CEO W. Robert Berkley, Jr. was paid $16,823,866 in fiscal year 2025, ↓ down 3.2% from fiscal year 2024, the 69th percentile of its disclosed peer group (SEC filing 0001193125-26-170583 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.
$17,049,206 William Berkley total, FY2025 Executive Chairman of the Board — highest-paid officer; CEO W. Robert Berkley, Jr.: $16,823,866 | 69th CEO (W. Robert Berkley, Jr.) pay percentile vs peers | 124:1 CEO-to-median pay ratio | 97.75% Say-on-pay support, latest vote |
Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist
Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year
Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.
WRB's next annual pay disclosure, estimated April 19, 2027.est. Filing ↗
| Named executive officer | Salary | Bonus | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Pension / NQDC | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| William Berkley | $1,097,800 | $0 | $3,850,038 | $0 | $11,176,030 | $0 | $925,338 | $17,049,206 |
| Executive Chairman of the Board | ||||||||
| W. Robert Berkley, Jr. | 1,097,800 | 0 | 3,850,038 | 0 | 11,176,030 | 0 | 699,998 | 16,823,866 |
| President and Chief Executive Officer | ||||||||
| Philip Welt | 742,102 | 0 | 632,496 | 0 | 1,658,900 | 0 | 99,263 | 3,132,761 |
| Executive Vice President -- Secretary | ||||||||
| Richard Baio | 742,102 | 0 | 632,496 | 0 | 1,658,900 | 0 | 94,212 | 3,127,710 |
| Executive Vice President -- Chief Financial Officer | ||||||||
| Lucille Sgaglione | 742,102 | 1,100,000 | 0 | 0 | 366,050 | 0 | 101,412 | 2,309,564 |
| Executive Vice President | ||||||||
| James Shiel | 742,102 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1,466,050 | 0 | 99,263 | 2,307,415 |
| Executive Vice President -- Investments | ||||||||
A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.
| Named executive officer | FY2025 total | FY2024 total | FY2023 total | Δ FY2024→2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| William Berkley | $17,049,206 | $17,665,374 | $17,113,215 | ↓ −616,168 |
| W. Robert Berkley, Jr. | 16,823,866 | 17,371,233 | 16,813,566 | ↓ −547,367 |
| Philip Welt | 3,132,761 | 3,107,207 | — | ↑ +25,554 |
| Richard Baio | 3,127,710 | 3,065,250 | 2,902,878 | ↑ +62,460 |
| Lucille Sgaglione | 2,309,564 | 2,477,313 | 2,919,197 | ↓ −167,749 |
| James Shiel | 2,307,415 | 2,593,578 | 3,030,111 | ↓ −286,163 |
Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.
You have just read BERKLEY W R CORP's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper WRB reports.
We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.
Get the BERKLEY W R CORP Peer Teardown Report
$17,049,206 William Berkley total, FY2025
$199
The free page is the headline. The teardown reads every company in the disclosed peer group on its own numbers.
Data as of August 5, 2026 · Source: 0001193125-26-170583 · Velarion Executive Compensation Database, deposited on Zenodo (doi:10.5281/zenodo.22283855).
Reports for WRB
Every report below is generated from the same filings as the free brief above, at the moment of purchase. What each one adds:
Order WRB
Pick the report, add the email the receipt and the PDF go to, and pay by card on Stripe.
How we handle your data → Privacy
Each company listed discloses WRB in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named WRB in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.
