CEO M. Keith Waddell was paid $6,073,178 in fiscal year 2025, ↓ down 9.3% from fiscal year 2024 (SEC filing 0000315213-26-000010 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.
$6,073,178 ↓ M. Keith Waddell total, FY2025 | — CEO pay percentile vs peers | 147:1 CEO-to-median pay ratio | 97.38% Say-on-pay support, latest vote |
Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist
Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year
Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.
RHI's next annual pay disclosure, estimated April 9, 2027.est. Filing ↗
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M. Keith Waddell | $500,000 | $0 | $4,532,948 | $0 | $839,330 | $0 | $200,900 | $6,073,178 |
| President and Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Paul Gentzkow | 450,000 | 0 | 3,840,976 | 0 | 755,396 | 0 | 180,809 | 5,227,181 |
| President and Chief Executive Officer, Talent Solutions | ||||||||
| Joseph Tarantino | 850,000 | 0 | 2,089,968 | 0 | 943,287 | 0 | 268,993 | 4,152,248 |
| President and Chief Executive Officer, Protiviti | ||||||||
| Michael Buckley | 350,000 | 0 | 1,499,994 | 0 | 444,953 | 0 | 119,243 | 2,414,190 |
| Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Harold Messmer, Jr. | 105,000 | 0 | 1,150,989 | 0 | 231,495 | 0 | 0 | 1,487,484 |
| Chairman of the Board | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| M. Keith Waddell | $6,073,178 | $6,692,263 | $7,475,310 | ↓ −619,085 |
| Paul Gentzkow | 5,227,181 | 5,784,996 | 6,489,782 | ↓ −557,815 |
| Joseph Tarantino | 4,152,248 | 5,199,532 | 4,813,714 | ↓ −1,047,284 |
| Michael Buckley | 2,414,190 | 2,742,275 | 3,157,410 | ↓ −328,085 |
| Harold Messmer, Jr. | 1,487,484 | 1,636,776 | — | ↓ −149,292 |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
You have just read Robert Half's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper RHI reports.
We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
How we handle your data → Privacy
Each company listed discloses RHI in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named RHI in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.
| Director | Role | FY2025 total |
|---|---|---|
| Dirk A. Kempthorne | Independent Director | $343,120 |
| Frederick A. Richman | Independent Director | $359,856 |
| Jana L. Barsten | Independent Director | $347,634 |
| Julia L. Coronado | Lead Independent Director | $343,120 |
| Marc H. Morial | Independent Director | $333,120 |
| Marnie H. Wilking | Independent Director | $333,120 |
| Robert J. Pace | Independent Director | $348,120 |
Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2025 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.
| Insider | Role | Transaction date | Code | Shares | Price | Value | Security | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jana L. Barsten | Director | 2026-05-13 | A | 10,803 | — | — | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Marc H. Morial | Director | 2026-05-13 | A | 10,803 | — | — | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Frederick A. Richman | Director | 2026-05-13 | A | 10,803 | — | — | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Marnie H. Wilking | Director | 2026-05-13 | A | 10,803 | — | — | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Robert J. Pace | Director | 2026-05-13 | A | 10,803 | — | — | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Julia L. Coronado | Director | 2026-05-13 | A | 10,803 | — | — | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.
