Companies Masonite International Corp
Masonite International (MSON): executive pay, fiscal 2023
Free brief. Every figure links to the company’s own filing.
Masonite International Corp no longer files a proxy statement; its last pay data is FY2023.
CEO pay, last three years
- $4,897,217FY2021
- $7,897,414FY2022
- $7,035,842FY2023
CEO total pay was $7,035,842 in fiscal 2023, down from $7,897,414 in fiscal 2022.
FY2023: salary $971,539 · bonus $886,500 · stock awards $3,734,910 · option awards $414,995
Frequently asked questions
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Full detail
Every table from the filing. Open any section.
Summary compensation table
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard Heckes | $971,539 | $886,500 | $3,734,910 | $414,995 | $994,062 | $0 | $33,836 | $7,035,842 |
| President and Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Russell Tiejema | 574,231 | 326,250 | 899,956 | 99,997 | 365,835 | 0 | 25,649 | 2,291,918 |
| Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Christopher Ball | 570,192 | 73,485 | 809,987 | 89,981 | 376,697 | 0 | 23,452 | 1,943,794 |
| President, Global Residential | ||||||||
| Randal White | 494,231 | 243,750 | 494,962 | 54,974 | 273,325 | 0 | 25,222 | 1,586,464 |
| Senior Vice President, Global Operations and Supply Chain | ||||||||
| Robert Paxton | 469,231 | 236,422 | 539,903 | 59,998 | 239,685 | 0 | 25,356 | 1,570,595 |
| Senior Vice President, Human Resources | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive
| Named executive officer | FY2023 total | FY2022 total | FY2021 total | Δ FY2022→2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard Heckes | $7,035,842 | $7,897,414 | $4,897,217 | ↓ −861,572 |
| Russell Tiejema | 2,291,918 | 3,362,667 | 1,599,082 | ↓ −1,070,749 |
| Christopher Ball | 1,943,794 | 3,062,680 | 457,588 | ↓ −1,118,886 |
| Randal White | 1,586,464 | 2,304,279 | 1,144,316 | ↓ −717,815 |
| Robert Paxton | 1,570,595 | 2,281,855 | 1,079,727 | ↓ −711,260 |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis
The executive compensation program is based on a 'pay for performance' philosophy designed to attract, engage, and retain high-caliber talent, reward performance, and align the interests of executives with those of shareholders. The program provides competitive base salaries, annual cash incentive bonuses, and a combination of performance-based and time-based equity awards to focus on delivering short- and long-term results.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Frederic W. Cook & Co., Inc. |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | true |
Equity grants and outstanding awards
Grants of plan-based awards — fiscal year 2023
| Executive | Award | Grant date | Threshold | Target | Granted | Maximum | Grant-date fair value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christopher Ball | PSU | 2023-02-27 | 3,034 | 6,068 | — | 12,136 | $539,991 |
| Christopher Ball | RSU | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 3,034 | — | 269,996 |
| Howard Heckes | PSU | 2023-02-27 | 13,990 | 27,980 | — | 55,960 | 2,489,940 |
| Howard Heckes | RSU | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 13,990 | — | 1,244,970 |
| Howard Heckes | SAR | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 12,720 | — | 414,995 |
| Robert Paxton | PSU | 2023-02-27 | 2,023 | 4,045 | — | 8,090 | 359,965 |
| Robert Paxton | RSU | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 2,022 | — | 179,938 |
| Russell Tiejema | PSU | 2023-02-27 | 3,371 | 6,742 | — | 13,484 | 599,971 |
| Christopher Ball | SAR | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 2,758 | — | 89,981 |
| Robert Paxton | SAR | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 1,839 | — | 59,998 |
| Russell Tiejema | RSU | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 3,371 | — | 299,985 |
| Russell Tiejema | SAR | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 3,065 | — | 99,997 |
| Randal White | PSU | 2023-02-27 | 1,854 | 3,708 | — | 7,416 | 329,975 |
| Randal White | RSU | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 1,854 | — | 164,987 |
| Randal White | SAR | 2023-02-27 | — | — | 1,685 | — | 54,974 |
Vehicle mix — grant-date fair value by award type
| Named executive officer | Time-vested (RSU) | Performance-vested (PSU) | Options / SARs | % performance-vested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christopher Ball | $269,996 | $539,991 | $89,981 | 60.0% |
| Howard Heckes | 1,244,970 | 2,489,940 | 414,995 | 60.0% |
| Robert Paxton | 179,938 | 359,965 | 59,998 | 60.0% |
| Russell Tiejema | 299,985 | 599,971 | 99,997 | 60.0% |
| Randal White | 164,987 | 329,975 | 54,974 | 60.0% |
% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.
Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2023
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robert Paxton | Option | 566 | 108 | — |
| Randal White | Option | 600 | 108 | — |
| Russell Tiejema | Option | 954 | 108 | — |
| Randal White | Option | 1,390 | 89 | — |
| Robert Paxton | Option | 1,390 | 89 | — |
| Randal White | Option | 1,685 | 89 | — |
| Robert Paxton | PSU | 1,736 | — | 146,970 |
| Randal White | PSU | 1,839 | — | 155,690 |
| Robert Paxton | Option | 1,839 | 89 | — |
| Christopher Ball | Option | 2,085 | 89 | — |
| Russell Tiejema | Option | 2,274 | 89 | — |
| Christopher Ball | Option | 2,758 | 89 | — |
| Russell Tiejema | PSU | 2,926 | — | 247,715 |
| Russell Tiejema | Option | 3,065 | 89 | — |
| Randal White | RSU | 3,571 | — | 302,321 |
| Randal White | PSU | 3,708 | — | 313,919 |
| Robert Paxton | RSU | 3,713 | — | 314,343 |
| Randal White | PSU | 3,724 | — | 315,274 |
| Robert Paxton | PSU | 3,724 | — | 315,274 |
| Howard Heckes | Option | 3,935 | 108 | — |
| Robert Paxton | PSU | 4,045 | — | 342,450 |
| Christopher Ball | PSU | 5,586 | — | 472,911 |
| Christopher Ball | RSU | 5,611 | — | 475,027 |
| Christopher Ball | PSU | 6,068 | — | 513,717 |
| Russell Tiejema | PSU | 6,094 | — | 515,918 |
| Russell Tiejema | RSU | 6,159 | — | 521,421 |
| Russell Tiejema | PSU | 6,742 | — | 570,778 |
| Howard Heckes | Option | 8,591 | 89 | — |
| Christopher Ball | PSU | 11,323 | — | 958,605 |
| Randal White | PSU | 11,323 | — | 958,605 |
| Robert Paxton | PSU | 11,323 | — | 958,605 |
| Howard Heckes | PSU | 12,078 | — | 1,022,523 |
| Howard Heckes | Option | 12,720 | 89 | — |
| Russell Tiejema | PSU | 16,985 | — | 1,437,950 |
| Howard Heckes | PSU | 23,022 | — | 1,949,043 |
| Howard Heckes | RSU | 24,782 | — | 2,098,044 |
| Howard Heckes | PSU | 27,980 | — | 2,368,787 |
| Howard Heckes | PSU | 28,309 | — | 2,396,640 |
Director compensation
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robert J. ByrneIndependent · Board Chair | $170,000 | $160,000 | — | — | — | $330,000 |
| Jonathan F. FosterIndependent · Audit (Chair) | 120,000 | 110,000 | — | — | — | 230,000 |
| Jody L. BilneyIndependent · Sustainability and Governance (Chair) | 117,500 | 110,000 | — | — | — | 227,500 |
| Francis M. ScriccoIndependent · Human Resources and Compensation (Chair) | 117,500 | 110,000 | — | — | — | 227,500 |
| Jay I. SteinfeldIndependent | 100,000 | 110,000 | — | — | — | 210,000 |
| Peter R. DachowskiIndependent · Human Resources and Compensation | 100,000 | 110,000 | — | — | — | 210,000 |
| Daphne E. JonesIndependent | 100,000 | 110,000 | — | — | — | 210,000 |
| Barry A. RuffaloIndependent · Human Resources and Compensation | 100,000 | 110,000 | — | — | — | 210,000 |
| William S. OesterleIndependent · Not standing for re-election | 36,264 | 0 | — | — | — | 36,264 |
Board fee structure and ownership guideline
| Annual cash retainer | $100,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | $110,000 |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 20,000 / 17,500 / 17,500 |
| Stock ownership guideline | — |
Total cost of the board
| Component | FY2023 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $961,264 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $930,000 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $1,891,264 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
Peer group, and who names Masonite International as a peer
Companies that benchmark against MSON
No companies currently name MSON as a compensation peer in their most recent disclosure.