Get the BERKLEY W R CORP Executive Compensation Report
$1,500
One page per officer: the same table above, read for one person at a time — his own figure and every fiscal year the register holds.
| Executive | Role | FY2025 total |
|---|---|---|
| Philip Welt | EVP | $3,132,761 |
| Richard Baio | CFO | $3,127,710 |
| Lucille Sgaglione | EVP | $2,309,564 |
| W. Robert Berkley, Jr. | CEO | $16,823,866 |
| William Berkley | Executive | $17,049,206 |
| James Shiel | EVP | $2,307,415 |
One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.
| Director | Role | FY2025 total |
|---|---|---|
| Andrew J. Carrier | Director | — |
| Christopher L. Augostini | Independent Director | $379,525 |
| Daniel L. Mosley | Independent Director | $332,025 |
| Jonathan Talisman | Independent Director | $332,025 |
| María Luisa Ferré | Independent Director | $330,025 |
| Marie A. Mattson | Independent Director | $330,525 |
| Mark L. Shapiro | Former director (through FY2025) | $65,500 |
| Mary C. Farrell | Independent Director | $370,525 |
| Robert A. Rusbuldt | Independent Director | $262,025 |
| Ronald E. Blaylock | Independent Director | $321,025 |
Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2025 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.
| Insider | Role | Transaction date | Code | Shares | Price | Value | Security | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jonathan Talisman | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | $0 | $0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Robert A. Rusbuldt | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Marie A. Mattson | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Ronald E. Blaylock | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Mary C. Farrell | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Daniel L. Mosley | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| William R. Berkley Jr | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Maria Luisa Ferre | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| William R. Berkley | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Christopher L. Augostini | Director | 2026-06-03 | A | 3,090 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Richard Baio | EVP & CFO | 2026-08-03 | D | 650 | 72 | 46,987 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Richard Baio | EVP & CFO | 2026-08-03 | A | 14,086 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| William R. Berkley Jr | Director | 2026-08-03 | D | 4,139 | 72 | 299,198 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| James Shiel | EVP - Investments | 2026-08-03 | D | 650 | 72 | 46,987 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| James Shiel | EVP - Investments | 2026-08-03 | A | 14,086 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| William R. Berkley Jr | Director | 2026-08-03 | A | 98,593 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Philip Welt | EVP & Secretary | 2026-08-03 | D | 592 | 72 | 42,794 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
| Philip Welt | EVP & Secretary | 2026-08-03 | A | 14,086 | 0 | 0 | Common | Form 4 ↗ |
Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.
| Executive | Award | Grant date | Threshold | Target | Granted | Maximum | Grant-date fair value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| William R. Berkley | PSU | 2025-08-15 | 39,307 | 49,134 | — | 54,047 | $3,850,038 |
| Richard Baio | PSU | 2025-08-15 | 6,458 | 8,072 | — | 8,879 | 632,496 |
| W. Robert Berkley Jr. | PSU | 2025-08-15 | 39,307 | 49,134 | — | 54,047 | 3,850,038 |
| Philip Welt | PSU | 2025-08-15 | 6,458 | 8,072 | — | 8,879 | 632,496 |
| Named executive officer | Time-vested (RSU) | Performance-vested (PSU) | Options / SARs | % performance-vested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| William R. Berkley | $0 | $3,850,038 | $0 | 100.0% |
| Richard Baio | 0 | 632,496 | 0 | 100.0% |
| W. Robert Berkley Jr. | 0 | 3,850,038 | 0 | 100.0% |
| Philip Welt | 0 | 632,496 | 0 | 100.0% |
% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.
| Executive | Award | Shares unvested | Exercise price | Market value unvested |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richard Baio | RSU | 5,550 | — | $389,166 |
| Berkley | RSU | 60,607 | — | 4,249,763 |
| James Shiel | RSU | 5,550 | — | 389,166 |
| Richard Baio | RSU | 8,362 | — | 586,343 |
| Philip Welt | RSU | 8,362 | — | 586,343 |
| Philip Welt | RSU | 5,550 | — | 389,166 |
| Berkley | RSU | 38,841 | — | 2,723,531 |
| Richard Baio | RSU | 8,072 | — | 566,009 |
| Berkley | RSU | 83,149 | — | 5,830,408 |
| James Shiel | RSU | 8,362 | — | 586,343 |
| Richard Baio | RSU | 11,879 | — | 832,955 |
| Berkley | RSU | 58,530 | — | 4,104,124 |
| Richard Baio | RSU | 9,524 | — | 667,823 |
| Berkley | RSU | 49,134 | — | 3,445,276 |
| Lucille Sgaglione | RSU | 11,879 | — | 832,955 |
| Philip Welt | RSU | 11,879 | — | 832,955 |
| James Shiel | PSU | 11,879 | — | 832,955 |
| Philip Welt | RSU | 9,524 | — | 667,823 |
| Lucille Sgaglione | RSU | 8,362 | — | 586,343 |
| Philip Welt | RSU | 8,072 | — | 566,009 |
| Lucille Sgaglione | RSU | 5,550 | — | 389,166 |
The Company's compensation program is designed to attract and retain highly qualified executives, align executive interests with stockholders, and reward achievement of strategic objectives. A substantial majority of compensation is linked to Company performance and stockholder value over the long term.
