CEO Geoff Tanner was paid $4,330,633 in fiscal year 2025, ↑ up 5.9% from fiscal year 2024, the 33rd percentile of its disclosed peer group (SEC filing 0001104659-25-121934 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.
$4,330,633 ↑ Geoff Tanner total, FY2025 | 33rd CEO pay percentile vs peers | — CEO-to-median pay ratio | 96.5% Say-on-pay support, latest vote |
Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist
Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year
Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.
SMPL's next annual pay disclosure, estimated December 17, 2026.est. Filing ↗
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Geoff Tanner | $816,667 | — | $2,747,758 | — | $748,000 | $0 | $18,208 | $4,330,633 |
| President and Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Christopher Bealer | 210,256 | 250,000 | 840,000 | 560,556 | 158,100 | 0 | 7,864 | 2,026,776 |
| Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Shaun Mara | 447,518 | — | 892,971 | — | 308,200 | 0 | 16,912 | 1,665,601 |
| Former Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Timothy Kraft | 469,333 | — | 789,958 | — | 261,600 | 0 | 16,953 | 1,537,844 |
| Chief Legal and Corporate Development Officer | ||||||||
| Amy Held | 448,667 | — | 629,664 | — | 291,700 | 0 | 21,897 | 1,391,928 |
| SVP and Chief Human Resources Officer | ||||||||
| Ryan Thomas | 393,000 | — | 330,521 | — | 200,900 | 0 | 19,388 | 943,809 |
| SVP and General Manager Atkins and OWYN | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Geoff Tanner | $4,330,633 | $4,089,493 | $4,334,743 | ↑ +241,140 |
| Christopher Bealer | 2,026,776 | — | — | — |
| Shaun Mara | 1,665,601 | 1,822,861 | 2,446,476 | ↓ −157,260 |
| Timothy Kraft | 1,537,844 | 1,741,073 | 1,316,565 | ↓ −203,229 |
| Amy Held | 1,391,928 | 1,469,779 | — | ↓ −77,851 |
| Ryan Thomas | 943,809 | 1,279,783 | — | ↓ −335,974 |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
You have just read Simply Good Foods's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, sent in 2 minutes, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper SMPL reports.
We send the PDF within 2 minutes, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
How we handle your data → Privacy
Each company listed discloses SMPL in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named SMPL in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
One page per officer: the same table above, read for one person at a time — his own figure and every fiscal year the register holds.
| Executive | Role | FY2025 total |
|---|---|---|
| Amy Held | Executive | $1,391,928 |
| Christopher Bealer | CFO | $2,026,776 |
| Geoff Tanner | CEO | $4,330,633 |
| Ryan Thomas | SVP | $943,809 |
| Shaun Mara | CFO | $1,665,601 |
| Timothy Kraft | General Counsel | $1,537,844 |
No insider equity transactions reported since the proxy statement.
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christopher Bealer | RSU | 23,020 | — | $659,063 |
| Timothy Kraft | PSU | 5,215 | — | 149,305 |
| Timothy Kraft | Option | 6,669 | 40.88 | — |
| Ryan Thomas | PSU | 3,017 | — | 86,377 |
| Amy Held | PSU | 6,203 | — | 177,592 |
| Ryan Thomas | PSU | 5,878 | — | 168,287 |
| Amy Held | RSU | 11,107 | — | 317,993 |
| Geoff Tanner | PSU | 22,988 | — | 658,146 |
| Geoff Tanner | RSU | 6,667 | — | 190,876 |
| Amy Held | PSU | 3,065 | — | 87,751 |
| Timothy Kraft | RSU | 10,884 | — | 311,609 |
| Timothy Kraft | PSU | 7,782 | — | 222,799 |
| Shaun Mara | Option | 3,123 | 38.61 | — |
