Velarion · Company Intelligence
Compensation Brief
Fiscal year 2025 · Filings through 2026-09-22

Root, Inc. (ROOT)

CEO Alexander Timm was paid $8,163,348 in fiscal year 2025, ↓ down 23.4% from fiscal year 2024, the 47th percentile of its disclosed peer group (SEC filing 0001788882-26-000033 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.

$8,163,348 ↓
Alexander Timm total, FY2025
47th
CEO pay percentile vs peers
119:1
CEO-to-median pay ratio
85.44%
Say-on-pay support, latest vote

Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist

Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year

A confirmation now and one email when Pro opens, and nothing else. Privacy

Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.

Sample answer — “What is the CEO’s total compensation?”
- Alexander Timm (Co-Founder, CEO and Director), FY2025 total compensation $8,163,348 (base salary $750,000) [exec_comp, SEC accession 0001788882-26-000033, filed 2026-04-24]

Answered within 24 hours, every figure cited to its SEC filing. If our database cannot answer your question, you are refunded automatically.

ROOT's next annual pay disclosure, estimated April 23, 2027.est. Filing ↗

01

Summary Compensation Table — fiscal year 2025

Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
Alexander Timm$750,000$0$5,499,875$0$1,687,500$0$225,973$8,163,348
Co-Founder, CEO and Director
Mahtiyar Bonakdarpour550,00003,699,9910825,000010,6855,085,676
President and Chief Technology Officer
Jonathan Allison520,00002,399,9710780,000010,6853,710,656
Chief Administrative Officer
Megan Binkley484,70402,624,9720562,500010,6853,682,861
Chief Financial Officer

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2025 totalFY2024 totalFY2023 totalΔ FY2024→2025
Alexander Timm$8,163,348$10,653,120$8,687,806↓ −2,489,772
Mahtiyar Bonakdarpour5,085,6767,199,0424,188,212↓ −2,113,366
Jonathan Allison3,710,6564,801,1563,227,524↓ −1,090,500
Megan Binkley3,682,8614,331,963—↓ −649,102

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

You have just read Root, Inc.'s Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper ROOT reports.

We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

Get the Root, Inc. Peer Teardown Report

$8,163,348 Alexander Timm total, FY2025

$199

The free page is the headline. The teardown reads every company in the disclosed peer group on its own numbers.

Data as of September 22, 2026 · Source: 0001788882-26-000033 · Velarion Executive Compensation Database, deposited on Zenodo (doi:10.5281/zenodo.22283855).

Reports for ROOT

Every report below is generated from the same filings as the free brief above, at the moment of purchase. What each one adds:

Executive Compensation ReportThe free page is the headline figures. The report is every award, peer and vote combined into one document you can hand to a committee.$1,500 →Reverse Peer AnalysisThe free page is the one line. The analysis reads every company that names this one in its own peer group.$299 →Peer Teardown ReportThe free page is the headline. The teardown reads every company in the disclosed peer group on its own numbers.$199 →
ROOTon Velarion Intel, free → The platform reading of this company, beside the same data as a subscription.

Order ROOT

Pick the report, add the email the receipt and the PDF go to, and pay by card on Stripe.

Receipt, invoice, and report delivery. Guest checkout, no account required, secure payment by Stripe.

How we handle your data → Privacy

Companies that benchmark against ROOT
12 companies name ROOT as a compensation peer

Each company listed discloses ROOT in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named ROOT in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.

Get the Root, Inc. Executive Compensation Report

$1,500

Buy the report - $1,500Both reports - $2,400
01b

Executives — the named officers

One page per officer: the same table above, read for one person at a time — his own figure and every fiscal year the register holds.

ExecutiveRoleFY2025 total
Alexander TimmCEO$8,163,348
Jonathan AllisonChief Administrative Officer$3,710,656
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourPresident$5,085,676
Megan BinkleyCFO$3,682,861
01c

Board of directors

One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.