| CEO STI target (% of salary) | — |
|---|---|
| CEO LTI target (% of salary) | — |
| Independent consultant | Meridian Compensation Partners, LLC |
| Clawback policy | true |
| Anti-hedging | true |
| Anti-pledging | true |
| Meeting year | Meeting date | For | Against | Abstain | Support | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-06-03 | 339,651,297 | 5,149,752 | 2,682,715 | 97.75% | Passed |
| 2025 | 2025-06-11 | 336,306,919 | 10,835,813 | 4,011,566 | 95.77% | Passed |
| 2024 | 2024-06-12 | 228,633,428 | 9,218,907 | 351,382 | 95.98% | Passed |
| 2023 | 2023-06-14 | 224,376,191 | 8,893,131 | 2,772,783 | 96.19% | Passed |
| 2022 | 2022-06-15 | 236,514,529 | 8,945,457 | 402,030 | 96.2% | Passed |
| 2021 | 2021-06-15 | 155,681,015 | 7,205,136 | 756,443 | 95.13% | Passed |
Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.
| Meeting year | Meeting date | Approval — company's computation |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2026-06-03 | 97.75%a |
| 2025 | 2025-06-11 | 95.77%b |
| 2024 | 2024-06-12 | 95.98%c |
a. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Regarding the say-on-pay proposal and the ratification of the appointment of the Company's independent registered public accounting firm, abstentions will have the same effect as a vote "Against".”.
b. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Regarding the approval of an amendment to the Company's restated certificate of incorporation to increase the authorized number of shares of common stock from 1,250,000,000 to 1,875,000,000, the say-on-pay proposal, the ratification of the appointment of the Company's independent registered public accounting firm and the stockholder proposal, abstentions will have the same effect as a vote "Against".”.
c. Approved under the standard stated in the filing — “Regarding the say-on-pay proposal and the ratification of the appointment of the Company's independent registered public accountant, abstentions will have the same effect as a vote "Against".”.
Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.
| Ratio (CEO : median employee) | 124 : 1 |
|---|---|
| CEO total compensation | $16,823,866 |
| Median employee compensation | $135,437 |
| Director | Cash fees | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | All other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christopher L. AugostiniIndependent · Nominating and Corporate Governance (2) · Executive | $179,500 | $200,025 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $379,525 |
| Mary C. FarrellIndependent · Compensation (Chair) · Nominating and Corporate Governance (2) · Executive | 170,500 | 200,025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 370,525 |
| Daniel L. MosleyIndependent · Compensation · Nominating and Corporate Governance (2) | 132,000 | 200,025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 332,025 |
| Jonathan TalismanIndependent · Audit · Nominating and Corporate Governance (2) | 132,000 | 200,025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 332,025 |
| Marie A. MattsonIndependent · Audit · Nominating and Corporate Governance (2) | 130,500 | 200,025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 330,525 |
| María Luisa FerréIndependent · Audit · Nominating and Corporate Governance | 130,000 | 200,025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 330,025 |
| Ronald E. BlaylockIndependent · Compensation · Nominating and Corporate Governance (2) | 121,000 | 200,025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 321,025 |
| Robert A. RusbuldtIndependent · Compensation · Nominating and Corporate Governance (2) · Partial-year service · Newly elected | 62,000 | 200,025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 262,025 |
| Mark L. ShapiroNot standing for re-election · Departed during FY | 65,500 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 65,500 |
| W. Robert Berkley, JrEmployee director · Executive | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
| William R. BerkleyEmployee director · Board Chair · Executive (Chair) | 0 | 0 | 0 | — | 0 | 0 |
| Andrew J. CarrierNot independent · Partial-year service · Newly elected | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Annual cash retainer | $96,000 |
|---|---|
| Annual equity retainer | $200,000 |
| Per board meeting fee | $2,000 |
| Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov) | 38,500 / 38,500 |
| Stock ownership guideline | $480,000 |
| Component | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Cash retainers and fees | $1,123,000 |
| Equity awards (grant-date value) | $1,600,200 |
| All other compensation | $0 |
| Total cost of the board | $2,723,200 |
Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.
