Velarion · Company Intelligence
Compensation Brief
Fiscal year 2025 · Filings through 2026-10-02

Quest Diagnostics (DGX)

CEO James Davis was paid $15,498,479 in fiscal year 2025, ↑ up 7.6% from fiscal year 2024, the 36th percentile of its disclosed peer group (SEC filing 0001140361-26-013356 ↗): executive and director compensation, incentive-plan design, equity activity, and governance — every figure in this brief is traceable to its exact location in the company’s SEC filing — the document, the section, the page, and the table, linked directly.

$15,498,479 ↑
James Davis total, FY2025
36th
CEO pay percentile vs peers
275:1
CEO-to-median pay ratio
92.39%
Say-on-pay support, latest vote

Track this company's pay every filing: join the Pro seat waitlist

Velarion Pro: every company page, peer tools and exports, one seat — $1,200/year

A confirmation now and one email when Pro opens, and nothing else. Privacy

Ask our research desk — $99, 24h, every figure cited to its filing.

Sample answer — “What is the CEO’s total compensation?”
- James Davis (Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President), FY2025 total compensation $15,498,479 (base salary $1,250,000) [exec_comp, SEC accession 0001140361-26-013356, filed 2026-04-06]

Answered within 24 hours, every figure cited to its SEC filing. If our database cannot answer your question, you are refunded automatically.

DGX's next annual pay disclosure, estimated April 8, 2027.est. Filing ↗

01

Summary Compensation Table — fiscal year 2025

Named executive officerSalaryBonusStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentivePension / NQDCAll otherTotal
James Davis$1,250,000$0$8,762,861$2,999,873$2,205,844$0$279,901$15,498,479
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President
Sam Samad693,26902,190,967749,742710,358082,8054,427,141
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Catherine Doherty643,26901,679,674574,876615,184049,9433,562,946
Executive Vice President, Regional Businesses
Karthik Kuppusamy568,26901,095,483374,893475,526065,6522,579,823
Senior Vice President, Clinical Solutions
Michael Prevoznik550,00001,132,015387,343438,323055,9122,563,593
Senior Vice President and General Counsel

A dash means the company reported no figure in that column; 0 means it reported zero. Figures are as printed in the filing, without adjustment.

Three-year trend — total compensation per named executive

Named executive officerFY2025 totalFY2024 totalFY2023 totalΔ FY2024→2025
James Davis$15,498,479$14,404,862$12,673,834↑ +1,093,617
Sam Samad4,427,1414,068,4643,975,114↑ +358,677
Catherine Doherty3,562,9463,286,0803,158,844↑ +276,866
Karthik Kuppusamy2,579,8232,277,6912,015,205↑ +302,132
Michael Prevoznik2,563,5932,428,6462,251,920↑ +134,947

Prior-year totals as disclosed in the corresponding proxy; deltas are computed values with the derivation shown in the register.

You have just read Quest Diagnostics's Summary Compensation Table. The whole free brief as a PDF, emailed now, with every figure cited — then a few short notes on the deeper DGX reports.

We send the PDF right away, then up to three short notes. Reply “unsubscribe” to any of them, any time.

How we handle your data → Privacy

Companies that benchmark against DGX
30 companies name DGX as a compensation peer

Each company listed discloses DGX in its own benchmarking peer group, as disclosed in each company's most recent proxy statement within the last two proxy seasons. Two companies are therefore absent by design: one that named DGX in an earlier year and no longer does, and one whose own most recent disclosure is older than the last two seasons.

01b

Executives — the named officers

One page per officer: the same table above, read for one person at a time — his own figure and every fiscal year the register holds.

ExecutiveRoleFY2025 total
James DavisCEO$15,498,479
Karthik KuppusamySVP$2,579,823
Catherine DohertyEVP$3,562,946
Michael PrevoznikGeneral Counsel$2,563,593
Sam SamadCFO$4,427,141
01c

Board of directors

One page per director: the seat, the committees and the fee table, read for one person at a time.

DirectorRoleFY2025 total
Denise M. MorrisonIndependent Director$344,917
Gary M. PfeifferIndependent Director$349,917
Luis A. Diaz, JrIndependent Director$324,917
Robert B. CarterIndependent Director$324,917
Timothy C. WentworthIndependent Director—
Timothy L. MainIndependent Director$339,917
Timothy M. RingLead Independent Director$379,917
Tracey C. DoiIndependent Director$324,917
Vicky B. GreggIndependent Director$344,917
Wright L. Lassiter IIIIndependent Director$324,917
02

Equity transactions since the proxy statement was filed

Every insider equity transaction reported on Form 4 after the 2025 proxy statement — acquisitions, dispositions, exercises, and withholdings — and therefore not reflected in any table in that document.

