PSU | 2025-02-19 | 3,780 | 7,560 | — | 15,120 | $299,981 |
| Eric Brandt | RSU | 2025-02-19 | — | — | 8,028 | — | 249,984 |
| Eric Brandt | PSU | 2025-02-19 | 3,150 | 6,300 | — | 12,600 | 249,984 |
| Jamie Pierson | RSU | 2025-02-19 | — | — | 18,465 | — | 575,000 |
| Jamie Pierson | PSU | 2025-02-19 | 33,333 | 33,333 | — | 33,333 | 1,037,990 |
| Shawn Stewart | RSU | 2025-02-19 | — | — | 38,536 | — | 1,200,011 |
| Jamie Pierson | PSU | 2025-02-19 | 7,246 | 14,491 | — | 28,982 | 575,003 |
| Shawn Stewart | PSU | 2025-02-19 | 33,333 | 33,333 | — | 33,333 | 1,037,990 |
| Michael Hance | RSU | 2025-02-19 | — | — | 9,634 | — | 300,003 |
| Shawn Stewart | PSU | 2025-02-19 | 22,682 | 45,363 | — | 90,726 | 1,800,004 |
| Jerome Lorrain | PSU | 2025-07-11 | 3,523 | 7,046 | — | 14,092 | 300,019 |
| Jerome Lorrain | PSU | 2025-07-11 | 25,000 | 25,000 | — | 25,000 | 684,250 |
| Jerome Lorrain | RSU | 2025-07-11 | — | — | 7,307 | — | 199,993 |
Vehicle mix — grant-date fair value by award type
| Named executive officer | Time-vested (RSU) | Performance-vested (PSU) | Options / SARs | % performance-vested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Hance | $300,003 | $299,981 | $0 | 50.0% |
| Eric Brandt | 249,984 | 249,984 | 0 | 50.0% |
| Jamie Pierson | 575,000 | 1,612,993 | 0 | 73.7% |
| Shawn Stewart | 1,200,011 | 2,837,994 | 0 | 70.3% |
| Jerome Lorrain | 199,993 | 984,269 | 0 | 83.1% |
% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.
Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2025
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Hance | Option | 1,101 | 115.42 | — |
| Eric Brandt | PSU | 6,300 | — | 157,500 |
| Jerome Lorrain | RSU | 7,307 | — | 182,675 |
| Eric Brandt | RSU | 8,028 | — | 200,700 |
| Jamie Pierson | RSU | 31,427 | — | 785,675 |
| Jerome Lorrain | PSU | 32,046 | — | 801,150 |
| Michael Hance | RSU | 37,525 | — | 938,125 |
| Michael Hance | PSU | 46,930 | — | 1,173,250 |
| Jamie Pierson | PSU | 62,917 | — | 1,572,925 |
| Shawn Stewart | RSU | 72,506 | — | 1,812,650 |
| Shawn Stewart | PSU | 155,129 | — | 3,878,225 |
Director compensation
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christine M. GorjancIndependent · Audit (Chair) · Compensation · Corporate Governance and Nominating | $110,549 | $130,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $240,549 |
| Dale W. BoylesIndependent · Audit · Corporate Governance and Nominating | 110,000 | 130,000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 240,000 |
| Robert L. Edwards, JrIndependent · Compensation (Chair) · Not standing for re-election | 100,549 | 130,000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 230,549 |
| Charles L. AndersonIndependent · Compensation · Not standing for re-election | 95,000 | 130,000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 225,000 |
| Paul SvindlandIndependent · Lead Independent Director · Audit · Compensation (Chair) · Corporate Governance and Nominating · Newly elected | 91,566 | 130,000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 221,566 |
| Michael B. HodgeIndependent · Departed during FY | 69,070 | 130,000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 199,070 |
| George S. Mayes, JrIndependent · Departed during FY | 97,912 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 97,912 |
| Ana AmicarellaIndependent · Departed during FY | 46,731 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 46,731 |
| Laurie A. TuckerIndependent · Departed during FY | 46,731 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 46,731 |
| Valerie BonebrakeIndependent · Departed during FY | 42,280 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 42,280 |
| Javier PolitIndependent · Departed during FY | 42,280 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 42,280 |
| Jerome LorrainEmployee director · Board Chair · Executive (Chair) | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
| Shawn StewartEmployee director · Executive | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
Board fee structure and ownership guideline
| Annual cash retainer | $85,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | $130,000 |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 20,000 / 20,000 / 20,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | 5x annual cash retainer ($425,000) |
Total cost of the board
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $852,668 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $780,000 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $1,632,668 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
Peer group, and who names Forward Air as a peer
Companies that benchmark against FWRD
13 companies name FWRD as a compensation peer
- AramarkARMKFY2025
- ARCBEST CORP /TX/ARCBFY2025
- COVENANT LOGISTICS GROUP, INC.CVLGFY2025
- Hub Group, Inc.HUBGFY2024
- HUNT J B TRANSPORT SERVICES INCJBHTFY2025
- KIRBY CORPKEXFY2025
- Matson, Inc.MATXFY2025
- RADIANT LOGISTICS, INCRLGTFY2026
- REPUBLIC AIRWAYS HOLDINGS INC.RJETFY2025
- RYDER SYSTEM INCRFY2025
- SAIA INCSAIAFY2025
- SKYWEST INCSKYWFY2025
Each company listed discloses FWRD in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named FWRD in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
Chief executive pay against the peer group
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Forward Air | 2025 | Shawn Stewart | $900,000 | $4,037,990 | $0 | $617,400 | $5,561,309 |
Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-06-17 | 24,784,242 | 1,130,305 | 136,740 | 95.64% | Passed |
| 2024 | 2024-06-03 | 18,037,475 | 4,696,943 | 1,349,003 | 79.34% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-05-09 | 22,571,858 | 1,913,388 | 7,908 | 92.19% | Passed |
| 2022 | 2022-05-10 | 24,603,827 | 213,267 | 7,075 | 99.11% | Passed |