This is the complete answer, not a partial one — the list is never padded.
Disclosed peer group — fiscal year 2023
The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.
Chief executive pay against the peer group
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company’s own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Griffon Corp. | 2025 | Ronald Kramer | $1,286,463 | $6,427,488 | $0 | $7,881,704 | $17,515,575 |
| 2 | Fortune Brands Innovations, Inc. | 2025 | Nicholas Fink | 1,275,000 | 6,375,002 | 2,124,998 | 249,900 | 10,476,545 |
| 3 | Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc. | 2026 | D. Scott Barbour | 1,050,000 | 5,309,811 | 1,143,557 | 2,216,550 | 9,780,935 |
| 4 | Armstrong World Industries, Inc. | 2025 | Victor Grizzle | 1,000,000 | 5,599,532 | 0 | 1,584,000 | 8,537,000 |
| 5 | Lennox International Inc. | 2025 | Alok Maskara | 1,176,250 | 4,500,496 | 1,149,880 | 1,329,604 | 8,434,155 |
| 6 | Simpson Manufacturing Co., Inc. | 2025 | Michael Olosky | 950,000 | 5,383,384 | 0 | 1,389,713 | 7,768,355 |
| 7 | Masonite International Corp | 2023 | Howard Heckes | 971,539 | 3,734,910 | 414,995 | 994,062 | 7,035,842 |
| 8 | Jeld-WEN Holdings, Inc. | 2025 | William Christensen | 1,060,784 | 2,300,890 | 2,284,066 | 621,473 | 6,283,343 |
| 9 | Apogee Enterprises, Inc. | 2026 | Ty Silberhorn | 627,308 | 2,283,419 | 0 | 1,208,500 | 6,075,286 |
| 10 | Louisiana-Pacific Corp. | 2025 | Jason Ringblom | 737,217 | 3,434,278 | 0 | 1,040,122 | 5,393,288 |
| 11 | A.O. Smith Corporation | 2025 | Stephen Shafer | 965,750 | 2,678,044 | 0 | 1,068,000 | 4,960,450 |
| 12 | American Woodmark Corporation | 2025 | M. Scott Culbreth | 957,577 | 3,208,446 | 0 | 696,350 | 4,886,047 |
| 13 | Gibraltar Industries, Inc. | 2025 | William Bosway | 908,269 | 3,202,440 | 0 | 274,500 | 4,731,001 |
| 14 | Quanex Building Products Corporation | 2025 | George Wilson | 950,000 | 1,853,425 | 0 | 737,578 | 3,635,424 |
| — | UFP Industries, Inc. | — | — | — | — | — | — | not in coverage universe |
Each peer’s compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer’s figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Incentive design against the same peers
| Company | Annual incentive payout | Long-term vehicle mix | PSU measures include TSR | Compensation consultant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Masonite International Corp | not disclosed | PSU 60 · RSU 30 · SAR 10 | not disclosed | Frederic W. Cook & Co., Inc. |
| A.O. Smith Corporation | 98.3% | RSU 50 · Cash LTI 35 · PSU 15 | No | Willis Towers Watson (WTW) |
| Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc. | not disclosed | PRSU 60 · RSU 20 · Option 20 | not disclosed | WTW |
| American Woodmark Corporation | 60.75% | RSU 50 · PSU 50 | No | Meridian Compensation Partners |
| Apogee Enterprises, Inc. | not disclosed | RSU 50 · PSU 50 | No | Meridian Compensation Partners, LLC (current); Willis Towers Watson (through September 2025) |
| Armstrong World Industries, Inc. | not disclosed | RSU 50 · PRSU 50 | not disclosed | Aon |
| Fortune Brands Innovations, Inc. | 14.0% | PSU 50 · RSU 25 · Options 25 | No | Willis Towers Watson |
| Gibraltar Industries, Inc. | 25% | PSU 64 · RSU 36 | No | WTW |
| Griffon Corp. | not disclosed | PRSU 100 | not disclosed | Gallagher Human Resources and Compensation Consulting |
| Jeld-WEN Holdings, Inc. | 42% | PSU 50 · RSU 25 · Options 25 | No | Pay Governance |
| Lennox International Inc. | 90% | PSU 50 · RSU 30 · SAR 20 | No | Meridian Compensation Partners |
| Louisiana-Pacific Corp. | 135% | PSU 60 · RSU 40 | No | FW Cook |
| Quanex Building Products Corporation | not disclosed | Performance Shares 40 · Restricted Stock 30 · PRSU 30 | not disclosed | Frederic W. Cook & Co., Inc. |
| Simpson Manufacturing Co., Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| UFP Industries, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Read from each company’s Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company’s filing does not state the item.