InsiderRoleTransaction dateCodeSharesPriceValueSecuritySource
Mark E. DelaneySVP & Chief Commercial Officer2026-04-20A37$195$7,204CommonForm 4 ↗
Wright L. Lassiter IIIDirector2026-04-20A61951,168CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert B. CarterDirector2026-04-20A71951,363CommonForm 4 ↗
Vicky B. GreggDirector2026-04-20A6819513,239CommonForm 4 ↗
Patrick PlewmanSVP for Diagnostic Services2026-04-20A491959,540CommonForm 4 ↗
Sam SamadExecutive Vice President & CFO2026-04-20A10819521,027CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-04-20A391957,593CommonForm 4 ↗
Gary M. PfeifferDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Denise M. MorrisonDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Wright L. Lassiter IIIDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy M. RingDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Tracey C. DoiDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy C. WentworthDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy L. MainDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert B. CarterDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Vicky B. GreggDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Luis A. Diaz, JrDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
J. E. DavisDirector2026-06-01D10,0001941,941,400CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04D4,827122587,953Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04D3,320128424,047Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04D8,1472001,629,400CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04A4,827122587,953CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04A3,320128424,047CommonForm 4 ↗
Dividend-equivalent accruals2026-07-01—144——1 insider, 1 accrual row
Mark E. DelaneySVP & Chief Commercial Officer2026-07-22A342077,031CommonForm 4 ↗
Sam SamadExecutive Vice President & CFO2026-07-22A10220721,094CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy L. MainDirector2026-07-22A212074,343CommonForm 4 ↗
Patrick PlewmanSVP for Diagnostic Services2026-07-22A462079,513CommonForm 4 ↗
Vicky B. GreggDirector2026-07-22A7220714,890CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert B. CarterDirector2026-07-22A112072,275CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-07-22A372077,652CommonForm 4 ↗
Wright L. Lassiter IIIDirector2026-07-22A62071,241CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. DelaneySVP & Chief Commercial Officer2026-07-28D1,600235376,288CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D22,6771122,543,679Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D1,00000CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D16,0102433,888,437Common, open-market saleForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28A22,6771122,543,679CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D430245105,141Common, open-market saleForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D6,2372441,519,505Common, open-market saleForm 4 ↗
J. E. DavisDirector2026-09-01D10,0002432,427,200CommonForm 4 ↗
Dividend-equivalent accruals2026-10-01—135——1 insider, 1 accrual row

Transaction codes per Form 4: A acquisition · S open-market sale · F tax withholding · M option exercise · G gift. Value = shares × price as reported. Dividend-equivalent and fractional-share accrual rows (derivative Class A, under $10,000 and under 2,000 shares) are aggregated per date; every row appears in full below.

View all 41 transactions
InsiderRoleTransaction dateCodeSharesPriceValueSecuritySource
Mark E. DelaneySVP & Chief Commercial Officer2026-04-20A37$195$7,204CommonForm 4 ↗
Wright L. Lassiter IIIDirector2026-04-20A61951,168CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert B. CarterDirector2026-04-20A71951,363CommonForm 4 ↗
Vicky B. GreggDirector2026-04-20A6819513,239CommonForm 4 ↗
Patrick PlewmanSVP for Diagnostic Services2026-04-20A491959,540CommonForm 4 ↗
Sam SamadExecutive Vice President & CFO2026-04-20A10819521,027CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-04-20A391957,593CommonForm 4 ↗
Gary M. PfeifferDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Denise M. MorrisonDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Wright L. Lassiter IIIDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy M. RingDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Tracey C. DoiDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy C. WentworthDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy L. MainDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert B. CarterDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Vicky B. GreggDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
Luis A. Diaz, JrDirector2026-05-20A1,14200CommonForm 4 ↗
J. E. DavisDirector2026-06-01D10,0001941,941,400CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04D4,827122587,953Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04D3,320128424,047Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04D8,1472001,629,400CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04A4,827122587,953CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-06-04A3,320128424,047CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy C. WentworthDirector2026-07-01A14400Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. DelaneySVP & Chief Commercial Officer2026-07-22A342077,031CommonForm 4 ↗
Sam SamadExecutive Vice President & CFO2026-07-22A10220721,094CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy L. MainDirector2026-07-22A212074,343CommonForm 4 ↗
Patrick PlewmanSVP for Diagnostic Services2026-07-22A462079,513CommonForm 4 ↗
Vicky B. GreggDirector2026-07-22A7220714,890CommonForm 4 ↗
Robert B. CarterDirector2026-07-22A112072,275CommonForm 4 ↗
Karthik KuppusamySVP, Clinical Solutions2026-07-22A372077,652CommonForm 4 ↗
Wright L. Lassiter IIIDirector2026-07-22A62071,241CommonForm 4 ↗
Mark E. DelaneySVP & Chief Commercial Officer2026-07-28D1,600235376,288CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D22,6771122,543,679Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D1,00000CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D16,0102433,888,437Common, open-market saleForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28A22,6771122,543,679CommonForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D430245105,141Common, open-market saleForm 4 ↗
Michael PrevoznikSVP & General Counsel2026-08-28D6,2372441,519,505Common, open-market saleForm 4 ↗
J. E. DavisDirector2026-09-01D10,0002432,427,200CommonForm 4 ↗
Timothy C. WentworthDirector2026-10-01A13500Derivative, Class A CommonForm 4 ↗
03