| 2021 | 2021-05-19 | 25,519,673 | 146,658 | 23,782 | 99.34% | Passed |
| 2020 | 2020-05-12 | 25,180,432 | 249,489 | 11,576 | 99.02% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year’s compensation.
Say-on-pay — history, company’s computation
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company’s computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-06-17 | 95.64%a |
| 2024 | 2024-06-03 | 79.34%b |
| 2023 | 2023-05-09 | 92.19%c |
a. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions and broker non-votes are not considered as votes cast and will have no effect on the approval of these proposals, other than for purposes of determining if a quorum is present.”.
b. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions and broker non-votes will have no effect on the vote on these proposals.”.
c. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Abstentions and broker non-votes will have no effect on the vote.”.
Approval percentages are the company’s own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
CEO pay ratio
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | 140.2 : 1 |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | $5,561,309 |
| Median employee compensation | $39,663 |
Insider trades since the proxy
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
Sources (39 citations)
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
- Section 01, Shawn Stewart. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 42. As printed: 5,561,309. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Jamie Pierson. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 3,139,966. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Jerome Lorrain. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 1,466,762. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Michael Hance. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 1,363,519. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Eric Brandt. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 1,286,226. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Michael Hance PSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Eric Brandt RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Eric Brandt PSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Jamie Pierson RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Jamie Pierson PSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Shawn Stewart RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Jamie Pierson PSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Shawn Stewart PSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Michael Hance RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Shawn Stewart PSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Jerome Lorrain PSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Jerome Lorrain PSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Jerome Lorrain RSU. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 07, pay ratio. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 140.2 : 1. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Christine M. Gorjanc. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 240,549. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Dale W. Boyles. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 240,000. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Robert L. Edwards, Jr. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 230,549. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Charles L. Anderson. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 225,000. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Paul Svindland. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 221,566. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Michael B. Hodge. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 199,070. View filing ↗
- Section 08, George S. Mayes, Jr. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 97,912. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Ana Amicarella. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 46,731. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Laurie A. Tucker. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 46,731. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Valerie Bonebrake. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 42,280. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Javier Polit. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 42,280. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Jerome Lorrain. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Shawn Stewart. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2026 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2026-06-17. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 95.64% (votes for as printed: 24,784,242). View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2024 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2024-06-04. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 79.34% (votes for as printed: 18,037,475). View filing ↗
- Section 06, 2023 vote. Form 8-K, filed 2023-05-11. Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 92.19% (votes for as printed: 22,571,858). View filing ↗
- Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed). Computed. Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.
- Section 03b vehicle mix (computed). Computed. RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).
- Section 09b board cost (computed). Computed. Cash 852,668 + equity 780,000 + all other 0 = 1,632,668, summed across the director compensation table rows.
- Forward Air (subject), Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-29. CEO total compensation as printed in Forward Air's own proxy. As printed: 5,561,309. View filing ↗