DirectorRoleFY2025 total
Beth BirnbaumIndependent Director$242,852
Donna DorseyIndependent Director$243,268
Douglas UlmanIndependent Director$257,956
Jerri DeVardIndependent Director$253,060
Julie SzudarekIndependent Director$273,852
Lawrence HilsheimerLead Independent Director$307,185
Nancy KramerIndependent Director$258,164
02

Equity transactions since the proxy statement was filed

Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2025 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.

InsiderRoleTransaction dateCodeSharesPriceValueSecuritySource
Ryan ForishChief Accounting Officer2026-05-01D82$55$4,514CommonForm 4 ↗
Jonathan AllisonChief Administrative Officer2026-05-12D1,7065695,092CommonForm 4 ↗
Jonathan AllisonChief Administrative Officer2026-05-15D1,6065689,872CommonForm 4 ↗
Ryan ForishChief Accounting Officer2026-05-21D3515820,305CommonForm 4 ↗
Donna DorseyDirector2026-06-03A2,86400CommonForm 4 ↗
Julie SzudarekDirector2026-06-03A2,86400CommonForm 4 ↗
Jerri DeVardDirector2026-06-03A2,86400CommonForm 4 ↗
Douglas UlmanDirector2026-06-03A2,86400CommonForm 4 ↗
Nancy KramerDirector2026-06-03A2,86400CommonForm 4 ↗
Lawrence HilsheimerDirector2026-06-03A2,86400CommonForm 4 ↗
Beth BirnbaumDirector2026-06-03A2,86400CommonForm 4 ↗
Ryan ForishChief Accounting Officer2026-06-15D4905526,881CommonForm 4 ↗
Ryan ForishChief Accounting Officer2026-06-22D2945115,015CommonForm 4 ↗
Megan BinkleyChief Financial Officer2026-08-21D1,52300CommonForm 4 ↗
Ryan ForishChief Accounting Officer2026-08-21D88564,910CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31A305,11200Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31A305,11200Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31A305,11200Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31D1,287,91600Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31D1,452,58700Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31D1,503,42800Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31A305,11200Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31D1,491,90700Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31D1,435,82000Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
CARVANA GROUP, LLCGreater-than-10% holder2026-08-31A305,11200Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Ryan ForishChief Accounting Officer2026-09-15D4905426,264CommonForm 4 ↗
Ryan ForishChief Accounting Officer2026-09-21D2945014,635CommonForm 4 ↗

Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.

03

Grants of plan-based awards — fiscal year 2025

ExecutiveAwardGrant dateThresholdTargetGrantedMaximumGrant-date fair value
Alexander TimmPSU2025-05-2110,92043,681—87,362$5,499,875
Megan BinkleyPSU2025-05-215,21220,848—41,6962,624,972
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourPSU2025-05-217,34729,386—58,7723,699,991
Jonathan AllisonPSU2025-05-214,76519,061—38,1222,399,971
03b

Vehicle mix — grant-date fair value by award type

Named executive officerTime-vested (RSU)Performance-vested (PSU)Options / SARs% performance-vested
Alexander Timm$0$5,499,875$0100.0%
Megan Binkley02,624,9720100.0%
Mahtiyar Bonakdarpour03,699,9910100.0%
Jonathan Allison02,399,9710100.0%

% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.

04

Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2025

ExecutiveAwardShares unvestedExercise priceMarket value unvested
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourRSU52,895—$3,820,606
Alexander TimmRSU146,927—10,612,537
Alexander TimmRSU78,290—5,654,887
Megan BinkleyRSU11,146—805,076
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourRSU5,877—424,496
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourOption3,24012.2—
Megan BinkleyRSU37,526—2,710,503
Megan BinkleyRSU36,234—2,617,182
Jonathan AllisonOption10,6365.15—
Alexander TimmRSU113,659—8,209,590
Jonathan AllisonRSU55,116—3,981,029
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourRSU100,433—7,254,276
Alexander TimmRSU7,672—554,149
Megan BinkleyRSU57,868—4,179,806
Jonathan AllisonRSU36,234—2,617,182
Alexander TimmRSU12,088—873,116
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourRSU56,285—4,065,466
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourOption12,15243.2—
Alexander TimmRSU8,736—631,001
Jonathan AllisonRSU3,812—275,341
Megan BinkleyOption97243.2—
Megan BinkleyRSU4,170—301,199
Jonathan AllisonRSU34,310—2,478,211
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourRSU7,360—531,613
Megan BinkleyOption555145.62—
Mahtiyar BonakdarpourRSU101,958—7,364,426
Alexander TimmRSU78,626—5,679,156
Jonathan AllisonRSU15,031—1,085,689
Jonathan AllisonOption1,38843.2—
05

