CEO Li Yu was paid $4,467,850 in fiscal year 2025, the 80th percentile of its disclosed peer group: executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.
$4,467,850 Li Yu total, FY2025 | 80th CEO pay percentile vs peers | — CEO-to-median pay ratio | — Say-on-pay support, latest vote |
Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist
Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year
Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.
PFBC's next annual pay disclosure, estimated April 13, 2027.est. Filing ↗
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Li Yu | $1,010,001 | $0 | $2,266,320 | $0 | $1,173,460 | $0 | $18,069 | $4,467,850 |
| Chairman and Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Wellington Chen | 698,668 | 0 | 509,922 | 0 | 619,693 | 0 | 46,793 | 1,875,076 |
| President and Chief Operating Officer | ||||||||
| Edward Czajka | 501,667 | 0 | 330,505 | 0 | 394,037 | 0 | 17,700 | 1,243,909 |
| Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Nick Pi | 460,268 | 0 | 330,505 | 0 | 346,320 | 0 | 17,700 | 1,154,793 |
| Executive Vice President and Chief Risk Officer | ||||||||
| Johnny Hsu | 395,818 | 0 | 330,505 | 0 | 299,574 | 0 | 17,700 | 1,043,597 |
| Executive Vice President, Deputy Chief Operating Officer | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Li Yu | $4,467,850 | — | $4,719,822 | — |
| Wellington Chen | 1,875,076 | 1,774,462 | — | ↑ +100,614 |
| Edward Czajka | 1,243,909 | 1,157,686 | — | ↑ +86,223 |
| Nick Pi | 1,154,793 | 1,074,838 | — | ↑ +79,955 |
| Johnny Hsu | 1,043,597 | 957,801 | — | ↑ +85,796 |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
You have just read Preferred Bank's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper PFBC reports.
We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
Get the Preferred Bank Peer Teardown Report
$4,467,850 Li Yu total, FY2025
$199
The free page is the headline. The teardown reads every company in the disclosed peer group on its own numbers.
Data as of April 22, 2026 · Source: Velarion Executive Compensation Database, deposited on Zenodo (doi:10.5281/zenodo.22283855).
Reports for PFBC
Every report below is generated from the same filings as the free brief above, at the moment of purchase. What each one adds:
Order PFBC
Pick the report, add the email the receipt and the PDF go to, and pay by card on Stripe.
How we handle your data → Privacy
Each company listed discloses PFBC in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named PFBC in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
Get the Preferred Bank Executive Compensation Report
$1,500
One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.
| Director | Role | FY2025 total |
|---|---|---|
| Chih-Wei Wu | Independent Director | $170,887 |
| Clark Hsu | Independent Director | $197,887 |
| Gary S. Nunnelly | Independent Director | $202,887 |
| J. Richard Belliston | Independent Director | $208,387 |
| Kathleen Shane | Independent Director | $193,887 |
| Wayne Wu | Independent Director | $182,387 |
| William C. Y. Cheng | Independent Director | $197,387 |
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
to attract, motivate and retain the best leaders in our industry to ensure we execute on our business strategy, promote both short-and long-term growth of the Bank in a safe and sound manner, and create long-term shareholder value, all grounded in the following guiding principles: Pay for Performance, Shareholder Alignment, Attraction and Retention
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Pearl Meyer & Partners, LLC |
| Clawback policy | True |
| Anti-hedging | False |
| Anti-pledging | False |
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| J. Richard BellistonIndependent · Audit Committee (Chair) · Compensation Committee | $87,500 | $120,887 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $208,387 |
| Gary S. NunnellyIndependent · Audit Committee · Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee · Loan Committee (Chair) | 82,000 | 120,887 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 202,887 |
| Clark HsuIndependent · Compensation Committee (Chair) · Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee (Chair) · Loan Committee | 77,000 | 120,887 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 197,887 |
| William C. Y. ChengIndependent · Audit Committee · Investment Committee (Chair) · Loan Committee | 76,500 | 120,887 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 197,387 |
| Kathleen ShaneIndependent · Audit Committee · Loan Committee · Investment Committee | 73,000 | 120,887 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 193,887 |
| Wayne WuIndependent · Compensation Committee | 61,500 | 120,887 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 182,387 |
| Chih-Wei WuIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee · Investment Committee | 50,000 | 120,887 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 170,887 |
| Li YuEmployee director · Board Chair · Loan Committee | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $507,500 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $846,209 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $1,353,709 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.