Say-on-pay history and pay ratio
No say-on-pay vote is on file for this company.
CEO pay ratio
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | 151 : 1 |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | $7,035,842 |
| Median employee compensation | $46,688 |
Insider trades since the proxy
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
Sources (47 citations)
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
- Section 01, Howard Heckes. 10-K/A, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · page 21. As printed: 7,035,842. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Russell Tiejema. 10-K/A, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · page 21. As printed: 2,291,918. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Christopher Ball. 10-K/A, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · page 21. As printed: 1,943,794. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Randal White. 10-K/A, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · page 21. As printed: 1,586,464. View filing ↗
- Section 01, Robert Paxton. 10-K/A, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · page 21. As printed: 1,570,595. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Christopher Ball PSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Christopher Ball RSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Howard Heckes PSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Howard Heckes RSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Howard Heckes SAR. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Robert Paxton PSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Robert Paxton RSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Russell Tiejema PSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Christopher Ball SAR. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Robert Paxton SAR. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Russell Tiejema RSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Russell Tiejema SAR. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Randal White PSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Randal White RSU. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 03, Randal White SAR. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. View filing ↗
- Section 07, pay ratio. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 151 : 1. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Robert J. Byrne. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 330,000. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Jonathan F. Foster. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 230,000. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Jody L. Bilney. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 227,500. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Francis M. Scricco. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 227,500. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Jay I. Steinfeld. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 210,000. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Peter R. Dachowski. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 210,000. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Daphne E. Jones. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 210,000. View filing ↗
- Section 08, Barry A. Ruffalo. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 210,000. View filing ↗
- Section 08, William S. Oesterle. 10-K, filed 2024-04-26. Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 36,264. View filing ↗
- Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed). Computed. Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.
- Section 03b vehicle mix (computed). Computed. RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).
- Section 09b board cost (computed). Computed. Cash 961,264 + equity 930,000 + all other 0 = 1,891,264, summed across the director compensation table rows.
- Griffon Corp., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-01-09. CEO total compensation as printed in Griffon Corp.'s own proxy. As printed: 17,515,575. View filing ↗
- Fortune Brands Innovations, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-03-30. CEO total compensation as printed in Fortune Brands Innovations, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 10,476,545. View filing ↗
- Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-06-03. CEO total compensation as printed in Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 9,780,935. View filing ↗
- Armstrong World Industries, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-30. CEO total compensation as printed in Armstrong World Industries, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 8,537,000. View filing ↗
- Lennox International Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-08. CEO total compensation as printed in Lennox International Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 8,434,155. View filing ↗
- Simpson Manufacturing Co., Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-03-24. CEO total compensation as printed in Simpson Manufacturing Co., Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 7,768,355. View filing ↗
- Masonite International Corp (subject), Section 10b CEO total. 10-K/A, filed 2024-04-26. CEO total compensation as printed in Masonite International Corp's own proxy. As printed: 7,035,842. View filing ↗
- Jeld-WEN Holdings, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-03-12. CEO total compensation as printed in Jeld-WEN Holdings, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 6,283,343. View filing ↗
- Apogee Enterprises, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-05-12. CEO total compensation as printed in Apogee Enterprises, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 6,075,286. View filing ↗
- Louisiana-Pacific Corp., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-03-20. CEO total compensation as printed in Louisiana-Pacific Corp.'s own proxy. As printed: 5,393,288. View filing ↗
- A.O. Smith Corporation, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-03-04. CEO total compensation as printed in A.O. Smith Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 4,960,450. View filing ↗
- American Woodmark Corporation, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2025-06-25. CEO total compensation as printed in American Woodmark Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 4,886,047. View filing ↗
- Gibraltar Industries, Inc., Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-04-06. CEO total compensation as printed in Gibraltar Industries, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 4,731,001. View filing ↗
- Quanex Building Products Corporation, Section 10b CEO total. DEF 14A, filed 2026-01-28. CEO total compensation as printed in Quanex Building Products Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 3,635,424. View filing ↗