The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.
Of the companies BERKLEY W R CORP names as compensation peers, which name it back in their own disclosed peer groups. A peer set the market reciprocates reads differently from one selected in a single direction.
Reciprocity shown where the peer's own current proxy has been read — each mark is cited in the register to that peer's filing. A dash means the peer's current proxy was read and names no reciprocal group including BERKLEY W R CORP.
Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.
| Rank | Company | FY | Chief executive | Salary | Stock awards | Option awards | Non-equity incentive | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | American International Group, Inc. | 2025 | Peter Zaffino | $1,500,000 | $14,084,855 | $4,374,994 | $12,000,000 | $32,460,049 |
| 2 | The Travelers Companies, Inc. | 2025 | Alan Schnitzer | 1,450,000 | 9,417,364 | 6,100,056 | 9,000,000 | 26,968,756 |
| 3 | The Allstate Corporation | 2025 | Thomas Wilson | 1,465,385 | 10,886,400 | 4,530,227 | 5,597,235 | 22,920,898 |
| 4 | The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. | 2025 | Christopher Swift | 1,200,000 | 10,982,790 | 3,412,500 | 5,808,000 | 22,114,212 |
| 5 | BERKLEY W R CORP | 2025 | W. Robert Berkley, Jr. | 1,097,800 | 3,850,038 | 0 | 11,176,030 | 16,823,866 |
| 6 | Arch Capital Group Ltd. | 2025 | Nicolas Papadopoulo | 1,300,000 | 5,520,506 | 1,820,186 | 5,200,000 | 14,626,320 |
| 7 | Markel Corporation | 2025 | Thomas Gayner | 1,100,000 | 9,226,081 | 0 | 3,740,000 | 14,124,065 |
| 8 | RenaissanceRe Holdings Ltd. | 2025 | Kevin O'Donnell | 1,270,000 | 5,014,732 | 0 | 5,118,750 | 12,951,841 |
| 9 | CNA Financial Corporation | 2025 | Douglas Worman | 1,100,000 | 4,999,970 | 0 | 5,500,000 | 12,619,149 |
| 10 | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. | 2025 | Michael Nolan | 1,083,846 | 5,960,007 | 0 | 4,400,000 | 11,646,893 |
| 11 | American Financial Group, Inc. | 2025 | S. Craig Lindner | 1,250,000 | 1,500,009 | — | 6,454,770 | 11,148,296 |
| 12 | AXIS Capital Holdings Limited | 2025 | Vincent Tizzio | 1,100,000 | 5,299,641 | 0 | 3,070,375 | 9,642,025 |
| 13 | Everest Group, Ltd. | 2025 | Jim Williamson | 1,227,116 | 3,525,195 | 0 | 0 | 8,952,500 |
| 14 | Kemper Corporation | 2025 | C. Thomas Evans, Jr. | 561,154 | 1,733,978 | 248,626 | 395,000 | 3,090,806 |
Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.