| Shaun Mara | PSU | 8,797 | — | 251,858 |
| Shaun Mara | PSU | 8,150 | — | 233,335 |
| Timothy Kraft | RSU | 4,520 | — | 129,408 |
| Timothy Kraft | RSU | 10,117 | — | 289,650 |
| Christopher Bealer | Option | 34,035 | 36.49 | — |
| Ryan Thomas | RSU | 2,615 | — | 74,867 |
| Timothy Kraft | Option | 15,055 | 24.15 | — |
| Ryan Thomas | RSU | 4,233 | — | 121,191 |
| Timothy Kraft | PSU | 3,713 | — | 106,303 |
| Timothy Kraft | Option | 2,192 | 38.61 | — |
| Shaun Mara | RSU | 7,063 | — | 202,214 |
| Shaun Mara | Option | 4,063 | 40.88 | — |
| Amy Held | RSU | 2,656 | — | 76,041 |
| Amy Held | RSU | 8,064 | — | 230,872 |
| Timothy Kraft | Option | 50,000 | 16.75 | — |
| Geoff Tanner | RSU | 35,190 | — | 1,007,490 |
| Shaun Mara | PSU | 5,291 | — | 151,481 |
| Timothy Kraft | RSU | 962 | — | 27,542 |
| Geoff Tanner | PSU | 27,069 | — | 774,985 |
| Geoff Tanner | RSU | 19,922 | — | 570,367 |
| Shaun Mara | RSU | 11,436 | — | 327,413 |
| Ryan Thomas | PSU | 3,256 | — | 93,219 |
| Shaun Mara | RSU | 1,371 | — | 39,252 |
| Geoff Tanner | Option | 150,000 | 36.94 | — |
| Timothy Kraft | Option | 15,089 | 20.28 | — |
| Shaun Mara | Option | 8,922 | 20.28 | — |
| Shaun Mara | Option | 33,848 | 24.08 | — |
Our compensation program for our NEOs and other executive officers is designed to attract, retain and motivate individuals of superior ability and managerial talent to develop, grow and manage our business by offering competitive compensation opportunities with both short-term and significant long-term components, and to align executive officer compensation with the achievement of our business goals.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Mercer |
| Clawback policy | — |
| Anti-hedging | — |
| Anti-pledging | — |
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-01-28 | 76,530,934 | 2,777,254 | 76,275 | 96.5% | Passed |
| 2025 | 2025-01-23 | 88,355,820 | 2,403,744 | 46,424 | 97.35% | Passed |
| 2024 | 2024-01-18 | 92,321,485 | 1,797,600 | 16,866 | 98.09% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-01-19 | 89,899,026 | 653,122 | 9,980 | 99.28% | Passed |
| 2022 | 2022-01-20 | 72,696,201 | 18,914,402 | 62,268 | 79.35% | Passed |
| 2021 | 2021-01-21 | 87,682,926 | 817,596 | 14,729 | 99.08% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company's computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-01-28 | 96.5%a |
| 2025 | 2025-01-23 | 97.35%b |
| 2024 | 2024-01-18 | 98.09%c |
a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.
Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
| Annual cash retainer | — |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | $125,000 |
| Per board meeting fee | — |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | — |
| Stock ownership guideline | Each of our presently serving non-employee directors is currently in compliance with the stock ownership guidelines or is still within the time frame to meet their respective ownership guidelines by the required deadline. |
The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.
Of the companies Simply Good Foods names as compensation peers, which name it back in their own disclosed peer groups. A peer set the market reciprocates reads differently from one selected in a single direction.
Reciprocity shown where the peer's own current proxy has been read — each mark is cited in the register to that peer's filing. A dash means the peer's current proxy was read and names no reciprocal group including Simply Good Foods.
