CEO Jonathan Weis was paid $6,756,936 in fiscal year 2025, ↓ down 27.2% from fiscal year 2024, the 17th percentile of its disclosed peer group (SEC filing 0000105418-26-000025 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.
$6,756,936 ↓ Jonathan Weis total, FY2025 | 17th CEO pay percentile vs peers | 436:1 CEO-to-median pay ratio | 90.05% Say-on-pay support, latest vote |
You have just read Weis Markets's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, sent in 2 minutes, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper WMK reports.
We send the PDF within 2 minutes, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist
Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year
Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.
WMK's next annual pay disclosure, estimated March 12, 2027.est. Filing ↗
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jonathan Weis | $1,385,567 | $0 | — | — | $5,069,575 | — | $301,794 | $6,756,936 |
| Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Robert Gleeson | 616,328 | 0 | — | — | 846,868 | — | 58,288 | 1,521,484 |
| Chief Operating Officer | ||||||||
| Michael Lockard | 620,303 | 0 | — | — | 718,088 | — | 103,751 | 1,442,142 |
| Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer | ||||||||
| R. Gregory Zeh Jr. | 482,517 | 0 | — | — | 410,326 | — | 45,350 | 938,193 |
| Senior Vice President, Chief Information Officer | ||||||||
| James Marcil | 468,445 | 0 | — | — | 398,751 | — | 58,823 | 926,019 |
| Senior Vice President, Human Resources | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jonathan Weis | $6,756,936 | $9,278,502 | $9,870,137 | ↓ −2,521,566 |
| Robert Gleeson | 1,521,484 | 1,064,897 | — | ↑ +456,587 |
| Michael Lockard | 1,442,142 | 1,693,917 | 1,370,459 | ↓ −251,775 |
| R. Gregory Zeh Jr. | 938,193 | 1,101,268 | 1,074,593 | ↓ −163,075 |
| James Marcil | 926,019 | — | — | — |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
How we handle your data → Privacy
Each company listed discloses WMK in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named WMK in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
One page per officer: the same table above, read for one person at a time — his own figure and every fiscal year the register holds.
| Executive | Role | FY2025 total |
|---|---|---|
| R. Gregory Zeh Jr. | Executive | $938,193 |
| James Marcil | SVP | $926,019 |
| Jonathan Weis | CEO | $6,756,936 |
| Robert Gleeson | COO | $1,521,484 |
| Michael Lockard | CFO | $1,442,142 |
One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.
| Director | Role | FY2025 total |
|---|---|---|
| Dennis G. Hatchell | Independent Director | $171,000 |
| Edward J. Lauth III | Independent Director | $175,000 |
| Gerrald B. Silverman | Independent Director | $165,000 |
| Harold G. Graber | Director | $110,000 |
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
The primary objective of the Company’s executive compensation program is to attract and retain qualified executives by providing a competitive combination of base salary, annual cash incentives, and benefits aligned with the Company's financial objectives. The Compensation Committee does not utilize equity-based incentives, as the Company is a controlled company with low trading volume where stock price is not driven by financial results.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Willis Towers Watson (WTW) |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | false |
| Anti-pledging | false |
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-04-30 | 19,063,321 | 2,106,873 | 21,096 | 90.05% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-04-27 | 17,003,875 | 7,427,994 | 15,033 | 69.6% | Passed |
| 2020 | 2020-04-30 | 18,362,648 | 7,097,853 | 13,478 | 72.12% | Passed |
| 2017 | 2017-04-27 | 25,076,472 | 85,529 | 10,544 | 99.66% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company's computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-04-30 | 90.05%a |
| 2023 | 2023-04-27 | 69.6%b |
| 2020 | 2020-04-30 | 72.12%c |
a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | 436 : 1 |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | — |
| Median employee compensation | $15,493 |
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Edward J. Lauth IIIIndependent · Audit · Compensation · Special | $175,000 | — | — | — | — | $175,000 |
| Dennis G. HatchellIndependent · Audit (Chair) · Compensation · Special | 171,000 | — | — | — | — | 171,000 |
| Gerrald B. SilvermanIndependent · Audit · Compensation (Chair) · Special | 165,000 | — | — | — | — | 165,000 |
| Harold G. Graber | 110,000 | — | — | — | — | 110,000 |
| Jonathan H. WeisEmployee director · Board Chair | — | — | — | — | — | 0 |
| Annual cash retainer | $110,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | — |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 6,000 |
| Stock ownership guideline | — |
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $621,000 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $0 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $621,000 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.
Of the companies Weis Markets names as compensation peers, which name it back in their own disclosed peer groups. A peer set the market reciprocates reads differently from one selected in a single direction.
Reciprocity shown where the peer's own current proxy has been read — each mark is cited in the register to that peer's filing. A dash means the peer's current proxy was read and names no reciprocal group including Weis Markets.