Grants of plan-based awards — fiscal year 2025

ExecutiveAwardGrant dateThresholdTargetGrantedMaximumGrant-date fair value
Catherine DohertyOPTION—————$574,876
James DavisPSU—————8,762,861
Sam SamadOPTION—————749,742
Sam SamadPSU—————2,190,967
Michael PrevoznikOPTION—————387,343
James DavisOPTION—————2,999,873
Catherine DohertyPSU—————1,679,674
Karthik KuppusamyPSU—————1,095,483
Michael PrevoznikPSU—————1,132,015
Karthik KuppusamyOPTION—————374,893
03b

Vehicle mix — grant-date fair value by award type

Named executive officerTime-vested (RSU)Performance-vested (PSU)Options / SARs% performance-vested
Catherine Doherty$0$1,679,674$574,87674.5%
James Davis08,762,8612,999,87374.5%
Sam Samad02,190,967749,74274.5%
Michael Prevoznik01,132,015387,34374.5%
Karthik Kuppusamy01,095,483374,89374.5%

% performance-vested = PSU grant-date fair value ÷ (RSU + PSU + Options), a computed value with the derivation shown in the register.

04

Outstanding equity awards at fiscal year-end 2025

ExecutiveAwardShares unvestedExercise priceMarket value unvested
Catherine DohertyOption11,960127.81—
Michael PrevoznikOption8,154127.81—
James DavisPSU88,676—15,387,946
James DavisPSU67,802—11,765,681
James DavisRSU57,467—9,972,249
James DavisOption61,853127.81—
James DavisOption69,633165.3—
Sam SamadPSU21,828—3,787,813
James DavisRSU18,149—3,149,396
Catherine DohertyPSU17,152—2,976,387
Sam SamadPSU16,952—2,941,681
Sam SamadRSU15,517—2,692,665
James DavisRSU14,834—2,574,144
James DavisOption22,986143.33—
Catherine DohertyPSU12,996—2,255,196
Catherine DohertyRSU12,644—2,194,113
Michael PrevoznikPSU11,694—2,029,260
Karthik KuppusamyPSU10,526—1,826,577
Sam SamadOption15,224127.81—
Michael PrevoznikPSU8,758—1,519,776
Karthik KuppusamyPSU8,476—1,470,840
Michael PrevoznikRSU8,046—1,396,222
Sam SamadOption17,403165.3—
Karthik KuppusamyRSU6,898—1,197,010
Catherine DohertyOption13,344165.3—
Karthik KuppusamyOption7,338127.81—
Sam SamadRSU4,538—787,479
Michael PrevoznikOption8,991165.3—
Karthik KuppusamyOption8,702165.3—
Sam SamadRSU3,652—633,732
Sam SamadOption6,206143.33—
Catherine DohertyRSU3,479—603,711
Catherine DohertyOption5,056143.33—
Catherine DohertyRSU2,870—498,031
Michael PrevoznikRSU2,345—406,928
Karthik KuppusamyRSU2,269—393,740
Michael PrevoznikRSU1,957—339,598
Michael PrevoznikOption3,218143.33—
Karthik KuppusamyRSU1,761—305,586
Karthik KuppusamyOption2,757143.33—
05