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Freshpet, Inc. | 2025 | William Cyr | $712,308 | $11,599,846 | $0 | $187,344 | $12,513,498 |
| 2 | Edgewell Personal Care Company | 2025 | Rod Little | 1,100,000 | 7,576,100 | — | 907,500 | 9,754,366 |
| 3 | Celsius Holdings, Inc. | 2025 | John Fieldly | 1,016,500 | 6,648,396 | 0 | 1,899,240 | 9,607,616 |
| 4 | Tootsie Roll Industries | 2025 | Ellen Gordon | 999,000 | — | — | — | 7,150,512 |
| 5 | BellRing Brands | 2025 | Darcy Horn Davenport | 950,025 | 4,400,000 | 0 | 1,055,715 | 6,563,539 |
| 6 | B G Foods | 2025 | Kenneth Keller | 1,224,258 | 2,625,864 | 0 | 710,437 | 4,589,619 |
| 7 | The Hain Celestial Group | 2025 | Wendy Davidson | 789,808 | 3,530,682 | 0 | 0 | 4,546,417 |
| 8 | Utz Brands, Inc. | 2025 | Howard Friedman | 968,289 | 2,699,044 | 0 | 609,936 | 4,391,269 |
| 9 | Simply Good Foods | 2025 | Geoff Tanner | 816,667 | 2,747,758 | — | 748,000 | 4,330,633 |
| 10 | J J Snack Foods | 2025 | Daniel Fachner | 1,021,923 | 2,059,974 | 0 | 834,300 | 3,978,648 |
| 11 | Inter Parfums, Inc. | 2025 | Jean Madar | 2,000,000 | 97,316 | 0 | 0 | 2,097,316 |
| 12 | Central Garden Pet Company | 2025 | Nicholas Lahanas | 893,365 | 1,000,022 | 0 | — | 1,905,762 |
| 13 | The Boston Beer Company | 2025 | C. James Koch | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5,695 |
Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
| Company | Annual incentive payout | Long-term vehicle mix | PSU measures include TSR | Compensation consultant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simply Good Foods | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Mercer |
| B G Foods | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Meridian Compensation Partners |
| BellRing Brands | 88.9% of target for corporate level NEOs; 92.9% of target for business unit level NEO (Mr. Singh).% | PRSUs 80 · RSUs 20 | Yes — Relative TSR | Aon |
| Celsius Holdings, Inc. | not disclosed | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | not disclosed | Farient Advisors |
| Central Garden Pet Company | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Pay Governance |
| Edgewell Personal Care Company | 66% | not disclosed | No | Meridian |
| Freshpet, Inc. | not disclosed | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | not disclosed | WTW |
| Inter Parfums, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| J J Snack Foods | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| The Boston Beer Company | 90% | RSU 50 · PSU 50 | No | Frederic W. Cook & Co., Inc. |
| The Hain Celestial Group | not disclosed | RSU 50 · PSU 50 | Yes — Relative TSR versus the S&P Food & Beverage Select Industry Index | ClearBridge Compensation Group, LLC |
| Tootsie Roll Industries | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Compensation Strategies, Inc. |
| Utz Brands, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | F.W. Cook |
Read from each company's Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company's filing does not state the item.
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Each figure is listed with the filing it comes from, where it appears in that filing, and the value as printed. Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
| # | Supports | Document | Filed | Accession | Location in document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Section 01, Geoff Tanner | DEF 14A | 2025-12-17 | 0001104659-25-121934 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 4,330,633. View filing ↗ |
| 2 | Section 01, Christopher Bealer | DEF 14A | 2025-12-17 | 0001104659-25-121934 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 2,026,776. View filing ↗ |
| 3 | Section 01, Shaun Mara | DEF 14A | 2025-12-17 | 0001104659-25-121934 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,665,601. View filing ↗ |
| 4 | Section 01, Timothy Kraft | DEF 14A | 2025-12-17 | 0001104659-25-121934 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,537,844. View filing ↗ |
| 5 | Section 01, Amy Held | DEF 14A | 2025-12-17 | 0001104659-25-121934 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 1,391,928. View filing ↗ |
| 6 | Section 01, Ryan Thomas | DEF 14A | 2025-12-17 | 0001104659-25-121934 | Section “Executive Compensation”. As printed: 943,809. View filing ↗ |
| 7 | Section 06, 2026 vote | Form 8-K | 2026-02-02 | 0001104659-26-009211 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 96.5% (votes for as printed: 76,530,934). View filing ↗ |
| 8 | Section 06, 2025 vote | Form 8-K | 2025-01-28 | 0001104659-25-006698 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 97.35% (votes for as printed: 88,355,820). View filing ↗ |
| 9 | Section 06, 2024 vote | Form 8-K | 2024-01-23 | 0001104659-24-005840 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 98.09% (votes for as printed: 92,321,485). View filing ↗ |
| 10 | Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed) | Computed | — | — | Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer. |
| 11 | Freshpet, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-27 | 0001140361-26-017084 | CEO total compensation as printed in Freshpet, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 12,513,498. View filing ↗ |