Of the companies Preferred Bank names as compensation peers, which name it back in their own disclosed peer groups. A peer set the market reciprocates reads differently from one selected in a single direction.
Reciprocity shown where the peer's own current proxy has been read — each mark is cited in the register to that peer's filing. A dash means the peer's current proxy was read and names no reciprocal group including Preferred Bank.
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Banc of California | 2025 | Jared Wolff | $1,050,000 | $2,713,668 | $0 | $1,431,675 | $5,303,882 |
| 2 | Pacific Premier Bancorp | 2024 | Steven Gardner | 950,000 | 2,618,955 | 0 | 997,500 | 4,682,495 |
| 3 | Preferred Bank | 2025 | Li Yu | 1,010,001 | 2,266,320 | 0 | 1,173,460 | 4,467,850 |
| 4 | First Foundation, Inc. | 2024 | Thomas Shafer | 132,755 | 3,880,000 | 0 | 0 | 4,013,755 |
| 5 | CVB Financial Corp. | 2025 | David Brager | 928,846 | 1,647,007 | 0 | 883,500 | 3,803,565 |
| 6 | Banner Corporation | 2025 | Mark Grescovich | 949,816 | 1,327,276 | 0 | 1,147,366 | 3,590,983 |
| 7 | Bank of Marin Bancorp | 2025 | Timothy Myers | 693,250 | 560,015 | 0 | 0 | 1,930,086 |
| 8 | Sierra Bancorp | 2025 | Kevin McPhaill | 665,635 | 495,226 | 0 | 0 | 1,897,622 |
| 9 | Heritage Commerce Corp. | 2024 | Robertson Clay Jones | 660,261 | 678,577 | 0 | 306,000 | 1,694,339 |
| 10 | Heritage Financial Corporation | 2025 | Bryan McDonald | 610,616 | 256,632 | 0 | 356,852 | 1,345,480 |
| 11 | Westamerica Bancorporation | 2025 | David Payne | 371,000 | 0 | 0 | 400,000 | 802,645 |
Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
| Company | Annual incentive payout | Long-term vehicle mix | PSU measures include TSR | Compensation consultant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preferred Bank | not disclosed | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | No | Pearl Meyer & Partners, LLC |
| Banc of California | not disclosed | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | Yes — total shareholder return (TSR) | Meridian Compensation Partners, LLC |
| Bank of Marin Bancorp | 112% | PSU 62 · RSU 38 | No | Pearl Meyer & Partners |
| Banner Corporation | 110% | PSU 60 · RSU 40 | Yes — Total Shareholder Return (TSR) | Pearl Meyer & Partners |
| CVB Financial Corp. | 95% | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | No | Pearl Meyer |
| First Foundation, Inc. | 0% | RSU 100 | not disclosed | Pearl Meyer |
| Heritage Commerce Corp. | not disclosed | RSU 50 · PRSU 50 | No | Meridian Compensation Partners, LLC |
| Heritage Financial Corporation | 121% | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | No | Pearl Meyer |
| Pacific Premier Bancorp | 105% | RSA 50 · PRSU 50 | Yes — Relative Total Shareholder Return (rTSR) | Meridian |
| Sierra Bancorp | 100.385% | RSU 100 | No | Pearl Meyer |
| Westamerica Bancorporation | 111% | not disclosed | No | not disclosed |
Read from each company's Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company's filing does not state the item.