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

Our executive compensation program reflects our overall corporate mission to provide fair, personal, and simpler programs with a goal to recruit and retain those with the ability to accomplish Root's revolutionary work. Our program emphasizes a pay-for-performance approach to compensation by tying a majority of our named executive officers' compensation to Root's financial performance via short- and long-term incentives.

CEO STI target (% of salary)150%
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultantCompensia, Inc.
Clawback policyTrue
Anti-hedgingTrue
Anti-pledgingTrue
06

Say-on-pay — recent advisory votes

Meeting yearMeeting dateForAgainstAbstainSupportOutcome
20262026-06-0422,550,9673,842,88316,76385.44%Passed
20252025-06-0428,243,2002,313,897131,49592.43%Passed
20242024-06-0538,321,0101,088,713120,88097.24%Passed
20232023-06-0635,839,2871,097,680842,36397.03%Passed
20222022-06-07751,351,4012,777,597668,90499.63%Passed

Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.

Say-on-pay — history, company's computation

Meeting yearMeeting dateApproval — company's computation
20262026-06-0485.44%a
20252025-06-0492.43%b
20242024-06-0597.24%c

a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.

07

CEO pay ratio

Ratio (CEO : median employee)119 : 1
CEO total compensation$8,163,348
Median employee compensation$68,634
08

Director compensation — fiscal year 2025

DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
Lawrence HilsheimerIndependent · Lead Independent Director · Audit, Risk and Finance (Chair)$157,250$149,935$0—$0$307,185
Julie SzudarekIndependent · Audit, Risk and Finance · Compensation (Chair)123,917149,9350—0273,852
Nancy KramerIndependent · Compensation (Chair) · Strategy108,229149,9350—0258,164
Douglas UlmanIndependent · Audit, Risk and Finance · Nominating and Governance (Chair) · Compensation108,021149,9350—0257,956
Jerri DeVardIndependent · Nominating and Governance (Chair) · Strategy103,125149,9350—0253,060
Donna DorseyIndependent · Compensation · Nominating and Governance93,333149,9350—0243,268
Beth BirnbaumIndependent · Compensation92,917149,9350—0242,852
Alexander TimmEmployee director · Board Chair000—00
09

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer$85,000
Annual equity retainer$118,000
Per board meeting fee—
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)20,000 / 15,000 / 10,000
Stock ownership guideline5x annual cash retainer
09b

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2025
Cash retainers and fees$786,792
Equity awards (grant-date value)$1,049,545
All other compensation$0
Total cost of the board$1,836,337

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

10

Disclosed peer group — fiscal year 2025

The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.

10a

Peer reciprocity

Of the companies Root, Inc. names as compensation peers, which name it back in their own disclosed peer groups. A peer set the market reciprocates reads differently from one selected in a single direction.

Reciprocity shown where the peer's own current proxy has been read — each mark is cited in the register to that peer's filing. A dash means the peer's current proxy was read and names no reciprocal group including Root, Inc..