| 12 | Edgewell Personal Care Company, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-12-22 | 0001104659-25-123567 | CEO total compensation as printed in Edgewell Personal Care Company's own proxy. As printed: 9,754,366. View filing ↗ |
| 13 | Celsius Holdings, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-14 | 0001193125-26-154918 | CEO total compensation as printed in Celsius Holdings, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 9,607,616. View filing ↗ |
| 14 | Tootsie Roll Industries, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-27 | 0001104659-26-035765 | CEO total compensation as printed in Tootsie Roll Industries's own proxy. As printed: 7,150,512. View filing ↗ |
| 15 | BellRing Brands, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-12-16 | 0001193125-25-320827 | CEO total compensation as printed in BellRing Brands's own proxy. As printed: 6,563,539. View filing ↗ |
| 16 | B G Foods, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-03 | 0001104659-26-039621 | CEO total compensation as printed in B G Foods's own proxy. As printed: 4,589,619. View filing ↗ |
| 17 | The Hain Celestial Group, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-09-18 | 0001193125-25-207370 | CEO total compensation as printed in The Hain Celestial Group's own proxy. As printed: 4,546,417. View filing ↗ |
| 18 | Utz Brands, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-12 | 0001193125-26-103020 | CEO total compensation as printed in Utz Brands, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 4,391,269. View filing ↗ |
| 19 | Simply Good Foods (subject), Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-12-17 | 0001104659-25-121934 | CEO total compensation as printed in Simply Good Foods's own proxy. As printed: 4,330,633. View filing ↗ |
| 20 | J J Snack Foods, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-01-02 | 0001140361-26-000149 | CEO total compensation as printed in J J Snack Foods's own proxy. As printed: 3,978,648. View filing ↗ |
| 21 | Inter Parfums, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-07-31 | 0001753926-26-001295 | CEO total compensation as printed in Inter Parfums, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 2,097,316. View filing ↗ |
| 22 | Central Garden Pet Company, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2025-12-22 | 0001140361-25-046376 | CEO total compensation as printed in Central Garden Pet Company's own proxy. As printed: 1,905,762. View filing ↗ |
| 23 | The Boston Beer Company, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0001308179-26-000249 | CEO total compensation as printed in The Boston Beer Company's own proxy. As printed: 5,695. View filing ↗ |
| 24 | Section 10a, The Boston Beer Company reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001308179-26-000249 | The Boston Beer Company's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Simply Good Foods. View filing ↗ |
| 25 | Section 10a, BellRing Brands reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-25-320827 | BellRing Brands names Simply Good Foods in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗ |
| 26 | Section 10a, Central Garden Pet Company reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001140361-24-050528 | Central Garden Pet Company's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Simply Good Foods. View filing ↗ |
| 27 | Section 10a, B G Foods reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-26-039621 | B G Foods names Simply Good Foods in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗ |
| 28 | Section 10a, Utz Brands, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-26-103020 | Utz Brands, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Simply Good Foods. View filing ↗ |
| 29 | Section 10a, Edgewell Personal Care Company reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-25-123567 | Edgewell Personal Care Company names Simply Good Foods in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗ |
| 30 | Section 10a, Inter Parfums, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001753926-26-001295 | Inter Parfums, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Simply Good Foods. View filing ↗ |
| 31 | Section 10a, Tootsie Roll Industries reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-26-035765 | Tootsie Roll Industries names Simply Good Foods in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗ |
| 32 | Section 10a, Freshpet, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001140361-26-017084 | Freshpet, Inc. names Simply Good Foods in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗ |
| 33 | Section 10a, Celsius Holdings, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-26-154918 | Celsius Holdings, Inc. names Simply Good Foods in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗ |
| 34 | Section 10a, The Hain Celestial Group reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001193125-25-207370 | The Hain Celestial Group names Simply Good Foods in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). View filing ↗ |