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
| # | Supports | Document | Filed | Accession | Location in document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Section 01, Li Yu | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 4,467,850. Filing ↗ |
| 2 | Section 01, Wellington Chen | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,875,076. Filing ↗ |
| 3 | Section 01, Edward Czajka | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,243,909. Filing ↗ |
| 4 | Section 01, Nick Pi | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,154,793. Filing ↗ |
| 5 | Section 01, Johnny Hsu | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,043,597. Filing ↗ |
| 6 | Section 08, J. Richard Belliston | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 208,387. Filing ↗ |
| 7 | Section 08, Gary S. Nunnelly | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 202,887. Filing ↗ |
| 8 | Section 08, Clark Hsu | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 197,887. Filing ↗ |
| 9 | Section 08, William C. Y. Cheng | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 197,387. Filing ↗ |
| 10 | Section 08, Kathleen Shane | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 193,887. Filing ↗ |
| 11 | Section 08, Wayne Wu | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 182,387. Filing ↗ |
| 12 | Section 08, Chih-Wei Wu | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 170,887. Filing ↗ |
| 13 | Section 08, Li Yu | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗ |
| 14 | Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed) | Computed | — | — | Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1) |
| 15 | Section 09b board cost (computed) | Computed | — | — | Cash 507,500 + equity 846,209 + all other 0 = 1,353,709, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 1,353,709 |
| 16 | Banc of California, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-26 | 0001628280-26-021447 | CEO total compensation as printed in Banc of California's own proxy. As printed: 5,303,882. Filing ↗machine: span 901949–901958 |
| 17 | Pacific Premier Bancorp, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-04-07 | 0001558370-25-004551 | CEO total compensation as printed in Pacific Premier Bancorp's own proxy. As printed: 4,682,495. Filing ↗machine: span 1372089–1372098 |
| 18 | Preferred Bank (subject), Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-13 | — | CEO total compensation as printed in Preferred Bank's own proxy. As printed: 4,467,850. Filing ↗ |
| 19 | First Foundation, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-04-17 | 0001104659-25-036041 | CEO total compensation as printed in First Foundation, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 4,013,755. Filing ↗machine: r1 · c41 · span 687747–687756 |
| 20 | CVB Financial Corp., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-07 | 0001193125-26-144078 | CEO total compensation as printed in CVB Financial Corp.'s own proxy. As printed: 3,803,565. Filing ↗machine: r5 · c18 · span 2182555–2182564 |
| 21 | Banner Corporation, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-06 | 0000946673-26-000114 | CEO total compensation as printed in Banner Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 3,590,983. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c27 · span 600291–600300 |
| 22 | Bank of Marin Bancorp, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001104659-26-046455 | CEO total compensation as printed in Bank of Marin Bancorp's own proxy. As printed: 1,930,086. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r5 · c14 · span 1084023–1084032 |
| 23 | Sierra Bancorp, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-07 | 0001104659-26-040182 | CEO total compensation as printed in Sierra Bancorp's own proxy. As printed: 1,897,622. Filing ↗machine: span 346414–346423 |
| 24 | Heritage Commerce Corp., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-04-07 | 0001104659-25-032651 | CEO total compensation as printed in Heritage Commerce Corp.'s own proxy. As printed: 1,694,339. Filing ↗machine: r1 · c54 · span 912788–912797 |
| 25 | Heritage Financial Corporation, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-20 | 0001628280-26-019987 | CEO total compensation as printed in Heritage Financial Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 1,345,480. Filing ↗machine: r5 · c24 · span 657550–657559 |
| 26 | Westamerica Bancorporation, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-13 | 0001174947-26-000355 | CEO total compensation as printed in Westamerica Bancorporation's own proxy. As printed: 802,645. Filing ↗machine: t148 · r1 · c31 · span 344276–344283 |
| 27 | Section 10a, Heritage Financial Corporation reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001628280-26-019987 | Heritage Financial Corporation's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Preferred Bank. Filing ↗ |
| 28 | Section 10a, Heritage Commerce Corp. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-25-032651 | Heritage Commerce Corp.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Preferred Bank. Filing ↗ |
| 29 | Section 10a, Pacific Premier Bancorp reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001558370-25-004551 | Pacific Premier Bancorp's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Preferred Bank. Filing ↗ |
| 30 | Section 10a, Westamerica Bancorporation reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001174947-26-000355 | Westamerica Bancorporation's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Preferred Bank. Filing ↗ |
| 31 | Section 10a, Banc of California reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001628280-26-021447 | Banc of California's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Preferred Bank. Filing ↗ |
| 32 | Section 10a, Banner Corporation reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0000946673-26-000114 | Banner Corporation's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Preferred Bank. Filing ↗ |
| 33 | Section 10a, Bank of Marin Bancorp reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-26-046455 | Bank of Marin Bancorp names Preferred Bank in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 34 | Section 10a, CVB Financial Corp. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-26-144078 | CVB Financial Corp.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Preferred Bank. Filing ↗ |
| 35 | Section 10a, First Foundation, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-25-036041 | First Foundation, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Preferred Bank. Filing ↗ |
| 36 | Section 10a, Sierra Bancorp reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-26-040182 | Sierra Bancorp names Preferred Bank in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.
Get the Preferred Bank Executive Compensation Report
$1,500