Incentive-plan design — the Compensation Discussion & Analysis

CEO STI target (% of salary)—
CEO LTI target (% of salary)—
Independent consultantSemler Brossy
Clawback policytrue
Anti-hedging—
Anti-pledging—
06

Say-on-pay — recent advisory votes

Meeting yearMeeting dateForAgainstAbstainSupportOutcome
20262026-05-2086,869,7387,152,448177,55992.39%Passed
20252025-05-1585,922,5778,570,674308,22590.93%Passed
20242024-05-1682,487,00710,576,934417,00288.63%Passed
20232023-05-1783,289,1359,124,611281,87790.13%Passed
20222022-05-1882,997,18910,322,1242,037,88788.94%Passed
20212021-05-2197,167,52210,261,286362,33090.45%Passed

Rows are labeled by annual-meeting year, with the meeting date beside each; the vote held in a given year acts on the prior fiscal year's compensation.

Say-on-pay — history, company's computation

Meeting yearMeeting dateApproval — company's computation
20262026-05-2092.39%a
20252025-05-1590.93%b
20242024-05-1688.63%c

a. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

b. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

c. Voting standard not stated in the filing.

Approval percentages are the company's own reported computations under its own stated standard, not recomputed by Velarion. Where a company does not state a standard, none is assumed.

07

CEO pay ratio

Ratio (CEO : median employee)275 : 1
CEO total compensation$15,498,479
Median employee compensation$56,427
08

Director compensation — fiscal year 2025

DirectorCash feesStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveAll otherTotal
Timothy M. RingIndependent · Lead Independent Director · Compensation and Leadership Development · Executive (Chair) · Governance (Chair)$170,000$209,917$0$0$0$379,917
Gary M. PfeifferIndependent · Audit and Finance (Chair) · Compensation and Leadership Development · Executive · Governance140,000209,917000349,917
Vicky B. GreggIndependent · Compensation and Leadership Development · Governance · Quality and Compliance (Chair)135,000209,917000344,917
Denise M. MorrisonIndependent · Compensation and Leadership Development (Chair) · Cybersecurity · Governance135,000209,917000344,917
Timothy L. MainIndependent · Audit and Finance · Cybersecurity (Chair) · Governance130,000209,917000339,917
Luis A. Diaz, JrIndependent · Cybersecurity · Quality and Compliance115,000209,917000324,917
Wright L. Lassiter IIIIndependent · Audit and Finance · Quality and Compliance115,000209,917000324,917
Tracey C. DoiIndependent · Audit and Finance · Quality and Compliance115,000209,917000324,917
Robert B. CarterIndependent · Audit and Finance · Cybersecurity115,000209,917000324,917
Timothy C. WentworthIndependent · Compensation and Leadership Development · Quality and Compliance · Newly elected000000
James E. DavisEmployee director · Board Chair · Executive000—00
09

Board fee structure and ownership guideline

Annual cash retainer$115,000
Annual equity retainer$210,000
Per board meeting fee—
Committee chair fees (audit / comp / nom-gov)—
Stock ownership guideline$575,000
09b

Total cost of the board

ComponentFY2025
Cash retainers and fees$1,170,000
Equity awards (grant-date value)$1,889,253
All other compensation$0
Total cost of the board$3,059,253

Computed as the sum of the director compensation table rows above; inputs and formula shown in the register.

10

Disclosed peer group — fiscal year 2025

The compensation peer group as the company disclosed it in its own proxy — the reference set behind the percentile above.

10a

Peer reciprocity

Of the companies Quest Diagnostics names as compensation peers, which name it back in their own disclosed peer groups. A peer set the market reciprocates reads differently from one selected in a single direction.

Reciprocity shown where the peer's own current proxy has been read — each mark is cited in the register to that peer's filing. A dash means the peer's current proxy was read and names no reciprocal group including Quest Diagnostics.

10b

Chief executive pay against the peer group

Most recent fiscal-year chief executive compensation at each disclosed peer, taken from that company's own proxy statement.