| Company | Annual incentive payout | Long-term vehicle mix | PSU measures include TSR | Compensation consultant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BERKLEY W R CORP | not disclosed | PSU 100 | No | Meridian Compensation Partners, LLC |
| American Financial Group, Inc. | not disclosed | not disclosed | No | Pay Governance LLC |
| American International Group, Inc. | not disclosed | PSU 75 · Options 25 | No | Pay Governance |
| Arch Capital Group Ltd. | 200% | not disclosed | No | Pay Governance |
| AXIS Capital Holdings Limited | 159.5% | PSU 60 · RSU 40 | No | Frederick W. Cook & Co. |
| CNA Financial Corporation | not disclosed | PSU 100 | not disclosed | Willis Towers Watson |
| Everest Group, Ltd. | 88% | PSU 50 · RSU 50 | Yes — 3Yr Relative Change in TSR Compared to Peers | not disclosed |
| Fidelity National Financial, Inc. | 200% | PSU 100 | No | Strategic Compensation Group LLC (SCG) |
| Kemper Corporation | 78% | PSU 60 · Options 20 · RSU 20 | No | Frederic W. Cook & Co., Inc. |
| Markel Corporation | not disclosed | not disclosed | No | CAP |
| RenaissanceRe Holdings Ltd. | 175% | not disclosed | No | Mercer (U.S.) Inc. |
| The Allstate Corporation | 127.2% | PSA 70 · Option 30 | Yes — Relative Total Shareholder Return (TSR) | Pay Governance |
| The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. | 176% | not disclosed | Yes — Peer-relative TSR | Compensation Advisory Partners, LLP (CAP) |
| The Travelers Companies, Inc. | not disclosed | PSU 60 · Option 40 | No | FW Cook |
Read from each company's Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company's filing does not state the item.
Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.
Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.
| # | Supports | Document | Filed | Accession | Location in document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Section 01, William Berkley | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 66. As printed: 17,049,206. Filing ↗machine: r8 · c21 · span 925500–925510 |
| 2 | Section 01, W. Robert Berkley, Jr. | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 66. As printed: 16,823,866. Filing ↗machine: t411 · r4 · c21 · span 915307–915317 |
| 3 | Section 01, Philip Welt | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 66. As printed: 3,132,761. Filing ↗machine: r20 · c21 · span 955975–955984 |
| 4 | Section 01, Richard Baio | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 66. As printed: 3,127,710. Filing ↗machine: r12 · c21 · span 935517–935526 |
| 5 | Section 01, Lucille Sgaglione | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 66. As printed: 2,309,564. Filing ↗machine: r16 · c21 · span 945839–945848 |
| 6 | Section 01, James Shiel | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Summary Compensation Table” · page 66. As printed: 2,307,415. Filing ↗machine: r24 · c21 · span 963982–963991 |
| 7 | Section 03, William R. Berkley PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 1008718–1008727 |
| 8 | Section 03, Richard Baio PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 1016164–1016171 |
| 9 | Section 03, W. Robert Berkley Jr. PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 1001326–1001335 |
| 10 | Section 03, Philip Welt PSU | DEF 14A | 1900-01-01 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Executive Compensation” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: span 1040696–1040703 |
| 11 | Section 07, pay ratio | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 124 : 1. Filing ↗ |
| 12 | Section 08, Christopher L. Augostini | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 379,525. Filing ↗machine: span 1266374–1266381 |
| 13 | Section 08, Mary C. Farrell | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 370,525. Filing ↗machine: span 1268823–1268830 |
| 14 | Section 08, Daniel L. Mosley | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 332,025. Filing ↗machine: span 1272486–1272493 |
| 15 | Section 08, Jonathan Talisman | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 332,025. Filing ↗machine: span 1274936–1274943 |
| 16 | Section 08, Marie A. Mattson | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 330,525. Filing ↗machine: span 1271287–1271294 |
| 17 | Section 08, María Luisa Ferré | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 330,025. Filing ↗machine: span 1270033–1270040 |
| 18 | Section 08, Ronald E. Blaylock | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 321,025. Filing ↗machine: span 1267575–1267582 |
| 19 | Section 08, Robert A. Rusbuldt | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 262,025. Filing ↗machine: span 1273736–1273743 |
| 20 | Section 08, Mark L. Shapiro | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 65,500. Filing ↗machine: span 1275878–1275971 |
| 21 | Section 08, W. Robert Berkley, Jr | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗ |
| 22 | Section 08, William R. Berkley | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗ |
| 23 | Section 08, Andrew J. Carrier | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗ |
| 24 | Section 02, Jonathan Talisman 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257636 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 25 | Section 02, Robert A. Rusbuldt 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257653 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 26 | Section 02, Marie A. Mattson 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257685 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 27 | Section 02, Ronald E. Blaylock 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257637 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 28 | Section 02, Mary C. Farrell 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257656 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 29 | Section 02, Daniel L. Mosley 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257662 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 30 | Section 02, William R. Berkley Jr 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257667 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 31 | Section 02, Maria Luisa Ferre 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257689 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 32 | Section 02, William R. Berkley 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257711 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 33 | Section 02, Christopher L. Augostini 2026-06-03 | Form 4 | 2026-06-04 | 0001193125-26-257649 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 34 | Section 02, Richard Baio 2026-08-03 | Form 4 | 2026-08-05 | 0000011544-26-000043 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 35 | Section 02, Richard Baio 2026-08-03 | Form 4 | 2026-08-05 | 0000011544-26-000043 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 36 | Section 02, William R. Berkley Jr 2026-08-03 | Form 4 | 2026-08-05 | 0000011544-26-000042 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 37 | Section 02, James Shiel 2026-08-03 | Form 4 | 2026-08-05 | 0000011544-26-000041 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 38 | Section 02, James Shiel 2026-08-03 | Form 4 | 2026-08-05 | 0000011544-26-000041 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 39 | Section 02, William R. Berkley Jr 2026-08-03 | Form 4 | 2026-08-05 | 0000011544-26-000042 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 40 | Section 02, Philip Welt 2026-08-03 | Form 4 | 2026-08-05 | 0000011544-26-000044 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 41 | Section 02, Philip Welt 2026-08-03 | Form 4 | 2026-08-05 | 0000011544-26-000044 | Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗ |
| 42 | Section 06, 2026 vote | Form 8-K | 2026-06-05 | 0000011544-26-000013 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 97.75% (votes for as printed: 339,651,297). Filing ↗ |
| 43 | Section 06, 2025 vote | Form 8-K | 2025-06-13 | 0000011544-25-000013 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 95.77% (votes for as printed: 336,306,919). Filing ↗ |
| 44 | Section 06, 2024 vote | Form 8-K | 2024-06-12 | 0000011544-24-000015 | Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 95.98% (votes for as printed: 228,633,428). Filing ↗ |
| 45 | Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed) | Computed | — | — | Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1) |
| 46 | Section 03b vehicle mix (computed) | Computed | — | — | RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).machine: formula: sums + PSU ratio |
| 47 | Section 09b board cost (computed) | Computed | — | — | Cash 1,123,000 + equity 1,600,200 + all other 0 = 2,723,200, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 2,723,200 |
| 48 | American International Group, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-31 | 0000005272-26-000039 | CEO total compensation as printed in American International Group, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 32,460,049. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c27 · span 1530030–1530040 |
| 49 | The Travelers Companies, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-07 | 0000086312-26-000103 | CEO total compensation as printed in The Travelers Companies, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 26,968,756. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c9 · span 2959229–2959239 |
| 50 | The Allstate Corporation, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0000899051-26-000063 | CEO total compensation as printed in The Allstate Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 22,920,898. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c27 · span 2365026–2365036 |
| 51 | The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-09 | 0000874766-26-000025 | CEO total compensation as printed in The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 22,114,212. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c51 · span 1020351–1020361 |
| 52 | BERKLEY W R CORP (subject), Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-22 | 0001193125-26-170583 | CEO total compensation as printed in BERKLEY W R CORP's own proxy. As printed: 16,823,866. Filing ↗machine: t411 · r4 · c21 · span 915307–915317 |