| Executive | Award | Grant date | Threshold | Target | Granted | Maximum | Grant-date fair value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paul Gentzkow | PSU | 2025-03-25 | — | 71,888 | — | 134,790 | $3,979,720 |
| Harold Messmer, Jr. | PSU | 2025-03-25 | — | 21,542 | — | 40,391 | 1,192,565 |
| M. Keith Waddell | PSU | 2025-03-25 | — | 84,839 | — | 159,073 | 4,696,687 |
| Michael Buckley | PSU | 2025-03-25 | — | 28,074 | — | 52,638 | 1,554,177 |
| Joseph Tarantino | PSU | 2025-03-25 | — | 39,116 | — | 73,342 | 2,165,462 |
| Named executive officer | Time-vested (RSU) | Performance-vested (PSU) | Options / SARs | % performance-vested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paul Gentzkow | $0 | $3,979,720 | $0 | 100.0% |
| Harold Messmer, Jr. | 0 | 1,192,565 | 0 | 100.0% |
| M. Keith Waddell | 0 | 4,696,687 | 0 | 100.0% |
| Michael Buckley | 0 | 1,554,177 | 0 | 100.0% |
| Joseph Tarantino | 0 | 2,165,462 | 0 | 100.0% |
% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| M. Keith Waddell | PSU | 267,236 | — | $7,258,130 |
| Paul Gentzkow | PSU | 226,456 | — | 6,150,545 |
| Joseph Tarantino | PSU | 123,211 | — | 3,346,411 |
| Michael Buckley | PSU | 88,428 | — | 2,401,704 |
| Harold Messmer, Jr. | PSU | 67,875 | — | 1,843,485 |
| M. Keith Waddell | RSU | 62,658 | — | 1,701,791 |
| Paul Gentzkow | RSU | 53,102 | — | 1,442,250 |
| Michael Buckley | RSU | 20,733 | — | 563,108 |
| Joseph Tarantino | RSU | 17,778 | — | 482,850 |
| Harold Messmer, Jr. | RSU | 15,921 | — | 432,414 |
The Company's executive compensation program is designed to align a substantial majority of executive pay with Company performance and long-term stockholder outcomes while providing competitive opportunities to attract, retain, and motivate executives. The program emphasizes variable compensation over fixed pay, with base salaries kept relatively modest and the vast majority of compensation contingent on performance.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | 284% |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Frederic W. Cook & Co., Inc. (FW Cook) |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | true |
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-05-13 | 82,981,010 | 2,236,438 | 453,030 | 97.38% | Passed |
| 2025 | 2025-05-14 | 88,809,259 | 1,937,140 | 65,065 | 97.87% | Passed |
| 2024 | 2024-05-15 | 87,290,580 | 3,591,016 | 84,783 | 96.05% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-05-17 | 87,435,951 | 4,191,897 | 239,589 | 95.43% | Passed |
| 2022 | 2022-05-18 | 87,624,513 | 6,315,676 | 290,924 | 93.28% | Passed |
| 2021 | 2021-05-19 | 91,557,847 | 1,961,988 | 128,596 | 97.9% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company's computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-05-13 | 97.38%a |
| 2025 | 2025-05-14 | 97.87%b |
| 2024 | 2024-05-15 | 96.05%c |
a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | 147 : 1 |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | $6,073,178 |
| Median employee compensation | $42,545 |
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frederick A. RichmanIndependent · Audit · Compensation · Nominating and Governance (Chair) · Executive (Chair) | $80,236 | $279,620 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $359,856 |
| Robert J. PaceIndependent · Compensation (Chair) · Nominating and Governance · Executive | 68,500 | 279,620 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 348,120 |
| Jana L. BarstenIndependent · Audit (Chair) · Nominating and Governance | 58,014 | 279,620 | 0 | 0 | 10,000 | 347,634 |
| Dirk A. KempthorneIndependent · Compensation · Nominating and Governance | 53,500 | 279,620 | 0 | 0 | 10,000 | 343,120 |
| Julia L. CoronadoIndependent · Audit · Nominating and Governance | 53,500 | 279,620 | 0 | 0 | 10,000 | 343,120 |
| Marc H. MorialIndependent · Audit · Nominating and Governance | 53,500 | 279,620 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 333,120 |
| Marnie H. WilkingIndependent · Audit · Nominating and Governance | 53,500 | 279,620 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 333,120 |
| M. Keith WaddellEmployee director · Executive | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
| Harold M. Messmer JrNot independent · Board Chair · Executive | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
| Annual cash retainer | $40,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | $279,588 |
| Per board meeting fee | $1,500 |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 15,000 / 15,000 / 15,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | director will be required to own the requisite number of shares required under the policy within five years of his or her election |
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $420,750 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $1,957,340 |
| All other compensation | $30,000 |
| Total cost of the board | $2,408,090 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Robert Half | 2025 | M. Keith Waddell | $500,000 | $4,532,948 | $0 | $839,330 | $6,073,178 |
Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
| # | Supports | Document | Filed | Accession | Location in document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Section 01, M. Keith Waddell | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Compensation Tables” · page 39. As printed: 6,073,178. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c21 · span 600884–600893 |
| 2 | Section 01, Paul Gentzkow | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Compensation Tables” · page 39. As printed: 5,227,181. Filing ↗machine: r14 · c21 · span 614008–614017 |
| 3 | Section 01, Joseph Tarantino | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Compensation Tables” · page 39. As printed: 4,152,248. Filing ↗machine: r19 · c21 · span 620569–620578 |
| 4 | Section 01, Michael Buckley | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Compensation Tables” · page 39. As printed: 2,414,190. Filing ↗machine: r9 · c21 · span 607445–607454 |
| 5 | Section 01, Harold Messmer, Jr. | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Compensation Tables” · page 39. As printed: 1,487,484. Filing ↗ |
| 6 | Section 03, Paul Gentzkow PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 697232–697241 |
| 7 | Section 03, Harold Messmer, Jr. PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 702207–702216 |
| 8 | Section 03, M. Keith Waddell PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 692470–692479 |
| 9 | Section 03, Michael Buckley PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 694906–694915 |
| 10 | Section 03, Joseph Tarantino PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 699560–699569 |
| 11 | Section 07, pay ratio | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 147 : 1. Filing ↗machine: span 849046–849049 |
| 12 | Section 08, Frederick A. Richman | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 359,856. Filing ↗machine: span 985516–985635 |
| 13 | Section 08, Robert J. Pace | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 348,120. Filing ↗machine: span 984200–984319 |
| 14 | Section 08, Jana L. Barsten | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 347,634. Filing ↗machine: span 978986–979105 |
| 15 | Section 08, Dirk A. Kempthorne | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 343,120. Filing ↗machine: span 981580–981699 |
| 16 | Section 08, Julia L. Coronado | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 343,120. Filing ↗machine: span 980267–980386 |
| 17 | Section 08, Marc H. Morial | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 333,120. Filing ↗machine: span 982890–983009 |
| 18 | Section 08, Marnie H. Wilking | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 333,120. Filing ↗machine: span 986989–987108 |
| 19 | Section 08, M. Keith Waddell | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗ |
| 20 | Section 08, Harold M. Messmer Jr | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗ |
| 21 | Section 02, Jana L. Barsten 2026-05-13 | Form 4 | 2026-05-14 | 0002000900-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 22 | Section 02, Marc H. Morial 2026-05-13 | Form 4 | 2026-05-14 | 0001576125-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 23 | Section 02, Frederick A. Richman 2026-05-13 | Form 4 | 2026-05-14 | 0001441420-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 24 | Section 02, Marnie H. Wilking 2026-05-13 | Form 4 | 2026-05-14 | 0001941481-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 25 | Section 02, Robert J. Pace 2026-05-13 | Form 4 | 2026-05-14 | 0001455856-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 26 | Section 02, Julia L. Coronado 2026-05-13 | Form 4 | 2026-05-14 | 0001693839-26-000002 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 27 | Section 06, 2026 vote | Form 8-K | 2026-05-14 | 0000315213-26-000029 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 97.38% (votes for as printed: 82,981,010). Filing ↗ |
| 28 | Section 06, 2025 vote | Form 8-K | 2025-05-15 | 0000315213-25-000038 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 97.87% (votes for as printed: 88,809,259). Filing ↗ |
| 29 | Section 06, 2024 vote | Form 8-K | 2024-05-16 | 0000315213-24-000062 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 96.05% (votes for as printed: 87,290,580). Filing ↗ |
| 30 | Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed) | Computed | — | — | Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1) |
| 31 | Section 03b vehicle mix (computed) | Computed | — | — | RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).machine: formula: sums + PSU ratio |
| 32 | Section 09b board cost (computed) | Computed | — | — | Cash 420,750 + equity 1,957,340 + all other 30,000 = 2,408,090, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 2,408,090 |
| 33 | Robert Half (subject), Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000315213-26-000010 | CEO total compensation as printed in Robert Half's own proxy. As printed: 6,073,178. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c21 · span 600884–600893 |
The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.