RankCompanyFYChief executiveSalaryStock awardsOption awardsNon-equity incentiveTotal
1Tenet Healthcare Corporation2025Saum Sutaria$1,500,000$31,677,365$0$9,000,000$43,108,969
2Baxter International Inc.2025Andrew Hider499,31523,133,5183,185,053820,12529,805,182
3Boston Scientific Corporation2025Michael Mahoney1,442,60313,608,0563,749,9804,002,00123,532,050
4Stryker Corporation2025Kevin Lobo1,500,0009,764,1366,920,7812,250,00021,401,495
5Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings2025Adam Schechter1,435,00011,400,4632,754,5822,062,09518,339,913
6DaVita Inc.2025Javier Rodriguez1,500,00011,442,4812,699,9822,089,49118,210,597
7Becton, Dickinson and Company2025Thomas Polen1,395,4639,991,8543,311,8611,852,01017,129,140
8Zimmer Biomet Holdings, Inc.2025Ivan Tornos1,281,84612,000,10102,420,76716,106,550
9Hologic, Inc.2024Stephen MacMillan1,212,6289,141,4682,937,4771,990,41315,819,261
10Quest Diagnostics2025James Davis1,250,0008,762,8612,999,8732,205,84415,498,479
11Revvity, Inc.2025Prahlad R. Singh1,129,2317,694,9852,559,1522,385,45013,809,549
12Agilent Technologies, Inc.2025Padraig McDonnell1,141,3458,169,8502,017,7591,436,80912,827,236
13Henry Schein, Inc.2025Stanley Bergman1,707,0007,764,80002,289,25112,013,915
14Owens & Minor, Inc.2025Edward Pesicka1,150,0009,560,140—345,00011,157,809
15Illumina, Inc.2025Jacob Thaysen1,000,0008,763,12201,155,00011,018,895

Each peer's compensation is from its most recently filed proxy; fiscal years differ by company. Each peer's figures come from its own filings; the subject company is highlighted. Peers whose chief executive compensation is outside our coverage universe are stated as such, never left blank.

10c

Incentive design against the same peers

CompanyAnnual incentive payoutLong-term vehicle mixPSU measures include TSRCompensation consultant
Quest Diagnostics113.9%PSU 50 · RSU 25 · Options 25Yes — Relative TSRSemler Brossy
Agilent Technologies, Inc.not disclosedPSU 60 · Options 20 · RSU 20NoSemler Brossy
Baxter International Inc.not disclosednot disclosedNoAon Consulting, Inc. (Aon)
Becton, Dickinson and Company85%PSU 50 · Options 25 · RSU 25NoSemler Brossy
Boston Scientific Corporation173%PSU 50 · RSU 25 · Options 25NoSemler Brossy Consulting Group, LLC
DaVita Inc.93%PSU 60 · RSU 20 · Options 20Yes — Relative TSR v. S&P Health Care Services Select Industry IndexCompensia
Henry Schein, Inc.89.3%PSU 65 · RSU 35NoPearl Meyer
Hologic, Inc.109%PSU 50 · RSU 25 · Option 25NoPearl Meyer & Partners, LLC
Illumina, Inc.1155%not disclosedYes — 3-year rTSR performance against select companies in the Nasdaq Biotechnology IndexAon (Aon's Human Capital Practice, a division of Aon, plc)
Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings95.8%PSU 60 · RSU 20 · Options 20Yes — RELATIVE TSR MODIFIERFW Cook
Owens & Minor, Inc.20%RSU 50 · PSU 50not disclosedFrederic W. Cook & Co., Inc. (FW Cook)
Revvity, Inc.124%PSU 50 · RSU 25 · Options 25NoPearl Meyer
Stryker Corporation100%PSU 48 · Options 34NoSemler Brossy
Tenet Healthcare Corporation200%PSU 60 · RSU 40NoMeridian Compensation Partners, LLC
Zimmer Biomet Holdings, Inc.125.9%RSU 50 · PSU 50Yes — Relative TSRSemler Brossy

Read from each company's Compensation Discussion and Analysis: annual incentive payout as a percentage of target, the disclosed long-term vehicle mix, whether performance-share measures include a total shareholder return component, and the retained compensation consultant. “Not disclosed” appears only where the company's filing does not state the item.

10d

Frequently asked questions

Who was the highest-paid executive at Quest Diagnostics in fiscal 2025?
As disclosed, James Davis (Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President) was the highest-paid executive at Quest Diagnostics in fiscal 2025, with total compensation of $15,498,479.
How does Quest Diagnostics's chief executive pay compare to its disclosed peer group?
As disclosed, James Davis's total compensation ranked at the 36th percentile of Quest Diagnostics's disclosed peer group.
What is Quest Diagnostics's CEO-to-median employee pay ratio?
As disclosed, Quest Diagnostics's CEO-to-median employee pay ratio was 275:1.
How did shareholders vote on Quest Diagnostics's executive compensation?
As disclosed, 92.39% of shareholders supported Quest Diagnostics's executive compensation in the latest say-on-pay vote.
How much does Quest Diagnostics spend in total on board compensation for fiscal 2025?
As disclosed, Quest Diagnostics reported total board compensation of $3,059,253 for fiscal 2025.