10b

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1OneMain Holdings2025Douglas Shulman$1,097,308$8,190,542$0$4,551,250$15,074,230
2Guidewire Software2025Mike Rosenbaum750,00012,280,2030975,00014,012,061
3GoHealth2025Vijay Kotte969,23110,734,9970013,757,255
4WEX2025Melissa Smith975,00012,361,4380013,446,221
5Bread Financial Holdings2025Ralph Andretta1,196,5397,019,36903,430,80011,921,231
6Marqeta2025Mike Milotich556,4708,725,948—748,84511,049,523
7Ambac Financial Group2025Claude LeBlanc900,0006,108,7421,467,000945,00010,356,228
8Upstart Holdings2025Dave Girouard536,66708,597,565536,6039,670,835
9EVERTEC2025Morgan Schuessler856,9606,800,00001,500,0269,245,391
10Palomar Holdings2025Mac Armstrong1,243,2693,862,33003,843,2988,961,148
11Flywire2025Michael Massaro450,0007,732,0550610,0008,803,495
12HCI Group2025Paresh Patel950,0000008,236,000
13Tiptree2025Michael Barnes1,200,0001,317,81805,651,6208,215,284
14Root, Inc.2025Alexander Timm750,0005,499,87501,687,5008,163,348
15AvidXchange Holdings2024Michael Praeger520,1924,836,1082,099,998231,5257,701,587
16MoneyLion2023Diwakar Choubey650,0004,848,284006,595,566
17Lemonade2025Daniel Schreiber528,24205,398,70506,076,514
18Int'l Money Express2024Robert Lisy1,000,0004,200,0000837,5006,042,098
19The Baldwin Insurance Group2025Trevor Baldwin400,0003,068,03201,785,0005,253,032
20Universal Insurance Holdings2025Stephen Donaghy1,000,0001,750,01402,406,8445,240,829
21Goosehead Insurance2025Mark K. Miller750,00003,682,40004,850,272
22LendingClub2025Scott Sanborn575,0002,690,86501,004,8134,823,478
23Safety Insurance Group2025George Murphy850,0001,100,00001,476,8804,187,838
24Trupanion2025Margaret Tooth641,6672,434,50001,037,5754,113,742
25United Fire Group2025Kevin Leidwinger821,0001,656,00801,350,9343,896,774

Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

10c

Incentive design against the same peers

CompanyAnnual incentive payoutLong-term vehicle mixPSU measures include TSRCompensation consultant
Root, Inc.150%PSU 100NoCompensia, Inc.
Ambac Financial Group84.0%PSU 70 · RSU 30NoMeridian Compensation Partners, LLC
AvidXchange Holdings44.1%RSU 70 · Option 30not disclosedCompensia, Inc.
Bread Financial Holdingsnot disclosedPSU 60 · RSU 40Nonot disclosed
EVERTEC117%PSU 65 · RSU 35NoFW Cook
Flywire122%RSU 100not disclosedClearBridge Compensation Group LLC
GoHealth50%RSU 100not disclosedPearl Meyer and Partners, LLC
Goosehead Insurancenot disclosedOption 100not disclosedSemler
Guidewire Software130%RSU 50 · PRSU 50NoSemler Brossy
HCI Groupnot disclosedRSU 100not disclosednot disclosed
Int'l Money Expressnot disclosedPSU 50 · RSA 25 · RSU 25NoFW Cook
Lemonadenot disclosednot disclosednot disclosedAon Human Capital Solutions (Aon HCS), a division of Aon plc
LendingClub116.5%PSU 41 · RSU 34 · Cash LTI 25Yes — Relative TSRFW Cook
Marqeta116.1%RSU 70 · PSU 30NoCompensia, Inc.
MoneyLionnot disclosednot disclosedNonot disclosed
OneMain Holdings166%PSU 55 · RSU 45NoMeridian Compensation Partners, LLC
Palomar Holdings176%PSU 50 · RSU 50NoPay Governance
Safety Insurance Group139%PRSU 55 · RSU 45NoPay Governance
The Baldwin Insurance Group111.6%PSU 100Yes — Relative TSR v. Compensation Peer GroupFrederic W. Cook & Co., Inc.
Tiptreenot disclosednot disclosedNoCAP
Trupanion147%RSU 100not disclosedWillis Towers Watson
United Fire Group130%PSU 50 · RSU 50NoMercer LLC
Universal Insurance Holdings160.5%PSU 50 · RSU 50Nonot disclosed
Upstart Holdings100.95%Options 100not disclosedCompensia
WEXnot disclosedPRSU 65 · MSU 35 · RSU 20Yes — Relative TSR MetricCompensation Advisory Partners LLC

Read from each company's Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company's filing does not state the item.