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tractor Supply Company | 2025 | Harry Lawton III | $1,344,231 | $26,937,383 | $2,311,740 | $1,635,837 | $32,277,194 |
| 2 | Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc. | 2025 | Jack Sinclair | 1,289,000 | 4,888,121 | 1,700,085 | 3,615,645 | 11,517,223 |
| 3 | Grocery Outlet Holding Corp. | 2025 | Jason Potter | 925,539 | 4,100,005 | 3,363,334 | 487,065 | 9,501,919 |
| 4 | Big Lots Inc. | 2023 | Bruce Thorn | 1,223,077 | 5,019,800 | 0 | 1,290,240 | 7,755,707 |
| 5 | Weis Markets | 2025 | Jonathan Weis | 1,385,567 | — | — | 5,069,575 | 6,756,936 |
| 6 | Village Super Market, Inc. | 2025 | John Sumas | 818,212 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1,528,607 |
| — | SpartanNash Company | — | — | — | — | — | — | not in coverage universe |
Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
| Company | Annual incentive payout | Long-term vehicle mix | PSU measures include TSR | Compensation consultant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weis Markets | not disclosed | Cash LTIP 100 | not disclosed | Willis Towers Watson (WTW) |
| Big Lots Inc. | not disclosed | PSU 33.33 · RSU 33.33 · SVCA 33.33 | not disclosed | Meridian |
| Grocery Outlet Holding Corp. | 42.1% | PSU 50 · Options 50 | No | Korn Ferry |
| SpartanNash Company | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc. | 187% | PSU 50 · RSU 25 · Option 25 | No | Meridian |
| Tractor Supply Company | 80.8% | PSU 50 · Options 25 · RSU 25 | No | Pearl Meyer & Partners, LLC |
| Village Super Market, Inc. | not disclosed | Restricted Stock 100 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Read from each company's Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company's filing does not state the item.
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
| # | Supports | Document | Filed | Accession | Location in document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Section 01, Jonathan Weis | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 6,756,936. View filing ↗ |
| 2 | Section 01, Robert Gleeson | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,521,484. View filing ↗ |
| 3 | Section 01, Michael Lockard | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,442,142. View filing ↗ |
| 4 | Section 01, R. Gregory Zeh Jr. | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 938,193. View filing ↗ |
| 5 | Section 01, James Marcil | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 926,019. View filing ↗ |
| 6 | Section 07, pay ratio | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 436 : 1. View filing ↗ |
| 7 | Section 08, Edward J. Lauth III | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 175,000. View filing ↗ |
| 8 | Section 08, Dennis G. Hatchell | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 171,000. View filing ↗ |
| 9 | Section 08, Gerrald B. Silverman | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 165,000. View filing ↗ |
| 10 | Section 08, Harold G. Graber | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 110,000. View filing ↗ |
| 11 | Section 08, Jonathan H. Weis | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. View filing ↗ |
| 12 | Section 06, 2026 vote | Form 8-K | 2026-04-30 | 0000105418-26-000032 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 90.05% (votes for as printed: 19,063,321). View filing ↗ |
| 13 | Section 06, 2023 vote | Form 8-K | 2023-04-27 | 0000105418-23-000019 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 69.6% (votes for as printed: 17,003,875). View filing ↗ |
| 14 | Section 06, 2020 vote | Form 8-K | 2020-04-30 | 0000105418-20-000012 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 72.12%. View filing ↗ |
| 15 | Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed) | Computed | — | — | Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer. |
| 16 | Section 09b board cost (computed) | Computed | — | — | Cash 621,000 + equity 0 + all other 0 = 621,000, summed across the director compensation table rows. |
| 17 | Tractor Supply Company, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-26 | 0001193125-26-126620 | CEO total compensation as printed in Tractor Supply Company's own proxy. As printed: 32,277,194. View filing ↗ |
| 18 | Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-07 | 0001575515-26-000013 | CEO total compensation as printed in Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 11,517,223. View filing ↗ |
| 19 | Grocery Outlet Holding Corp., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-21 | 0001771515-26-000045 | CEO total compensation as printed in Grocery Outlet Holding Corp.'s own proxy. As printed: 9,501,919. View filing ↗ |
| 20 | Big Lots Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2024-04-19 | 0001104659-24-049441 | CEO total compensation as printed in Big Lots Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 7,755,707. View filing ↗ |
| 21 | Weis Markets (subject), Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0000105418-26-000025 | CEO total compensation as printed in Weis Markets's own proxy. As printed: 6,756,936. View filing ↗ |
| 22 | Village Super Market, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-10-27 | 0001140361-25-039481 | CEO total compensation as printed in Village Super Market, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 1,528,607. View filing ↗ |
| 23 | Section 10a, Tractor Supply Company reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-26-126620 | Tractor Supply Company's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Weis Markets. View filing ↗ |
| 24 | Section 10a, SpartanNash Company reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0000950170-25-048042 | SpartanNash Company's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Weis Markets. View filing ↗ |
| 25 | Section 10a, Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001575515-26-000013 | Sprouts Farmers Market, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Weis Markets. View filing ↗ |
| 26 | Section 10a, Grocery Outlet Holding Corp. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001771515-26-000045 | Grocery Outlet Holding Corp. names Weis Markets in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗ |
| 27 | Section 10a, Big Lots Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-24-049441 | Big Lots Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Weis Markets. View filing ↗ |