Answers are drawn only from the figures disclosed in this brief and cited to their location in the source filing. Where a figure required for an answer is not disclosed, that is stated rather than estimated.

11

Source register

Each figure's location is given both for the eye (section · page · table · row · column) and for a script (table/row/column index and exact character span in the filed document). Any figure can be independently confirmed against the source.

#SupportsDocumentFiledAccessionLocation in document
1Section 01, James DavisDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Summary Compensation Table” · page 46. As printed: 15,498,479. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c17 · span 699327–699337
2Section 01, Sam SamadDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Summary Compensation Table” · page 46. As printed: 4,427,141. Filing ↗machine: r5 · c17 · span 708308–708317
3Section 01, Catherine DohertyDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Summary Compensation Table” · page 46. As printed: 3,562,946. Filing ↗machine: r8 · c17 · span 716742–716751
4Section 01, Karthik KuppusamyDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Summary Compensation Table” · page 46. As printed: 2,579,823. Filing ↗machine: r14 · c17 · span 734129–734138
5Section 01, Michael PrevoznikDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Summary Compensation Table” · page 46. As printed: 2,563,593. Filing ↗machine: r11 · c17 · span 725703–725712
6Section 03, Catherine Doherty OPTIONDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t234 · r10 · c25 · span 818348–818355
7Section 03, James Davis PSUDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t297 · r3 · c2 · span 1174404–1174413
8Section 03, Sam Samad OPTIONDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t234 · r7 · c25 · span 806850–806857
9Section 03, Sam Samad PSUDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t222 · r5 · c9 · span 707119–707128
10Section 03, Michael Prevoznik OPTIONDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t234 · r13 · c25 · span 828853–828860
11Section 03, James Davis OPTIONDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t234 · r4 · c25 · span 796337–796346
12Section 03, Catherine Doherty PSUDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t222 · r8 · c9 · span 715249–715258
13Section 03, Karthik Kuppusamy PSUDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t222 · r14 · c9 · span 732636–732645
14Section 03, Michael Prevoznik PSUDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t222 · r11 · c9 · span 724514–724523
15Section 03, Karthik Kuppusamy OPTIONDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “2025 Grants of Plan-Based Awards Table” · grants of plan-based awards table. Filing ↗machine: t234 · r16 · c25 · span 840346–840353
16Section 07, pay ratioDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “CEO Pay Ratio”. As printed: 275 : 1. Filing ↗machine: span 1111120–1111123
17Section 08, Timothy M. RingDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 379,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r9 · c6 · span 339167–339236
18Section 08, Gary M. PfeifferDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 349,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r8 · c6 · span 338083–338152
19Section 08, Vicky B. GreggDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 344,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r4 · c6 · span 334148–334217
20Section 08, Denise M. MorrisonDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 344,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r7 · c6 · span 337204–337273
21Section 08, Timothy L. MainDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 339,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r6 · c6 · span 336117–336186
22Section 08, Luis A. Diaz, JrDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 324,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r2 · c6 · span 332189–332258
23Section 08, Wright L. Lassiter IIIDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 324,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r5 · c6 · span 335239–335308
24Section 08, Tracey C. DoiDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 324,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r3 · c6 · span 333271–333340
25Section 08, Robert B. CarterDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 324,917. Filing ↗machine: t116 · r1 · c6 · span 331309–331378
26Section 08, Timothy C. WentworthDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗
27Section 08, James E. DavisDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356Section “Director Compensation”. As printed: 0. Filing ↗
28Section 02, Mark E. Delaney 2026-04-20Form 42026-04-240001022079-26-000044Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
29Section 02, Wright L. Lassiter III 2026-04-20Form 42026-04-240001022079-26-000046Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
30Section 02, Robert B. Carter 2026-04-20Form 42026-04-240001022079-26-000047Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
31Section 02, Vicky B. Gregg 2026-04-20Form 42026-04-240001022079-26-000048Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
32Section 02, Patrick Plewman 2026-04-20Form 42026-04-240001022079-26-000049Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
33Section 02, Sam Samad 2026-04-20Form 42026-04-240001022079-26-000050Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
34Section 02, Karthik Kuppusamy 2026-04-20Form 42026-04-240001022079-26-000045Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
35Section 02, Gary M. Pfeiffer 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001127304-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
36Section 02, Denise M. Morrison 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001230166-26-000008Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