| 53 | Arch Capital Group Ltd., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-24 | 0000947484-26-000038 | CEO total compensation as printed in Arch Capital Group Ltd.'s own proxy. As printed: 14,626,320. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c13 · span 2735621–2735631 |
| 54 | Markel Corporation, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-02 | 0001096343-26-000033 | CEO total compensation as printed in Markel Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 14,124,065. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c45 · span 566440–566451 |
| 55 | RenaissanceRe Holdings Ltd., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-18 | 0000913144-26-000060 | CEO total compensation as printed in RenaissanceRe Holdings Ltd.'s own proxy. As printed: 12,951,841. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c7 · span 1829363–1829373 |
| 56 | CNA Financial Corporation, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-20 | 0001104659-26-032500 | CEO total compensation as printed in CNA Financial Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 12,619,149. Filing ↗machine: span 576701–576711 |
| 57 | Fidelity National Financial, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-29 | 0001104659-26-051485 | CEO total compensation as printed in Fidelity National Financial, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 11,646,893. Filing ↗machine: r1 · c6 · span 620811–620821 |
| 58 | American Financial Group, Inc., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-03 | 0001140361-26-013118 | CEO total compensation as printed in American Financial Group, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 11,148,296. Filing ↗ |
| 59 | AXIS Capital Holdings Limited, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-02 | 0001214816-26-000149 | CEO total compensation as printed in AXIS Capital Holdings Limited's own proxy. As printed: 9,642,025. Filing ↗machine: t201 · r4 · c7 · span 1076146–1076155 |
| 60 | Everest Group, Ltd., Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-04-10 | 0001628280-26-024596 | CEO total compensation as printed in Everest Group, Ltd.'s own proxy. As printed: 8,952,500. Filing ↗machine: t42 · r4 · c17 · span 2079880–2079889 |
| 61 | Kemper Corporation, Section 10b CEO total | DEF 14A | 2026-03-25 | 0000860748-26-000030 | CEO total compensation as printed in Kemper Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 3,090,806. Filing ↗machine: t120 · r4 · c16 · span 924415–924424 |
| 62 | Section 10a, RenaissanceRe Holdings Ltd. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0000913144-26-000060 | RenaissanceRe Holdings Ltd. names BERKLEY W R CORP in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 63 | Section 10a, The Allstate Corporation reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0000899051-26-000063 | The Allstate Corporation's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include BERKLEY W R CORP. Filing ↗ |
| 64 | Section 10a, Everest Group, Ltd. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001628280-26-024596 | Everest Group, Ltd. names BERKLEY W R CORP in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 65 | Section 10a, American Financial Group, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001140361-26-013118 | American Financial Group, Inc. names BERKLEY W R CORP in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 66 | Section 10a, Fidelity National Financial, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-26-051485 | Fidelity National Financial, Inc. names BERKLEY W R CORP in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 67 | Section 10a, American International Group, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0000005272-26-000039 | American International Group, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include BERKLEY W R CORP. Filing ↗ |
| 68 | Section 10a, Arch Capital Group Ltd. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0000947484-26-000038 | Arch Capital Group Ltd. names BERKLEY W R CORP in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 69 | Section 10a, Kemper Corporation reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0000860748-26-000030 | Kemper Corporation names BERKLEY W R CORP in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 70 | Section 10a, CNA Financial Corporation reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0001104659-26-032500 | CNA Financial Corporation names BERKLEY W R CORP in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗ |
| 71 | Section 10a, The Travelers Companies, Inc. reciprocity | DEF 14A | — | 0000086312-26-000103 | The Travelers Companies, Inc.'s most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include BERKLEY W R CORP. Filing ↗ |
The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.
You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.
Get the BERKLEY W R CORP Executive Compensation Report
$1,500