10d

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at Root, Inc. in fiscal 2025?
As disclosed, Alexander Timm (Co-Founder, CEO and Director) was the highest-paid executive at Root, Inc. in fiscal 2025, with total compensation of $8,163,348.
How does Root, Inc.'s chief executive pay compare to its disclosed peer group?
As disclosed, Alexander Timm's total compensation ranked at the 47th percentile of Root, Inc.'s disclosed peer group.
What is Root, Inc.'s CEO-to-median employee pay ratio?
As disclosed, Root, Inc.'s CEO-to-median employee pay ratio was 119:1.
How did shareholders vote on Root, Inc.'s executive compensation?
As disclosed, 85.44% of shareholders supported Root, Inc.'s executive compensation in the latest say-on-pay vote.
How much does Root, Inc. spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2025?
As disclosed, Root, Inc. reported total board compensation of $1,836,337 for fiscal 2025.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

11

Source register

Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

#SupportsDocumentFiledAccessionLocation in document
1Section 01, Alexander TimmDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 8,163,348. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c9 · span 1449193–1449202
2Section 01, Mahtiyar BonakdarpourDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 5,085,676. Filing ↗machine: r7 · c9 · span 1473807–1473816
3Section 01, Jonathan AllisonDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 3,710,656. Filing ↗machine: r10 · c9 · span 1488798–1488807
4Section 01, Megan BinkleyDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Summary Compensation Table”. As printed: 3,682,861. Filing ↗machine: r5 · c9 · span 1463086–1463095
5Section 03, Alexander Timm PSUDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS RECOMMENDSVOTE &” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t26 · r2 · c1 · span 1315942–1315948
6Section 03, Megan Binkley PSUDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS RECOMMENDSVOTE &” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t26 · r3 · c1 · span 1317410–1317416
7Section 03, Mahtiyar Bonakdarpour PSUDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS RECOMMENDSVOTE &” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t26 · r4 · c1 · span 1318855–1318861
8Section 03, Jonathan Allison PSUDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS RECOMMENDSVOTE &” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t26 · r5 · c1 · span 1320290–1320296
9Section 07, pay ratioDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 119 : 1. Filing ↗machine: span 1836151–1836154
10Section 08, Lawrence HilsheimerDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 307,185. Filing ↗machine: t12 · r4 · c7 · span 930748–931516
11Section 08, Julie SzudarekDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 273,852. Filing ↗machine: t12 · r7 · c7 · span 939849–940617
12Section 08, Nancy KramerDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 258,164. Filing ↗machine: t12 · r5 · c7 · span 933649–934414
13Section 08, Douglas UlmanDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 257,956. Filing ↗machine: t12 · r2 · c7 · span 924486–925312
14Section 08, Jerri DeVardDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 253,060. Filing ↗machine: t12 · r3 · c7 · span 927451–928218
15Section 08, Donna DorseyDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 243,268. Filing ↗machine: t12 · r8 · c7 · span 942761–943530
16Section 08, Beth BirnbaumDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 242,852. Filing ↗machine: t12 · r6 · c7 · span 936556–937324
17Section 08, Alexander TimmDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗
18Section 02, Ryan Forish 2026-05-01Form 42026-05-040002019852-26-000001Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
19Section 02, Jonathan Allison 2026-05-12Form 42026-05-130001977858-26-000003Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
20Section 02, Jonathan Allison 2026-05-15Form 42026-05-180001977858-26-000004Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
21Section 02, Ryan Forish 2026-05-21Form 42026-05-220002019852-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
22Section 02, Donna Dorsey 2026-06-03Form 42026-06-040001998619-26-000001Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
23Section 02, Julie Szudarek 2026-06-03Form 42026-06-040001936348-26-000001Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
24Section 02, Jerri DeVard 2026-06-03Form 42026-06-040001278602-26-000001Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
25Section 02, Douglas Ulman 2026-06-03Form 42026-06-040001827699-26-000001Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
26Section 02, Nancy Kramer 2026-06-03Form 42026-06-040001628280-26-040896Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
27Section 02, Lawrence Hilsheimer 2026-06-03Form 42026-06-040001628280-26-040897Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
28Section 02, Beth Birnbaum 2026-06-03Form 42026-06-040001754374-26-000001Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
29Section 02, Ryan Forish 2026-06-15Form 42026-06-160001628280-26-043530Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
30Section 02, Ryan Forish 2026-06-22Form 42026-06-230001628280-26-044895Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
31Section 02, Megan Binkley 2026-08-21Form 42026-08-240001628280-26-058609Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
32Section 02, Ryan Forish 2026-08-21Form 42026-08-240001628280-26-058601Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
33Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
34Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
35Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
36Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
37Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
38Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
39Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
40Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
41Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
42Section 02, CARVANA GROUP, LLC 2026-08-31Form 42026-09-020001737364-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
43Section 02, Ryan Forish 2026-09-15Form 42026-09-170001628280-26-062547Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
44Section 02, Ryan Forish 2026-09-21Form 42026-09-220001628280-26-063021Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
45Section 06, 2026 voteForm 8-K2026-06-080001788882-26-000049Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 85.44% (votes for as printed: 22,550,967). Filing ↗
46Section 06, 2025 voteForm 8-K2025-06-060001788882-25-000010Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 92.43% (votes for as printed: 28,243,200). Filing ↗
47Section 06, 2024 voteForm 8-K2024-06-100001628280-24-027401Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 97.24% (votes for as printed: 38,321,010). Filing ↗
48Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed)Computed——Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1)
49Section 03b vehicle mix (computed)Computed——RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).machine: formula: sums + PSU ratio
50Section 09b board cost (computed)Computed——Cash 786,792 + equity 1,049,545 + all other 0 = 1,836,337, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 1,836,337
51OneMain Holdings, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-290001584207-26-000012CEO total compensation as printed in OneMain Holdings's own proxy. As printed: 15,074,230. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c24 · span 638050–638060
52Guidewire Software, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2025-10-300001528396-25-000233CEO total compensation as printed in Guidewire Software's own proxy. As printed: 14,012,061. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c21 · span 777771–777781
53GoHealth, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-300001140361-26-018208CEO total compensation as printed in GoHealth's own proxy. As printed: 13,757,255. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c24 · span 302282–302293
54WEX, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-030001213900-26-040033CEO total compensation as printed in WEX's own proxy. As printed: 13,446,221. Filing ↗machine: span 1966596–1966606
55Bread Financial Holdings, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-070001193125-26-144512CEO total compensation as printed in Bread Financial Holdings's own proxy. As printed: 11,921,231. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c16 · span 2988661–2988671
56Marqeta, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-210001522540-26-000030CEO total compensation as printed in Marqeta's own proxy. As printed: 11,049,523. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c24 · span 709162–709172
57Ambac Financial Group, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-100001628280-26-024684CEO total compensation as printed in Ambac Financial Group's own proxy. As printed: 10,356,228. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c24 · span 744140–744150
58Upstart Holdings, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-160001193125-26-158972CEO total compensation as printed in Upstart Holdings's own proxy. As printed: 9,670,835. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c39 · span 509572–509581
59EVERTEC, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-070001559865-26-000017CEO total compensation as printed in EVERTEC's own proxy. As printed: 9,245,391. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c21 · span 593047–593056
60Palomar Holdings, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-100002071876-26-000105CEO total compensation as printed in Palomar Holdings's own proxy. As printed: 8,961,148. Filing ↗machine: r1 · c6 · span 800817–800826
61Flywire, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-230001193125-26-173788CEO total compensation as printed in Flywire's own proxy. As printed: 8,803,495. Filing ↗machine: span 529916–529925
62HCI Group, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-290001193125-26-191649CEO total compensation as printed in HCI Group's own proxy. As printed: 8,236,000. Filing ↗machine: span 700093–700102
63Tiptree, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-03-160001393726-26-000015CEO total compensation as printed in Tiptree's own proxy. As printed: 8,215,284. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c29 · span 1072009–1072018
64Root, Inc. (subject), Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-240001788882-26-000033CEO total compensation as printed in Root, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 8,163,348. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c9 · span 1449193–1449202
65AvidXchange Holdings, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2025-04-300001193125-25-107131CEO total compensation as printed in AvidXchange Holdings's own proxy. As printed: 7,701,587. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c69 · span 488054–488064