37Section 02, Wright L. Lassiter III 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001805909-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
38Section 02, Timothy M. Ring 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001204666-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
39Section 02, Tracey C. Doi 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001527766-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
40Section 02, Timothy C. Wentworth 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001252016-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
41Section 02, Timothy L. Main 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001196744-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
42Section 02, Robert B. Carter 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001197607-26-000005Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
43Section 02, Vicky B. Gregg 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001510304-26-000005Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
44Section 02, Luis A. Diaz, Jr 2026-05-20Form 42026-05-210001720081-26-000002Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
45Section 02, J. E. Davis 2026-06-01Form 42026-06-020001599837-26-000005Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
46Section 02, Karthik Kuppusamy 2026-06-04Form 42026-06-080001022079-26-000053Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
47Section 02, Karthik Kuppusamy 2026-06-04Form 42026-06-080001022079-26-000053Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
48Section 02, Karthik Kuppusamy 2026-06-04Form 42026-06-080001022079-26-000053Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
49Section 02, Karthik Kuppusamy 2026-06-04Form 42026-06-080001022079-26-000053Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
50Section 02, Karthik Kuppusamy 2026-06-04Form 42026-06-080001022079-26-000053Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
51Section 02, Timothy C. Wentworth 2026-07-01Form 42026-07-020001022079-26-000060Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
52Section 02, Mark E. Delaney 2026-07-22Form 42026-07-270001022079-26-000079Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
53Section 02, Sam Samad 2026-07-22Form 42026-07-270001022079-26-000081Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
54Section 02, Timothy L. Main 2026-07-22Form 42026-07-270001022079-26-000082Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
55Section 02, Patrick Plewman 2026-07-22Form 42026-07-270001022079-26-000083Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
56Section 02, Vicky B. Gregg 2026-07-22Form 42026-07-270001022079-26-000084Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
57Section 02, Robert B. Carter 2026-07-22Form 42026-07-270001022079-26-000085Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
58Section 02, Karthik Kuppusamy 2026-07-22Form 42026-07-270001022079-26-000086Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
59Section 02, Wright L. Lassiter III 2026-07-22Form 42026-07-270001022079-26-000080Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
60Section 02, Mark E. Delaney 2026-07-28Form 42026-07-290001022079-26-000087Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
61Section 02, Michael Prevoznik 2026-08-28Form 42026-08-310001022079-26-000089Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
62Section 02, Michael Prevoznik 2026-08-28Form 42026-08-310001022079-26-000089Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
63Section 02, Michael Prevoznik 2026-08-28Form 42026-08-310001022079-26-000089Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
64Section 02, Michael Prevoznik 2026-08-28Form 42026-08-310001022079-26-000089Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
65Section 02, Michael Prevoznik 2026-08-28Form 42026-08-310001022079-26-000089Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
66Section 02, Michael Prevoznik 2026-08-28Form 42026-08-310001022079-26-000089Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
67Section 02, J. E. Davis 2026-09-01Form 42026-09-030001599837-26-000007Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
68Section 02, Timothy C. Wentworth 2026-10-01Form 42026-10-020001022079-26-000090Insider equity transaction reported since the proxy statement. Filing ↗
69Section 06, 2026 voteForm 8-K2026-05-210001022079-26-000052Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 92.39% (votes for as printed: 86,869,738). Filing ↗
70Section 06, 2025 voteForm 8-K2025-05-220001022079-25-000154Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 90.93% (votes for as printed: 85,922,577). Filing ↗
71Section 06, 2024 voteForm 8-K2024-05-210001022079-24-000133Item 5.07 · say-on-pay result. As reported: 88.63% (votes for as printed: 82,487,007). Filing ↗
72Section 01 trend, Δ column (computed)Computed——Δ = current-FY total − prior-FY total per named officer.machine: formula: Δ = FY(n) − FY(n−1)
73Section 03b vehicle mix (computed)Computed——RSU / PSU / Options grant-date fair values summed per officer from the grants table; % performance-vested = PSU ÷ (RSU+PSU+Options).machine: formula: sums + PSU ratio
74Section 09b board cost (computed)Computed——Cash 1,170,000 + equity 1,889,253 + all other 0 = 3,059,253, summed across the director compensation table rows.machine: formula: Σ = 3,059,253
75Tenet Healthcare Corporation, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-160001193125-26-159118CEO total compensation as printed in Tenet Healthcare Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 43,108,969. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c34 · span 969343–969353
76Baxter International Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-03-230001628280-26-020330CEO total compensation as printed in Baxter International Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 29,805,182. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c30 · span 1451066–1451076
77Boston Scientific Corporation, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-03-180000885725-26-000025CEO total compensation as printed in Boston Scientific Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 23,532,050. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c27 · span 1249807–1249817
78Stryker Corporation, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-03-230000310764-26-000013CEO total compensation as printed in Stryker Corporation's own proxy. As printed: 21,401,495. Filing ↗machine: t101 · r2 · c7 · span 1584979–1584989
79Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-100001193125-26-150752CEO total compensation as printed in Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings's own proxy. As printed: 18,339,913. Filing ↗machine: t153 · r3 · c22 · span 3147696–3147706
80DaVita Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-220000927066-26-000053CEO total compensation as printed in DaVita Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 18,210,597. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c45 · span 800715–800725
81Becton, Dickinson and Company, Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2025-12-180001628280-25-057846CEO total compensation as printed in Becton, Dickinson and Company's own proxy. As printed: 17,129,140. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c27 · span 1173285–1173295
82Zimmer Biomet Holdings, Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-010001193125-26-135661CEO total compensation as printed in Zimmer Biomet Holdings, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 16,106,550. Filing ↗machine: t111 · r3 · c16 · span 1895785–1895795
83Hologic, Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2025-01-160001140361-25-001287CEO total compensation as printed in Hologic, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 15,819,261. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c25 · span 1549664–1549674
84Quest Diagnostics (subject), Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-060001140361-26-013356CEO total compensation as printed in Quest Diagnostics's own proxy. As printed: 15,498,479. Filing ↗machine: r2 · c17 · span 699327–699337
85Revvity, Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-03-160001193125-26-107266CEO total compensation as printed in Revvity, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 13,809,549. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c39 · span 751285–751295
86Agilent Technologies, Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-02-060001193125-26-040286CEO total compensation as printed in Agilent Technologies, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 12,827,236. Filing ↗machine: r3 · c29 · span 1450982–1450992
87Henry Schein, Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-080001193125-26-146317CEO total compensation as printed in Henry Schein, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 12,013,915. Filing ↗machine: t221 · r3 · c35 · span 671366–671376
88Owens & Minor, Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-020001104659-26-038823CEO total compensation as printed in Owens & Minor, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 11,157,809. Filing ↗
89Illumina, Inc., Section 10b CEO totalDEF 14A2026-04-090001193125-26-149669CEO total compensation as printed in Illumina, Inc.'s own proxy. As printed: 11,018,895. Filing ↗machine: r4 · c14 · span 728526–728536
90Section 10a, Agilent Technologies, Inc. reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-26-040286Agilent Technologies, Inc. names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
91Section 10a, Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-26-150752Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
92Section 10a, Boston Scientific Corporation reciprocityDEF 14A—0000885725-26-000025Boston Scientific Corporation names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
93Section 10a, DaVita Inc. reciprocityDEF 14A—0000927066-26-000053DaVita Inc. names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
94Section 10a, Henry Schein, Inc. reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-26-146317Henry Schein, Inc. names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
95Section 10a, Baxter International Inc. reciprocityDEF 14A—0001628280-26-020330Baxter International Inc. names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
96Section 10a, Becton, Dickinson and Company reciprocityDEF 14A—0001628280-25-057846Becton, Dickinson and Company's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Quest Diagnostics. Filing ↗
97Section 10a, Revvity, Inc. reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-26-107266Revvity, Inc. names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
98Section 10a, Stryker Corporation reciprocityDEF 14A—0000310764-26-000013Stryker Corporation names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
99Section 10a, Tenet Healthcare Corporation reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-26-159118Tenet Healthcare Corporation's most recent proxy was read; its disclosed peer group does not include Quest Diagnostics. Filing ↗
100Section 10a, Hologic, Inc. reciprocityDEF 14A—0001140361-25-001287Hologic, Inc. names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
101Section 10a, Zimmer Biomet Holdings, Inc. reciprocityDEF 14A—0001193125-26-135661Zimmer Biomet Holdings, Inc. names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗
102Section 10a, Owens & Minor, Inc. reciprocityDEF 14A—0001104659-26-038823Owens & Minor, Inc. names Quest Diagnostics in its own disclosed peer group (read from its most recent proxy). Filing ↗

The Pay Desk — the free weekly executive pay briefing, one company at a time, every number traceable to a public filing.

You'll confirm on The Pay Desk's sign-up page.