66MoneyLion, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2024-04-290001213900-24-037177CEO total compensation as printed in MoneyLion's own proxy. As printed: 6,595,566. Filing ↗machine: r1 · c12 · span 387803–387812
67Lemonade, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-220001691421-26-000024CEO total compensation as printed in Lemonade's own proxy. As printed: 6,076,514. Filing ↗machine: t15 · r2 · c25 · span 368101–368110
68Int'l Money Express, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2025-05-120001683695-25-000065CEO total compensation as printed in Int'l Money Express's own proxy. As printed: 6,042,098. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c24 · span 577739–577749
69The Baldwin Insurance Group, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-220001781755-26-000027CEO total compensation as printed in The Baldwin Insurance Group's own proxy. As printed: 5,253,032. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c45 · span 1118179–1118188
70Universal Insurance Holdings, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-240001193125-26-177529CEO total compensation as printed in Universal Insurance Holdings's own proxy. As printed: 5,240,829. Filing ↗machine: span 525027–525036
71Goosehead Insurance, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-03-250001726978-26-000025CEO total compensation as printed in Goosehead Insurance's own proxy. As printed: 4,850,272. Filing ↗machine: r7 · c21 · span 485466–485475
72LendingClub, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-210001140361-26-015923CEO total compensation as printed in LendingClub's own proxy. As printed: 4,823,478. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c25 · span 802228–802237
73Safety Insurance Group, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-03-310001172052-26-000009CEO total compensation as printed in Safety Insurance Group's own proxy. As printed: 4,187,838. Filing ↗machine: r5 · c16 · span 552394–552403
74Trupanion, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-270001371285-26-000081CEO total compensation as printed in Trupanion's own proxy. As printed: 4,113,742. Filing ↗
75United Fire Group, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-070000101199-26-000020CEO total compensation as printed in United Fire Group's own proxy. As printed: 3,896,774. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c54 · span 775843–775852
76Section 10a, LendingClub reciprocityDEF 14A—0001140361-26-015923LendingClub's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
77Section 10a, The Baldwin Insurance Group reciprocityDEF 14A—0001781755-26-000027The Baldwin Insurance Group's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
78Section 10a, Bread Financial Holdings reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-25-070902Bread Financial Holdings's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
79Section 10a, Trupanion reciprocityDEF 14A—0001371285-26-000081Trupanion names Root, Inc. in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
80Section 10a, Guidewire Software reciprocityDEF 14A—0001528396-25-000233Guidewire Software's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
81Section 10a, Ambac Financial Group reciprocityDEF 14A—0001628280-26-024684Ambac Financial Group's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
82Section 10a, Lemonade reciprocityDEF 14A—0001691421-26-000024Lemonade names Root, Inc. in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
83Section 10a, Universal Insurance Holdings reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-23-127177Universal Insurance Holdings's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
84Section 10a, HCI Group reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-26-191649HCI Group names Root, Inc. in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
85Section 10a, Marqeta reciprocityDEF 14A—0001522540-26-000030Marqeta's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
86Section 10a, Safety Insurance Group reciprocityDEF 14A—0001172052-26-000009Safety Insurance Group names Root, Inc. in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
87Section 10a, United Fire Group reciprocityDEF 14A—0000101199-26-000020United Fire Group's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
88Section 10a, OneMain Holdings reciprocityDEF 14A—0001584207-26-000012OneMain Holdings's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
89Section 10a, WEX reciprocityDEF 14A—0001213900-26-040033WEX's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
90Section 10a, Flywire reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-26-173788Flywire's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
91Section 10a, EVERTEC reciprocityDEF 14A—0001559865-26-000017EVERTEC's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
92Section 10a, Goosehead Insurance reciprocityDEF 14A—0001726978-26-000025Goosehead Insurance's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
93Section 10a, AvidXchange Holdings reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-25-107131AvidXchange Holdings's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗
94Section 10a, Int'l Money Express reciprocityDEF 14A—0001683695-25-000058Int'l Money Express's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Root, Inc.. Filing ↗

The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.

You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.

Get the Root, Inc. Executive Compensation Report

$1,500

Buy the report - $1,500Both reports - $2,400
ROOT Peer Teardown Report